Ratings based on 1,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashland, OR

Excellent customer service

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed.
Cons: The heating unit was very loud and my room overlooked the freeway so that was a bit loud as well, but not enough to keep me awake all night.
The staff was very welcoming and accommodating during my stay. The room was clean and the restaurant served quality food. They also provided a free coffee bar each morning down in the restaurant and the coffee was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

PARKING CHARGES about a fourth of the room cost!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Valet only parking charges $32/night
Cons: Notification of the parking charges prior to booking
Location: If you wan't to stay near the San Diego gaslamp quarter for cheap, this works if it's on the weekend and you're willing to park on the street.
Hotel was fine for the price but parking is "valet only" at $32/night for a room that was only $135/night. This was not listed in Expedias "total cost, no hidden fees." Also, I paid through Expedia, then the hotel accidentally charged my credit card for the 2 night stay at a total of $270 which they are refunding (thank you). However I paid Expedia $304 for the same two night stay!? Not worth looking in to for $34, but just thought I would point that out. BTW I parked on the street half a block away for free on the weekend. The Motel 6 next door had tons of parking but to be fair I don't know if they charge for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great location, easy to get places, nice room!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Most enjoyed how easy it was to walk around to nearby attractions, restaurants, and bars.
Cons: The restroom privacy. There is no fan and the door does not provide sound privacy. Moreover, there is no rail for the sliding door to be guided by.
While the exterior of the hotel could use a facelift, the inside of the hotel is modern/updated. The inside of Four Points is the same as the interior of other more expensive hotels in the same downtown area. BEDROOM AREA: The comforters are so comfortable and warm. There is a nice sized arm chair with a floor lamp for reading. Lamps have three brightness settings, allowing you to finely tune the light in the room. While there is no coat closet, the armoire is just as accommodating as any closet would be. Furthermore, the drawers provide plenty of storage as well. The TV was a new model, good quality. The complimentary coffee in the room was tasty (not the best, but not the typically horrible hotel coffee). RESTROOM: There are soap, conditioner, and body wash dispensers in the shower (don't have to deal with opening/closing tiny travel shampoo botels). The water promptly heats. One huge plus was that there was a lighted, double sided vanity/makeup mirror with great magnification. Also, the blow dryer provided is good quality-- not a compact one with minimal drying power like many hotels provide. THE ONLY BAD THING about the bathroom was that the sliding door, while stylish, does not provide much privacy. I could definitely hear everything going on in the bathroom while my boyfriend was in there and I was on the bed. AREA: Within nearby walking distance there are nice shopping areas and restaurants. From short walks to 1.5 miles, we found great eats while walking about!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Hotel was out dated. Charged $30 a day to park. Our shower leaked and light was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Nice hotel, very close to downtown. The staff was all very nice & friendly. They do a great job with cleanliness. Next time I go back to SD, I'll be staying at the four points again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little Italy

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but for us hotel located to close to high traffic volume.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 17, 2016
It was very nice stay and comfortable Everything is close to the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to just about everything

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The hotel is valet only and they charge an additional 32 a day for parking. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
The bath tub was clogged.. We had taken 2 rooms and one room had a hair dryer and the other did not have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good.... Bar and food was great!

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Everything was great, except the bed was a little hard...