Ratings based on 1,257 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

V-Day

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I walked into my room that smelled like paint due due to the renovations. There were paint flakes all over the floor as well. I was going to call the front desk to let them know but the phone was dusty, old and rolled up unplugged. The TV did not work either. The next morning, I was woken up by 5AM to contractors in the room directly next door!! All I could hear was drilling, hammering, banging, walkie-talkie talk ALL MORNING! I would have turned the TV on to mask the sounds but the TV was broken! They should've never placed me in a room on a floor that's getting worked done, directly next to the loudest room! On my way out, I was asked, how I liked my stay since I stayed in a new room! WOW! That thing was not new at all! My response was NO, my stay was horrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Easy check-in...walkable to much of downtown San Diego.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ventura ca

Outdated and dirty

Posted Feb 7, 2017
This hotel is old, outdated and not very clean! The bed is hard and uncomfortable. Do not spend your money in this hotel! Plus excessive valet parking fee of $32
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Some unexpected surprises.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Lovely front desk staff.
Cons: More obvious about the mandatory $32 valet parking on the website.
We stayed in a Bay View, King Bed room. The room was a lot smaller than what I had expected to get for a $180. OK "Bay View" from the 15th floor, but a lot of buildings were blocking this view. Very unhappy about the mandatory $32 valet parking fee. No refrigerator. Very close to the Gaslamp quarter though which was a plus!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Overall experience was nice I was upset at the end when I checked out and was told I had a balance of 65 dollars. Was not told that I had to pay 32 dollas a night for parking no one told us alternatives of where to park I just had a balance. When I checked in I was not told anything they left it to parking attendant to tell us which they didn't either. I think when you check in they should tell u where ur able to park your car or the fees of the hotel when parking your car seemed like valet was the only way to have car parked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The staff was completely accommodating to several requests I had. The parking fee of 32.00 a night was disappointing but better than the alternative of parking on the street. The valets made the hotel earn the 32.00 as I needed my car several times and they were great. I checked out in the morning but had a meeting one block away and the staff allowed me to keep my car parked until I picked it up at 1:30 pm.That was huge help. Lastly the evening I stayed at the hotel I needed a late dinner and although the menu options were pricey I gave in and got the turkey club. Whoa was that friggin good and quickly made me forget about the cost. Excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, good breakfast, good location --
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
There was no stay....I paid for the room in advance. There was no parking available and so I had to go pay for another room at a hotel that could provide parking for me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Average hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Outdated and parking
Location: Downtown is only about a mile and half
I booked last min on the same day, the hotel was perfect for that but wasn't the nicest hotel for the price.. Alexis at the front desk was really great.