Ratings based on 1,883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast lacking

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The continental breakfast was poor, only pastries, bagels juice, Coffee oatmeal, dry cereal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beutiful hotel and great staff

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The rooms are beautiful. The staff were extraordinary helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel in gas lamp area

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff. Room was clean, spacious, comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast
Cons: The wi-fi is only free in the lobby and on the roof deck. The continental breakfast could have a bit more variety.
Location: Right in the gas lamp district with lots of restaurants and music. Walking distance to convention center, Petco park, seaport
We stayed at the Gas Lamp Plaza suites for 2 nights in late July while on vacation in California
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Lots of activity in walking distance

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Nice hotel. Very quaint. Room temperature not easily controlled. Street noise at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Location: Location was excellent. Right downtown close to everything
Check in was fast, valet parking and a rooftop breakfast with a fantastic view
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The hotel was spectacular and had an awesome location. The rooftop was really dope and u eat breakfast on the roof. It was kool. It was awesome and my girlfriend was amazed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Historic Gaslamp District Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This beautiful and historic hotel is located right smack in the middle of the Gaslamp district of downtown San Diego. It's walking distance to many attractions and other historic landmarks. The staff is amazing! Friendly, helpful and a warm smile that greets you every morning and night. Breakfast each morning out on the rooftop terrace overlooking the San Diego harbor was a huge bonus. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Diego area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms with no windows!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I was put in a room that felt like a closet. It had no windows and a terrible musty smell. When I called down to the front desk they said I'd have to pay extra for a room that wasn't a closet... I begrudgingly agreed, then they said that since I had been in the room more than 5 minutes, they would have to clean it and couldn't... So they couldn't sell it again that night.... And therefore I couldn't change rooms. I travel all the time for work. This was the worst answer I have ever been given. Avoid this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean & comfortable room, good staff

Posted Jul 17, 2016
A lovely stay at the hotel where we had a chance to self tour the town and enjoy the beach. Besides the beauty of San Diego, the friendly & helpful hotel staff (especially Merry the receptionist!) is another super good reason we'll come back to this town again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

I will never book at Gas Lamp Plaza Hotel again!!!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The cleanliness, the customer service, the continental breakfast was limited at best (bagels, muffins, toast and cereal), the valet parking at $32/day
Location: Location is in the heart of downtown historic Gas Lamp San Diego.
Upon my arrival/checkin, I was given a card key to room 910. I took the elevator to the 9th floor & proceeded to the room. I set my bags down & went into the bathroom & saw black curly hair on the sink counter, floor & in the shower/tub. I looked at the bed & found 6 black curly hairs on top of the white bedding & pillows. I called the front desk on the room phone. Pablo at the front desk told me he was sorry & would arrange for another room for me & for me to come down to exchange key cards in the lobby. I went back down to the lobby to exchange key cards & they assigned me room 804. I took the elevator up to the 8th floor, opened the door to find black hair all over the bathroom (counter, floor, sink, tub/shower) & I looked at the bed again seeing black hair on top of the pillows & on the white bed linens. I called the front desk & asked Pablo to send up a Manager to see the condition of the room. He sent the Housekeeping Manager & one of the Housekeepers who spoke primarily Spanish, with broken English. They inspected the room & said someone had cleaned it, but were sorry for all of the hair. I said I wasn't going to stay in the filthy room & called the front desk again & asked to speak with the Manager. I was directed to go back to the lobby. I spoke with Madeline, Assistant GM of the Hotel, who apologized for the situation & said she would try to get another room ready for me. They gave me room 501 after about a half hour wait in the lobby. I checked into it & stayed.