Ratings based on 1,979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, South Carolina

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Our room was small....but location was awesome....Roof top breakfast was really good and view of city and harbor was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA, US

Posted Dec 1, 2016
A wonderful, century old hotel that has been renovated with modern conveniences. Only two blocks from the Trolley, easy access to nearly everywhere I wanted to go. I lived in San Diego for 16 years during the 1970s and 1980s, so what is there now isn't exactly what I remembered. But it is still, and will always be...home. And the Gaslamp Plaza was a nice place to stay while I visited home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: In the heart of the gas lamp quarter!
This hotel was perfect! From the location, to the staff, to the room layout, PERFECT! We can't wait to go back and stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

San Diego get away.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff.
Cons: Location near party street at night.
Location: Easy walk to the Harbor, near shopping at Horton Plaza and right in middle of Gaslamp District.
Hotel staff made our stay very comfortable. Location of hotel was quite noisy at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect place to stay in Gaslamp!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
What a wonderful surprise this establishment was!! Extremely friendly staff, right from the moment my son & I pulled up to the valet. Also...this hotel has a amazing history in San Diego, and it's evident soon as you enter the lobby. You are not staying in a mega-resort, or a chain hotel. This place is much more personal. The rooftop access was an amazing way to take in the whole downtown vista. There is a daily continental breakfast served up on the roof!! Staying here put us within walking distance from anything and everything in downtown. Great location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a taste of what the Gaslamp District is truly all about.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Impressed

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Very convenient for everything we wished to do, and easy access to most all activities. Easy walking distance to most anywhere, or use of Uber.
My wife and I enjoyed our first stay with the Gaslamp Suites, with only one complaint, the lack of free WiFi I think was the most disappointing. All and all will most likely return in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Nice option for downtown touristing!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Very nice hotel, excelent service and confortable rooms. Just the breakfast could offer some eggs and fruit (it's only toasts, bagels and cereal). Coffee is superb though!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The view on the rooftop was so pretty.
Cons: The bathroom inside the room could be better built. The rooms shouldn't be checked out if they just painted it. The sofa bed could use extra linens.
Walking into our room, it smelled like paint. Gave kind of a headache. There was still painters tape on the walls that was weird. Sofa bed had no blankets or extra pillows, luckily we brought some. I didn't like the bathroom set up. the toilet paper was on one corner of the wall and the toilet was almost across on the other side. We had to lean across for the paper. That was very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice place & the staff was great!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
I got there early before check-in, & the lobby staff let me store my luggage while I explored the Gaslamp Quarter & the Seaport Village. I enjoyed my stay. The only drawbacks were the room without a window & the glass room door. Everything else was great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy ruidoso

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Es un antiguo edificio reformado como hotel de multipropiedad. Pero aunque esta en el mismo centro no gastaron mucho en aislamientos y se oye mucho el ruido de la calle. Y al ser una zona centrica hay ruido hasta altas horas de la madrugada.