Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
shuttle people to legoland were so nice! We stayed for Legoland so a great option
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Room was comfortable but very basic. Easy pick for an overnight stay. Have stayed there several times for its convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel suites are very comfortable

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Large facility which is recommended to everybody
Location: Thirty minutes from San Diego downtown, fifteen minutes from La Jolla. Carlsbad and Oceanside are very nice to visit. Nice beach!.
We stayed 5 nights in December. The pools are clean and the water is heated. Large suites with full kitchen saved us the time and money to look for restaurants. Very nice underground parking allows us to reach the room easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good Location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
This was a 4 night stay in the San Diego area. We spent only a brief time at the hotel...mostly sleeping. Karl Straus Restaurant was very good. Pools looked nice, but since it was only in the 60's, we didn't spend time at the pool. The rooms need updating. Drawers on the chest didn't open well. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom floor needed a super cleaning & tub drain needed to be repaired. From our balcony, we could see all the way to the Pacific. Flower fields were right below our balcony, but were being readied for the next growing season. Good location for getting to other sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ensenada

Good to go shopping and dinning arround

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Very old rooms, bad mattress, noise A.C. so you don´t rest They don´t have any food facilities in the hotel, you have to walk out to Karl Staruss Restaurant (nice for dinning)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stinky Room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Everything in the room was great except for the smell. It smelled like someone had smoked in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will discuss your comments with our team. We hope to see you here again for your next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but bad services

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The hotel is walking distance to legoland which is great. We stay there for three nights . The scond day, they didn't refill the coffee, the cups and creamer. Every time I called them, they give one thing. It takes 3 calls to get everything refilled. One day we came back hotel at 4pm, the room still not clean yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Doris. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We've shared your comments about our service with our leadership team to address. Thank you for your review. We hope you can indeed visit us once again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful resort with all the amenities

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, near the ocean, great views, and my kids loved the pool! Housekeeping did an Excellent job cleaning the room as well, highly recommend !
Cons: View from the first floor room, would recommend if you stay that you request a room on the second or third floor with ocean views.
Location: Lots to do nearby including LEGOLAND, and a Lot of great family friendly beaches!
Super friendly staff, knowledgeable and helpful with everything needed for a stay, all we had to bring was our own wardrobe, they have Everything else you need!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Walking distance to Legoland

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel location is excellent for both Legoland and the outlets. The restaurant on site was fantastic for both supper and breakfast. Our room overlooked the front entrance and was quite loud. We were gone to Legoland for 6 hours and came back for naptime to an uncleaned room and a broken coffee machine. I texted to request a new one be left outside the door as my daughter was sleeping and the privacy sign was up. It arrived several hours later when no longer required. A female staff member called while my daughter was napping to let me know maintenance staff was in the hallway to change our shower curtain rod. I explained there was a reason for the privacy sign and a phone call is just as bad as knocking. I also mentioned my request for a new coffee maker and she snipped at me. Rude staff and noisy room made for a less than pleasant experience. The restaurant and location saved it from being a two star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location close to Legoland

Posted Nov 24, 2016
A great hotel that's a stones throw from Legoland. It's also conveniently located to so many restaurants and places to eat. The rooms were great and the kids loved the pool. The only disappointment with the room was the noise from the air conditioner in the room. Without the fan, the room was very warm, requiring the a/c to be run. Unfortunately the noise from the fan was loud and constant. Fortunately the kids slept through it and as worked out in the end. As that was the only issue and with so many positives here, we would definitely stay here when we come back to visit.