Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 20, 2016
last minute quick getaway. Better than expected. Good restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay with us. It sounds as if we did exactly what we strive to do each and every day: provide friendly service, top-notch accommodations and facilities and a location that can't be beat. Thank you very much for your recognition of that. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Nice hotel. Close to amenities, shopping, the Cove, park, dining, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
So happy to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and our location in the Village of La Jolla. We hope you'll have the chance to visit again soon. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Older, but well kept hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Stayed at the Grande Colonial for four nights. If you are looking to visit San Diego, but don't want to stay downtown La Jolla is a great area to stay. It's about 15min from the airport and easy to get to. The hotel is located on a main street, but is still quiet. It's close to lots of shops and restaurants. It's an older hotel, but overall well maintained. It's clean, beds are comfortable and we found it to be quite quiet. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, but we're happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Thank you, Nicole, for the lovely review. Indeed we are an "older" hotel. We celebrated our 100 year anniversary just a few years ago. But as you mention, we are absolutely committed to making constant improvements to the hotel to keep it updated and modernized...add the while maintaining that historic charm. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it and we hope to see you back soon. Terrence Underwood, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get away days

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Perfect for a short get away. Staff is amazing. Hotel is newly renovated. Clean and comfortable. Location is close to shopping Downside is that our room faced a busy shopping street and it was a bit noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the 5-Star review and for all the wonderful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and hope you'll return again. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico; MX

Excelente ubicacion

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Centrico; ubicacion perfecta. Gran servicio. Excelentes desayunos. Vista al mar privilegiada. A unos pasos del mar; de los restaurantes y de las tiendas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Estimado George: Muchas gracias por sus comentarios tan amables. Estoy encantada de oír lo mucho que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel. Por favor, vuelva a visitar de nuevo pronto. Sinceramente, Terrence Underwood, Director General
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very happy with our stay

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Very happy with this hotel. Fabulous location and great service. So nice to stay in an independent hotel versus one of the chains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
If you're happy, we are happy! Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating and all the wonderful compliments about our hotel, location and the service you receied from our staff. We hope you'll visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Old world charm

Posted Jun 17, 2016
2nd time staying here. Great location within walking distance to places I wanted to be in. La jolla. They have a shuttle to take you to la jolla shores beach and around town in la jolla if desired. 20 minute drive to San Diego by my car was convenient to balboa park and all points in San Diego
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Thank you, Scott, for your continued loyalty. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoy our hotel and the La Jolla community. While you never have to leave the neighborhood to have a truly wonderful vacation, being so close to all there is to see and do in San Diego is the icing on the cake. We look forward to your third visit. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Would try elsewhere next time

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Great location in walking distance of restaurants, shops & beach.
Cons: Add fridges to rooms
Location: Both regular & electric bikes could be hired locally. There is a beautiful easy coastal route from La Jolla to Mission Bay.
Whilst I enjoyed the location there were some aspects I didn't like & reception staff whilst efficient, weren't particularly welcoming after the initial check-in. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on food. Not comfortable being obliged to sign an agreement on check-in agreeing to a hefty surcharge if we checked out earlier than the 7 nights booked. That felt unduly restrictive. We arrived earlier than 4pm & reception promised to call when the room was ready which they didn't. No fridge in room (suite 205). Bath/shower drain was excessively slow to empty. Smallish pool. Reception staff could have been friendlier. Expensive $30 a day valet parking. Expensive minimum $25 charge for overnight laundry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy: I appreciate very much your candid feedback about your recent stay with us. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel, I'm sorry that the service you received did not meet your expectations nor our very high standards for customer service. But I do appreciate you bringing these comments to my attention. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

beautiful boutique hotel!

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: the bathroom, my room, the light in my room, the location
Location: great location! walkable to EVERYTHING! the ocean is just a block away
I was very happy to stay here. I was in room 206 and was first concerned with how low the room was and the noise, but noise was not a problem at all and my corner view was gorgeous! I would definitely stay here again, and would love to have the same room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
I am so happy that you had such a wonderful, memorable visit with us. It sounds as if we did exactly what we strive to do each and every day: provide first-class service and accommodations in a world-class location. Thank you for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel in la jolla

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Nice hotel. Can easily walk to each, shops and restaurants. Staff is excellent! Upgraded to ocean view. Room was beautiful but tub would not fill because drain didn't work. Bar needs upgrade and decent stemware.. No martini glasses!!! Are you kidding me? No excuse for that if you aren't paying that much to stay there. No mile glasses either. Hmmmm
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Terry Underwood, Hotel Management
Dear Zbernie: Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating and the positive feedback about our location and our staff. We appreciate the recognition very much. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the stemware used at the NINE-TEN bar. We actually use Coupe glasses for all of our up drinks. Sorry that you didn't enjoy them. And thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with your tub. We were unaware of this but will take a look immediately to ensure it is functioning correctly. Thanks again. Hope to see you back. Sincerely, Terrence Underwood, General Manager