Ratings based on 1,128 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, CA

Great location, but not the best Hampton

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Decent amenities, great location
Cons: Keep the coffee hot; more seating in the room where possible
Location: LEGOLand is right down the street, as are the Flower Fields (the blooms are seasonal, so check in advance), and an outlet mall with decent eateries.
Overall, the hotel provided most of what I would expect from Hampton: a reasonable price, a decent breakfast selection, etc. Amenities included a microwave and refrigerator, and of course, a hair dryer and iron. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was well kept. Carlsbad is a great location, and the weather was wonderful. Here, though, are three dings against the hotel, from least to most important. First, the access to the hotel is a bit odd. It is tucked in behind the much larger Homewood Suites next door to it. You enter the parking lot from Yarrow St., but can't see the Hampton; you have to drive around the Homewood to even find it. Second, the coffee was hot in the morning at breakfast, but consistently lukewarm at any other time of day. And third, there was only one chair in the room--the office chair at the writing desk. With two of us in the room, one had to prop up pillows and sit on the bed. The room was too small, however, to easily accommodate an additional easy chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping!!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Very new and excellent staff!
Cons: A little more variety of breakfast would be great!
Location: Great location for almost everything.!
Great location. Near the airport, Legoland, Costco, Trader Joe, City Library etc. Hotel is new and clean. Staff was very helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice stay

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Had a good weekend thank you, staff and hotel every nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inglewood, CA

Short San Diego Weekend Visit

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Quiet area, proximity to I-5 Fwy on/off-ramps, nearby eateries
Cons: Parking is a premium, the lot is shared with guests at the Homewood Suites Hotel next door; make sure the appliances i.e. refrigerator work;
Location: The location is very quiet and on a main road so that I could get to/from the Fwy quickly; I did not do anything in Carlsbad.
My overall stay was good. I had some hiccups on check-in, with the refrigerator and during my first overnight. 1) Upon check-in, I made it to my room only to have both key cards not work. When I returned to the front desk, the cards were rekeyed and a Facilities staff member met me at the elevator to escort me to my room and ensure that my key cards were working. They did and I was in my room. 2) I placed some water and cold drinks in the refrigerator on Thursday night and the next morning, everything was room temperature. I had checked that the fridge was plugged in and set to temperature the night before so I was unsure of the issue. I reported this to Guest Services on Friday morning and by Friday evening, the fridge was working properly. 3) I happened to go to bed a bit late on Thursday night and when I did, the light blinking from the ceiling smoke detector pierced the darkness like a beacon and the light coming in under the door was super bright. I like a dark room so I had to put a towel down near the door to block that light and I had no choice but to deal with the light on Thursday night as I did not want to deal with Facilities in my room at that late hour. The next morning, I did report the issue to Guest Services and when I came back to the room on Friday evening, they had covered the blinking light with some tape. Sleeping on Friday night and Saturday night were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Very nice hotel with modern feel. Room was updated

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and will probably stay there again. This hotel was affordable, comfortable and updated. Room furniture was nice and new. Bathroom was spacious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

easy convienet

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Always clean and nice good service easy access friendly good rates
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great value

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This hotel was very nice. Our room was big and clean and the breakfast every morning was perfect. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I booked a room, and didn't like it because i was on the first floor. Went back to the receptionist and told her I didn't like that I was so close to the door. She happily changed my room with no problems. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean hotel, and great location. Thanks for all your guys' help!