Ratings based on 1,698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
it was a good stay, everything was very clean and staff was ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Bien ubicado

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Agradable lugar, cerca de la bahia, del USS MIDWAY, de la Little Italy y su comida , de la estación de Trolley. No hay caja de seguridad; el desayuno poco variado pero abundante, personal muy amable pero no hablaban español, cuando casi todo el mundo lo hace en San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Gracias por tomarse el tiem para completar una revisión ti. Yo tan contento de oír que su estaban satisfechos de lo cerca que estábamos en USS Midway, Little Italy, tranvía y que el berakfast era abundante. Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida de nuevo pronto. Sinceramente, Mark Manis General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucked

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Small sink and room shower disentangle work properly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
So sorry that you felt the sink and room shower were not working correctly. I do hope you will give us another opportunity. Have a great summer. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graduation

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Was nice hotel. However you have to pay twenty extra dollars to park at the motel. I would not stay again because I feel you should be able to park free. This is another way to get more money. Breakfast was ok and the room was ok. But will not be back because of parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Mark Manis, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your 4 star review. I'm so sorry to hear that you feel you wont stay with us again due to the $20 parking fee. This is disapointing to us. If you do choose to visit "Americas Finest City" again, please take the time to review other hotels in the market for most are valet only and are around $40 a night. Have a great summer and we hope to welcome you back again. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, walk to cruise ship pier.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Staff was wonderful. We checked in at 10:00 am. They knew the area well and we're very helpful with our huge load of luggage. Free shuttle to airport was nice. Room was very nice and rates very reasonable for the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2016 by laurie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown and for your business! I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff wonderful and I do hope that we will see you again the next time you are in San Diego. Sincerely, Laurie Jann Operations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elevator broke down

Posted Jun 7, 2016
We were stuck in the elevator for over 45 mind. The alarms did not work to call for help we had to call the front desk by a cell phone. And all the front desk staff could say after the fire department got us out is that it happens all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry to hear of your experience. I believe our Director of Operations has already been in touch with you and made compensations. Just to let you know the cause of the stoppage was due to a group in the house that over loaded the elevators which caused them to trip. They have been reset and upgrades are being made to assist them in running smoother. Best regards, Mark Manis General Manager I
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from az

Located near Little Italy

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Location near Little Italy do could walk to dinner each night.
Cons: When checking in be clear one is paying for parking. Mention availability of the trolley. We did not discover it till walking to Little Italy.
Location: Bike through industrial area and then around on Bayshore Bikeway. Eat in Little Italy. Plenty to visit in San Diego if I had more time there.
Room clean, breakfast okay, staff need to know more about local area regarding bicycling the the Bayshore Bikeway, and otherwise it was a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us and sharing your experience. Your suggestion on getting more knowledgeable of the bicycling routes is a great idea for they are adding many in our own backyard in the next month or so. Please come back and see us soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northglenn, CO

Great location

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Great location and friendly staff.
Cons: Elevators and stairs access.
Location: Only 10 minute drive from the airport. Only 10 minute walk to the USS Midway. Trolley, train and hotel shuttle will get you just about anywhere else.
This hotel is located just minutes from the airport and is only a block away from the water front. The shuttle will get you to just about anywhere you want to go so it's easy to get around town. All of the staff we encountered was very friendly and I loved that the house keepers sing while they clean the rooms. The continental breakfast was good with slight variations so it wasn't the same thing every day. My only complaint was that only 2 out of the three elevators was working and one day the hotel was down to one elevator. Many guests were very frustrated with this but I was on vacation and not going to let elevators ruin it. The stairs would have been an option if they weren't so confusing and you could get to the lobby (you either end up outside or in the parking garage). All in all this was a great place to stay for the money I just wish it would have been slightly easier to get back and forth to your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by MarkM, Hotel Management
Hi Shannon! Thanks for posting a review and share our great location and value. Sorry about the elevators they were cranky for a couple days. Have a wonderful summer and come back and see us again. Best regards, Mark
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Okanagan, BC

Pre-Cruise Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent and the buffet breakfast was wonderful. Our hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful. Gym was good too.
Cons: The beds looked 'slept in' and not crisp and cleanly made up.
Location: Very good location, close to pier and lots of things to do and see nearby.
Was a comfortable stay for one night before our cruise.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by laurie, Hotel Management
Hello Royden, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn San Diego downtown. I do hope that we will see you again the next time you are in San Diego. Sincerely, Laurie Jann Operations manager
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Its on the tracks..

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is dated and located on the train tracks.. at first knowing a little about San Diego i just assumed it was the MTS trolley, however these tracks also support the Coastal line serviced by large Diesel engines and you hear them until late into the evening. If get a room on the Pacific Highway side of the hotel I'm sure its less noticeable, but if your in the back you wont miss the trains..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jeffrey, I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I apologize for the noise. I do hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Laurie Jann Operations Manager