Ratings based on 1,812 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location is not always best.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Nice large pool. Great preasure in jacuzzi. The staff was very polite and helplfulll. The room was cleaned up well and the bedding was clean.
Cons: Maintenance of facilities and tile cleanup or replaced. More insulation around entry doors to better keep out sounds. Any good hotel needs a gift shop
Location: San Diego in Mission Valley right off I-8. Close excess to beaches, shopping centers, theaters and restaurants. FUMC church 1/2 mile on east I-8
I live in San Diego and was having my home tented for termites so I needed a place to stay for three nights. I have workd in hotels for about thirty five years and thought this would be a close place to my house and take care of my local needs too. The staff was very polite. The loby and inside property had a smell of old carpet and old walls. Stuffy smell that needed fresh air. The carpet was pretty but smell was not fresh. The first morning, of a three night stay, no hot water. for shower. Toilet commode was not bolted tight to floor and rocked when sat upon. I reported this. The water was fixed but not the cammode. Very disturbing. Some, black mold in the grout of shower in spots. Thin walls. Second night could not sleep most of the night due to noise of people talking out side of door near ice machine. It definately does not meet easy standards to fix. It's entry door show light through at night on the sides and along floor. I was looking for a gift shop for some batteries to a remote control for a DVD player, that we had to go out and buy because they did not enclude one with the TV in the room. They do not have a gift shop. They have a barber shop, a car rental office and a vending room for snacks, but no gift shop. They do have a restaurant and bar. However, I did not eat there. The menue looked very regular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sd visit 2016

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: close to the locations we wanted to see Husband liked that he had enough towels without asking
Cons: when you ask for a ground floor, we were not expecting to have to walk up stairs. My guest had a hard time. Took a while to find pool towels
when you ask for a ground floor, we were not expecting to have to walk up stairs. My guest had a hard time. Took a while to find pool towels. Otherwise, room was satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice pool

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Maintenance and housekeeping very efficient
Cons: Few more amenities in room.
Location: Close to everything, get a room in the back if you want no freeway noise.
Nice place, great pool. Staring to look dated, but I'll give them this...they are trying hard to keep it looking good. Noisy on weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper thin walls

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness
Cons: Food in the restaurant. More counter space in the bathroom
Location: Near Old Town San Diego
The staff were very nice. Manny, our server in the restaurant was awsome. The Food is surprisingly inexpensive for a hotel. Not great but edible. pool area was nice.beds were comfortable enough. The location was great for airport and other tourist attractions. The down side is the walls are paper thin. I could hear the conversations in the hall, crying baby that was next door, dog barking across the hall, and our room was right on the parking lot so lots of that noise too. The first day housekeeping never came, and the next day it was partially done. It was mentioned that they were short staffed. I understand this but this is part of what I pay for. There was almost no counter space in the bathroom. I put my toiletries and make up on a towel on the floor under the sink (for some reason housekeeping picked it all up and squeezed it all on the tiny counter) The first morning we called for maintenance to fix the drain in the shower because it wasn't draining at all. We came back nearly 12 hrs later and it hadn't gotten fixed. They responded quickly when We called again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Easy to access older Mission Valley hotel. Rooms comfortable and clean but could use some refreshing of carpets and furniture. Have stayed multiple times. Large pool area which kids and adults can share comfortably.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool Time

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Had a great time, but felt it was a bit overpriced
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The AC is loud bathrooms are quite small overall decent hotel I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Easy check in and comfortable beds. Room was clean and parking was free.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting. For the price I paid.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Expensive hotel room, for a very small, smelly, old rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Convenient location Helpful friendly staff
Cons: Water pressure and shower heads
An older hotel, clean and well kept. I am a San Diegan who stayed here while my home underwent termite fumigation. The location in Hotel Circle is a quick freeway trip to downtown, Balboa Park and beaches. Every employee I encountered from housekeeping staff to front desk staff were helpful and friendly. I appreciated the convenience of parking close to my room and not having to walk through a lobby or use an elevator. It's definitely not a luxury hotel, and seems closer to a motel. The only thing I really didn't like was the lack of water pressure in shower.