Ratings based on 1,566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino

Hotel close to little Italy, good to walk around.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The location close to the harbor and little Italy.
Cons: The bed
Location: Was easy to access the freeway, parking, and walk to the harbor.
My short experience was good, just the bed a little hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economical stay in Little Italy

Posted Feb 7, 2016
If you're looking to find a great price near the Harbor in San Diego this is a good choice! A hotel with a private bathroom, tv, refrigerator, microwave and 24/hr front desk service. It is walking distance to Little Italy, the Harbor, restaurants, shops and nightlife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north L A County

No Harbor view, great location.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Old quaint motel, well maintained and a great location, especial if u like Italian food.
Cons: I did not see any need for improvement. It is what it is, a quaint older motel, in an older part of town.
This is an older motel in an older part of town, a block from "Little Italy". So a 2 block walk put You in a neighborhood full of restaurants. Also about a mile from main down town San Diego. The property is well maintained on the outside, small corner office that had good coffee early. The ice machine is on ground floor next to elevator and both worked. The building was originally built in the days when halls and rooms were smaller than today's standards, but not cramped. Everything was clean and well maintained. The room had a desk, two chairs, refer, microwave, and soft towels. The bed was a little firm but didn't keep me awake. Did not hear the neighbors or noise from the hall. Some street noise but most of it we did not hear. We feel the entire experience was worth the expense and will be back for our next trip to San Diego.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room nice, surroundings bad

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: bed was comfy
Cons: man at reception should improve his attitude and not wear headphones so he can't hear people trying to talk to him
The room was nice enough on the surface (though small), but the walls were thin enough for me to hear the people next door, including the guy vomiting at 3am. But while the room was decent, the lobby and hallway areas felt quite sketchy. When I checked in at night, the girl at the front desk was very nice, but when I checked out in the morning, the man at reception was rude to not only me but to the cleaning staff as well. Also, they refuse to give receipts. If you have to stay one night, it's okay, but longer would be bad. All in all, it wasn't worth the price I paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean room, nice staff, affordable, great location

Posted Feb 2, 2016
I have stayed at the hotel multiple times over the past few months. The staff have been very friendly every visit. I find it strange when I read that they were not friendly to other guests.. They are very nice. The hotel is in a great location in Little Italy. Lots of great restaurants and bars close. Room is always clean and the tvs are modern. Having a fridge and microwave is also a plus. I also enjoy free parking which can cost well over $20 a night elsewhere. For the price, this is the best hotel I have found in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, good location

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Great location, short drive to gaslamp area. Clean room. Small room but perfect for a weekend getaway
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Hotel don't even look like on the pictures!!! All the pictures were photoshop!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average, but just barely

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Just your average motel in the city. Really convenient location and is only minutes away from downtown and the docks. The place itself is a bit sketchy with some of its tenants hanging out on the steps smoking and the hotel has a bit of a stuffy stench. But paying only ~$60, what can you really expect?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel near the beach.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
The location is good, remodels recently. It's good for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unable to find parking

Posted Jan 20, 2016
We were unable to find parking in either lot of the hotel and had to cancel our reservations. After nearly 40 minutes on hold, we were told to call back the next day, that they couldn't refund us our first night's stay and would have to call back the next day to get the Sunday night room cancelled. Unable to get through on Sunday, even though we called several times. Will be fighting to get our money back. Never got to see the inside, but if the inside is as nasty looking as the outside, wouldn't want anyone to stay here.