Ratings based on 2,857 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

A Rockin' Good Time!!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Upon arrival to checkout, everything was outstanding!!! Look forward to staying at Hard Rock for my next visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Le, thanks for the terrific review! We love what we do at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we can't thank you enough for recommending us! We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego! James G. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location !!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Loved being at the heart of the Gaslamp District. Easy parking and lots of great restaurants to choose from. Right next to Petco Park and the Trolley which takes you everywhere. The zoo was incredible as well as the Midway Aircraft Museum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
We loved reading your review, Tamu! Thanks for your nice comments about our downtown location, just steps from the Gaslamp Quarter - we agree, it rocks! Please stay with us again soon at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego! James G. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Very good hotel in great location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Very friendly, helpful staff; located in Gaslamp District, with many good restaurants and tourist attractions within walking distance.
Cons: Daily paper to be delivered to door but wasn't, though front desk was informed. Room not made up on one of the days. Rest. food good but overpriced.
I have provided all the information I plan to provide ("All the news that's fit to print") in completing the other items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate knowing what we can do to improve. We hope you will return and we have an opportunity to provide a flawless stay. Sincerely, James G. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Very comfortable room with a lot of room. Only complaint would be that the hotel was cleaning the street grates which apparently smells like sewage so we had a horrible smell in our room. The staff said the cleaning happens every month. Other than that it was an excellent hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your review! Your feedback about what we did right and where we need to improve is very helpful, and we apologize for the odor you experienced in your suite. We'd love to have you as our guest again so we can ensure a fantastic experience for you! James G. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Hip, fun and non-traditional hotel.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Check-in was fast and easy. The room was stylish and modern which adequately fit our taste . I like the Ivy system that allows you to request room service via text messages. All of the staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed Bar 207 and Float Bar to unwind after a busy day of activities. The connected restaurant Nobu was a treat too, great food and service. Overall, I think if you'd like to try a hotel that's unique, fun and refreshing, this is a great choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a fantastic review - thank you! All of us at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego are about creating a memorable, rock-star experience for our guests, and it makes us happy to know you had a great time! Please stay with us again soon! James G. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown and right in the mix

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great location. Right downtown which makes it easy to get where you need. Everything is in walking distance for food and entertainment. Parking at the hotel is over priced at $50, SF isn't that expensive to park. There is a garage across the street that is reseasonable as long as there is no events going on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review, we're so happy you loved our location! We love being part of the Gaslamp Quarter. There is always so much going on in San Diego's most happening neighborhood, all just steps away from the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego. Come back soon! James G. Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomingdale, Il

Great location across from the convention center.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great hotel, friendly staff and beautiful room. I was able to walk across the street to the convention center. In the evening we walked and dined in the Glasslamp District, which is right out the hotel doors. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Barb - we are thrilled to you know had an awesome stay at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego and appreciate the outstanding review! It's great to know our location was perfect for your time in our great city. Can't wait to see you again! James G. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Modern and trendy

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Nice clean designs
Cons: Have some type of events onsite.
Location: Walk around Gaslamp district and ports.
A refreshingly nice hotel with eye appealing features, good bar hang out, poolside...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! We're happy to know you loved your experience at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego! We hope you'll be back soon! James G. Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Security taking it too far

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I was detained by security and the elevator I show them my room key they didn't told me that wasn't enough and this proceeded to lock down the elevator after sitting there for 15 minutes I didn't said let's go to front counter while I waited for another 15 minutes and then they told them that I was supposed to be at hotel the next morning he then approached my guest that was with me and said that we were in a band in the room after being shown that we was in a room that I pay for
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your review. We never want to disappoint our guests, so please accept our sincere apology for failing to deliver the exceptional stay you deserved. We hope you will stay with us again as we'd love to make it up to you. James G. Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

nice hotel in the middle of downtown

Posted Feb 13, 2017
fast easy check in....Valet parking,, $49/ night. clean rooms..comfy bed....Good breakfast at Mary Janes.......
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to you know had an awesome stay at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego and appreciate the outstanding review! Can't wait to see you again! James G. Manager