Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping
There is no Iron Box or Iron Board. No Microwave also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Jan 3, 2017
There really isn't any nice hotels on the southern part of SD so I decided to give Hercor a shot. For $150 a night, you can book a nice hotel in downtown SD but wanted to stay on the southern part. Rooms looked very modern and clean on the website so I booked a reservation for 2 nights. Indeed the rooms were very modern looking, but very small. The remote to the tv only turned it on but did not work for anything else. My room happened to be next to the kitchen, so I could hear every fork and plate that was moved. When I checked in, I was told that my shower had a leak and that it would be fixed the next day. The shower kept on leaking. I requested an iron over the phone, and it did not show up until I made a second request an hour later. During the night, the room was very noisy as I could hear every valve and pipe running through the walls. Not worth the expense. You might as well stay across the street at the Motel 6 and save a lot of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel, not so nice area

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel is right off of the freeway. He heard that the taco place across the street was great, but we didn't go because of the homeless people that were walking the streets. The rooms were small but very clean. New updated bathroom was really cool. Rainfall showerhead, square sink, all designer touches. Room was clean and breakfast was nice. Another small room. Probably could hold 20 people. Eggs,bacon, home fries,cereals,oatmeal, bagels, ham, cheese,bread,fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee, and tea. Free breakfast. Free parking. It did its job. Front desk people were so nice. Just wish it was in a better place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DRAPER, United States of America

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Not kid friendly..staff was rude and there was ants
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, United States of America

very good but...

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: all brand new furniture
Cons: the A/C it was new but for some reason very noisy and the aroma that smells very strong
Location: the only good thing is the gas station, the area is kind of ugly, so this hotel is good only for the night
I stayed in this hotel for one noght on my way to mexico via CBX, the hotel is very good, new and very confortable, small rooms but new, my only complain was the smell, the room had something that smells bad, the A/C was very noisy and very early some kind of train awake,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Small modern hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Free wifi, free parking, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, good rates, friendly staff, comfortable bed, great shower, modern decor
Cons: Microfridge in room, breakfast area was very cramped
Location: 15 minute drive to San Ysidro border crossing
Based on the positive reviews and the hotel listing as an Expedia pick, I decided to reserve this hotel for a 1-night stay in San Diego / day trip to Tijuana. I was initially a bit put off by the location as the surrounding area wasn't very nice. Also, I didn't realize the rooms were 'motel' style with exterior doors instead of interior corridor entrances. Nevertheless, I looked inside a room that was being cleaned before I checked in and was pleased by what I saw. Nice modern decor, free parking & wifi, hot complimentary breakfast buffet, comfortable bed and excellent shower were key highlights. Although there wasn't a microfridge in the room, the lounge area had a microwave, coffee/tea, ice, fresh apples and Grandma's prepackaged cookies. The rooms were small, but comfortable. I'll stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very modern , great for the price.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The modernness
Cons: The potatoes for breakfast
Location: Tacos , 711 , mall .
It's was a good hotel ! Very clean , modern & the staff were friendly . It's next to a really authentic taco shop ! & a 711 . Breakfast every morning was pretty good ! It was the same every day , but it was still good .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Very nice hotel, not a great neighborhood

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff at the front desk and in the food lounge were very warm and welcoming. Always willing to help out!
Cons: The neighborhood isn't the greatest, so I suggest not walking to too many places even though everything is quite close to the hotel.
Location: The area surrounding the hotel has many activities and restaurants for your enjoyment.
My boyfriend and I just stayed at this hotel this weekend and it was wonderful. It is very edgy and very modern. The front desk staff always greeted us when coming in and out and they were very helpful with any questions we had. The room was a little smaller than expected, but it was still very beautiful. The hotel is located near many food places, as well as a large shopping center. It is also right off the 5 freeway and next to the San Diego trolley which was very convenient. We will definitely be staying here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The television in the rooms don't work.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing. Hotel location is much to be desired. Not located in the best part of town.
Cons: Television in rooms do not work. I contacted the front desk about it. Someone came to the room to fix it and I was told that this was a problem for the rooms since COX updated their system...! I wonder, How is that my problem??
Location: About three block from a mall, and about ten miles from Coronado island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Very comfortable beds. A little noisy because of the popular taco resturant across the street.