Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff, clean rooms

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Beds were really comfy, rooms were very clean, and staff was nice & friendly. We even received a call from the front desk if we needed anything to accommodate our stay, to let them know. Excellent customer service!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what I expected

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Because I didn't get to spend time in the hotel I paid for.
I booked and paid for a king size bed. When I arrived, I was told by front desk that she "upgraded" me to a double bed room. I didn't see it as an upgrade since I was with my wife. Why would we want to sleep in different beds. She said the parlor room is available with a king size. That was a lie since the bed was either a twin or a queen. When I called and complained, her response was "well I don't have a king size bed available". After some back and forth, I was transfered to a sister hotel which was much crappier that had a king size bed. My over all experience was I reserved and paid for something I didn't get. Her attempt to fix the problem was unprofessional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Overall great hotel. The staff was great and the location was perfect for the purpose of my visit. The front office staff and bistro staff were very welcoming and always with a smile. Enjoyed my time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very nice facility. Rooms and bathroom small.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was exceptional
Cons: The room/bathroom was dated
We had a very pleasant stay. The lobby and restaurant were very pretty. The food was quite good. The cookies and coffee in the lobby were a hit with us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Nice Quite location, clean rooms, great staff, near Scripps
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

hotel close to del mar race track, and chart house

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: close to race track and chart house resturant
had a great time love the hotel, service was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great customer service!!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Both at check in and check out, I experienced exceptional customer service. I also ate at the bistro the night I arrived and had a salmon salad.... Salmon was perfectly cooked. An unexpected pleasure. I was there in business and would go back again in a heart beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Very nice staff. Very nice food.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The staff, and the restaurant.
Location: There are no eating places within walking distance. But this is a hotel meant for people with business at UCSD. La Jolla is not very far by car.
The front desk will recommend you eat in their restaurant. And you will agree because there are no restaurants within walking distance. You will eat in their restaurant, and you will not regret it. The chefs and wait-staff take their jobs very seriously. The food was surprisingly good. And the wait-staff very helpful and friendly. Overall a very nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Amazing stay friendly staff!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Room was clean, staff was beyond friendly, and I felt very welcome. Area was safe and quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley

Overall, I was satisfied.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
It was an overall positive experience. Staff was friendly and aside from morning bistro staff who constantly voiced their frustrations out loud, making guests feel a little uncomfortable. The dinner at bistro 39 is awesome; breakfast was unimpressive. I wish I had known that the spa/salon was closed on weekends, as that is why I chose the hotel (didn't have the chance to enjoy). They changed my king balcony room and did not notify me until check-in. They attempted to make it right with breakfast vouchers, which really were not equivalent to the quality and the privacy of what I had paid for. I still like the overall layout of the hotel. Good bargain.