Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Walking distance to great food. Old town is a nice place to visit the only downside is everything closes at 10pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

Clean and comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The staff, proximity to multiple SD destinations, and cleanliness.
Location: Located adjacent to Old Town. Old Town is fun, but I wouldn't base my decision to stay at this hotel based on that as you'll only go once.
I called ahead of time to request a crib and was assured that I would have one waiting for me upon check-in. After arriving 6 hours late (at almost 1am), there wasn't a crib in the room and there weren't any available. The front desk staff was amazing at resolving the issue promptly the next morning (and they even comped my parking fees for the week), but that did little for us that night since the reason for me calling ahead was because my baby will only sleep soundly in a crib (and I would have rented one to be delivered) had the hotel indicated that this might be problematic. Still, though, great staff and remediation, but it's hard to use reason with a picky baby. My other gripe is that the room that I booked through Expedia was in a part of the hotel that required that you walk through the restaurant every time you left and returned to your room-- that was a bit awkward. Housekeeping was also unpredictable. We usually tip half about halfway through our stay with the other half coming at the end of the stay. We left half of the tip halfway through, and that's when we stopped getting clean towels, coffee, bags for ice, etc. It was really odd-- I can only imagine that the staff wasn't happy with the amount or that they thought since they'd already gotten a gratuity that they didn't have to work for it anymore? I don't know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Great hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
New facility....friendly staff...easy parking. Walking to distance to Old Town. Not sure I would walk at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Nice hotel, good location close to Old Town

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Check in was easy and quick - the woman at the front desk was very friendly. The hotel is nice and the big advantage is the location. It's a very short drive from the airport car rental center, and from the hotel it's very easy to get around. Old Town is right there, so you can walk from the hotel to explore, or it takes no time at all to get to the beach or downtown to the Gaslamp area. For my purposes it worked out really well. The only things that stopped it from getting all 5's in my rating are: AC was pretty loud and cut in and out constantly (after the first night we set it so the fan would just stay on, so that it's a constant noise instead of on and off); windows don't open (which would have been preferable to running the AC as it was cool enough outside at night), and the lobby restaurant didn't have much atmosphere - it's basically just a bunch of tables and a small bar plopped in the lobby, so it could use a bit of a decor upgrade. However, those are small things and overall my wife and I both really enjoyed our time at this hotel and in the area. I would definitely recommend it and will probably stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 blocks from Old Town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, locations
Cons: Open bar earlier
Location: Old Town is just 3 blocks away, freways are easy access from this location
Great location, check in was very quick. Parking charge was a bit much, but, we wanted to stay at this location. There is some street parking. The room was spacious, although there is a room control for ac/ heat it is limited. The vent in the bathroom is pretty useless. Housekeeping was overly helpful and quick to respond. The Hot Tub and pool were open, this was in January, and there were plenty of towels pool side. My only complaint is the bar did not open till 5pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a good one, but can be better.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I don't like the toilet paper they provided. And the trash truck is noisy in the morning (Around 9am to be fair.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to Old Town San Diego

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Staff cordial and helpful--love the chocolate chip cookies. Restaurant very good and Convient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Newer hotel right on the edge of old town

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The newness and the staff
Cons: It would be nice to have a different rout to access the pool without having to walk through the Bar/Dining area
Location: The hotel is on the edge of Old Town and there is a Mexican restaurant across the street but other than that be prepared to walk a lot or drive
We heard the hotel is only a year old and you can tell. It was clean and beautiful. Rooms were spacious with large bathrooms. There were a few things like lights being out and the main pool not always being heated consistently but overall a very nice facility. The front desk staff were always super friendly and helped in any way they could. We will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shops

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Hotel was close to shops, staff was wonderful highly recommend this hotel , we stayed for a charger game and Qualcomm stadium was about ten minutes away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles. CA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Beautifully updated hotel with large rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was very good. It is within walking distance to Old Town and the Mission plus the Trolley is near by where we hopped on and went down to Sea Port Village. We would definitely stay here again. Very nice staff.