Ratings based on 1,887 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The scenery is beautiful. Very relaxing hotel with great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful scenery. Our team hopes you will return soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice place, very clean.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: very clean and nice area
Location: very beautiful area. Nice walking area by beach and hills.
Very happy with our stay. My only complaint is the non-disclosure of the $30 per night parking fee and the $25 per night fee you pay to receive "discounts" on property shops, dining etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location in La Jolla and the beauty that surrounds our hotel. We work hard to be transparent about our fees during the reservation process so when our guests check in the experience is carefree and as expected at check out. We hope our guests see the value of the extensive amount of amenities incorporated in our Resort Fee including: WiFi; Coffee; Bottled Water; Kids Eat Lunch and Dinner Free in Torreyana; Shiley's Fitness Center and Classes; 15% off ProShop; 25% off Cabanas; 20% off Gift Shop; 10% off Macy’s. We have shared your comments with our team and we hope you will stay with us again next time your travels bring you to La Jolla!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amenities nice but sterile environment

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The entire environment of the hotel lacked life. The staff was superficial, except for the cleaning ladies. It's all about money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and our goal is to make every guest feel welcomed, cared for, and respected. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and we have shared your comments with our team. Your feedback will help us improve and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Nada es lo que parece

Posted Jul 10, 2016
El hotel divino, la comida y cuartos excelentes! La cuota de estacionamiento de $30usd al día es excesiva. Lo peor es el staff del hotel. Muy groseros y no te yudan en nada y te ponen puras trabas. No regresaría!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel within walking distance of Torrey Pines

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Please stop charging hotel guests for self-parking.
We stayed at the Hilton over July 4th weekend while in town visiting family. The hotel's location, within walking distance of Torrey Pines Golf Course, is convenient for golfers. The grounds are well kept, the hotel's atmosphere is welcoming, our room was clean and comfortable, staff was helpful and friendly, and we liked the restaurant and bar which stayed open late. Our one complaint is that those staying at this hotel are charged $29 per day for self-parking - and you are charged for the day you check out of the hotel as well. Stay 3 nights, $87 to park :-(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Gold Course. We are also glad you liked Torreyana Grille and Lounge. Hopefully you caught our Happy Hour Specials or tasted our new Chef's Blackboard Menu. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we encourage you to check out our packages that include parking! We will keep your comments in mind as we continually work to enhance our guests' experience. Thanks again and we hope you will return soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location near Lajolla shore

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Hotel atmosphere , outside grounds, location , and views are very relaxing. Room needs modernization and attention to upscale amenities to fit Hton standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and stunning views of Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. We appreciate your feedback and we hope that our guests will enjoy the coastal, relaxing feel of our rooms. We have shared your comments with our team and we hope you will visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: The grounds are green and pleasing. Check in and check out was very smooth.
Cons: We assumed this hotel would be like a resort. It's a common 4 star hotel on nice grounds.
We booked the hotel 6 months in advance to get the best rates. It was almost 20% cheaper to book the room on the day we stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great Check-In and Check-Out experience. We appreciate your feedback and your comments are very valuable to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time your travels bring you to La Jolla.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel and Awesome Staff

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: it was really nice and very clean, staff was very friendly.
Location: Location was perfect for us since it was very close to UCSD graduation
the stay was perfect and loved this hotel would stay there again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location near UCSD. We appreciate your wonderful feedback regarding our team and we cannot wait for your next visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

was in a nice area

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: open n clean
Cons: when they screw up like that, make you feel your at a budget hotel for 50 bucks, terrible start of a vacation they should comp you.
Location: It was a business enviroment but within 10-15 minutes you had beach restaurants ect. but was very peaceful area inside n out
well when I checked in at 1:30am I went to the desk and I got the upgrade pkg for breakfast n free parking and at the desk the lady said I did not and was not available and I had to pay for my parking, I was really upset so went to the room, in the morning i went to see the Manager and he said she was new and was mistaken, it was all adjusted to what I wanted, got no comp for that upsetting episode to start things off with the wrong bang, but other then that all was good, good buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate our guests' feedback and we are sincerely sorry for the misunderstanding. We have addressed your concerns with our team to ensure this does not occur again and your feedback is incredibly important to us. We hope you will consider staying with us again next time your travels bring you to La Jolla.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville,Al.

A real treat for any golfer!

Posted May 27, 2016
The hotel is not luxurious, but it is very pretty and well maintained. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the facilities all I could want. We had a lovely view of the golf course and the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view of the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course and Pacific Ocean. We are also glad our team made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit!