Ratings based on 1,789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great hotel right next to Torrey Pines Golf course

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Location: In a business area, but right on the golf course. Torrey pines state park within walking distance. Ocean is close, but you have to drive to access.
We had a room overlooking the golf course and the pool. The room was not large, but it was clean and nicely furnished. Because the golf course was preparing for the Farmers Open there were no golfers and we were able to walk the course, very beautiful right on the water. Admittedly, this opportunity doesn't happen very often. I was surprised by the $29 over night parking fee, and there is no street parking so we had no choice but to pay it. The hotel seems to be set up for conferences so it's more a business hotel than a resort type hotel. But the pool, jacuzzi and workout facility were very nice. There is no shopping or restaurants within walking distance open on the weekends except what the hotel offers. However, there is a shopping mall 3 or 4 miles away that has a wide variety of choices (UTC). This was a staycation for us and we had a nice visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course. We are glad you were able to walk around and enjoy the beautiful scenery! We appreciate your feedback and we hope you were able to enjoy breakfast, lunch, or dinner at our award-winning Torreyana Grille. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Quinta

Close to everything

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The best part of visiting is the engaging staff.
Location: We come for a break in working hard, so the relaxing environment is soothing.
The location is what brings us back. Access to the beach, downtown La Jolla, USD, and great golf. It's private, and wonderfully staffed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear our team made your stay extra special! We are also glad you enjoyed our location. We can't wait for your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Upon checking in I discovered opened food pkgs in the drawer below the coffee maker. Probably left by the former guests. Neither electrical socket in bathroom worked so I had to dry my hair in the bedroom without a mirror. However, the staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly team members. We have addressed the issues you encountered with our team to make sure they are fixed immediately and do not occur again. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 25, 2016
My boyfriend and I got there early and they gave us a room without extra charge. Great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait for your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful View and Great Location

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The hotel overlooks both the Torrey Pines Golf Course and ocean, so the view and location were wonderful to say the least. The reason I would recommend this Hilton, however, is the exceptional staff from front desk personnel to maintenance staff. They were all incredibly accommodating and went above and beyond to ensure my visit was the best, especially during a horrible El Nino storm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience with our team at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear they made your visit extra special. We are also glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. We can't wait for your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Cons: Restaurant Selection
Hotel Staff was excellent. There was a discrepancy with the Expedia reservation. They could not verify, but gave me the benefit and advised would review with Expedia. No questions asked - Excellent Service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear our team made your stay extra enjoyable. We appreciate your kind words and we hope you will be our guest again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016
We were very pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the stay. Everyone was quite accommodating and the hotel was beautiful! The vista out to the ocean was breathtaking. If anything, my family and I had wished there was another restaurant option, but the lower level eating facility was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay along with the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and Torrey Pines Golf Course. Hopefully you were able to catch a sunset during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will be our guest again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Resort!

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: This is a great option when travelling with a family.
We were welcomed at check in by Tamika. She is absolutely wonderful. Excellent experience all around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay. We also appreciate your kind words concerning our team member Tamika and we will be sure to share them with her. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples Island, California

Beautiful location but not a 5 star property

Posted Jan 5, 2016
You cannot find a better location or views from a hotel in La Jolla. The property reminds me of a business persons hotel. I've travelled around the world on business and this property has a masculine sensibility - I think that's why there are issues with the property - men just don't care about certain things but woman do! Went with the family - including our two sons, age 17 & 25. The room TV did not work The room air conditioner did not work The bathroom mirrors were not clean My son plays basketball and wanted to practice - the basketball Bell staff gave him was old and shoddy. The basketball hoop was not at regulation height - it was ridiculously high. The lobby coffee bar - had terrible coffee and the employee was not warm and didn't know how to make a good cup of Starbucks coffee - this was a big disappointment! The hotel store was below par. The employee left a lot and the store was locked. I usually love hotel stores / lots of great vacation clothes usually. This one does not have a stylish selection and was not merchandised well - a lot of sub-par clothes and trinkets The Sunday brunch was good and a good value at $22 per person. Would I go back? Yes because there is incredible hiking right next door in the state park with great ocean views. Fantastic public golf court next door on the ocean bluff - $186 to golf but I've heard that's a fair price! LOL. Why doesn't hy the General Manager make these easy fixes so the property can be a wow?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views and our location near Torrey Pines State Reserve. We appreciate your feedback regarding our coffee bar and basketball court. We also apologize that your TV was not working and the bathroom mirrors were not clean. We understand that these are easy fixes and we will have our team on them immediately. We can't wait to see you next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel on the golf course

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location, location.
Cons: Housekeeping and parking charges.
Location: La Jolla Shores.
Great location for a weekend getaway. Very peaceful and quite. All amenities available during stay. Received great and timely reception upon arrival. Onsite self-parking charge is rather high for this property. Room location was perfect and met our weekend getaway needs. Housekeeping below standard. Did not clean the room except for replenishment of toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our serene location in La Jolla and our amenities. We appreciate your feedback regarding Housekeeping and the cost of parking, and we have addressed these issues. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.