Ratings based on 1,763 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel with great views!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Perfect location right on the bay front. Could literally walk to everything.
Was pleasantly surprised how nice everything was at this hotel. The staff was great! The location was amazing. The spa, pool and restaurants were all first rate. I Will definetly be staying here in future visits to SD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our waterfront location near San Diego's greatest attractions. We love hearing from our guests and we hope you will return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Weekend visit

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Nice hotel. Rooms are ok. Restaurant prices are insane.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend visit. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and we have shared your comments with our team. We will keep your comments in mind as we continually work to enhance our guests' experience. Thanks again and we hope you will be our guest in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Beautiful hotel by the bay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
This hotel is located by the harbor next to the convention center. It has spectacular views of Coronado Island and the San Diego skyline. From there many attractions can be easily reached on foot including the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! We are glad you enjoyed our location on the San Diego Bay and we hope you will return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Bedding

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Bed mattress are terrible and fillows are too small and fells like you're resting your head with nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the mattress and pillows. We appreciate your feedback and we have shared your concerns with our team. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thanks again and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Loved this hotel as it had a comfortable room, had great amenities, and was close to many of the places we wanted to see in San Diego. On one side of the hotel was a great walking path right along the waterfront where you can find restaurants and the ferry to Coronado Island. Across the street was the Convention Center which happened to have an auto show while we were there. A short walk away was the Gaslamp District with lots of restaurants and a shopping plaza.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed our central location on the San Diego Bay. It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring San Diego and we hope you will stay with us again next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Best San Diego location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: location on water
Cons: nothing
Location: right on the water, boardwalk, ferry to Coronado
This is one of my favorite Hilton properties. More like a resort than a hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and beautiful photos. We are so glad you had a memorable stay and we hope you will be our guest again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK, not great

Posted Jan 1, 2017
High prices in hotel restaurants. Hotel's main restaurant (Velo) closes for dinner at 9pm. Charge for wifi in room if you are not a HH member. But if you push, they will give it to you for free. Found an apple and unopened bag of popcorn under one of the beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and your satisfaction is extremely important to us. We have addressed the issues you mentioned and your comments will help us enhance our guests' experience. Thanks again and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stay for 3 nights and it's wonderfull

Posted Jan 1, 2017
I have been in San Diego four times, and this is the best stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad you had a wonderful visit and we hope you will return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Unbelievably nosy, but we realize you can't control the quality of your patrons. We did enjoy the food, excellent job Chef Paul.. The room with view of the Bay just beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful views and our friendly team! We appreciate your feedback and understanding. We hope you will be our guest again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R, The Valley

Disappointed in San Diego

Posted Dec 28, 2016
To begin, certainly not the best customer svc. Poor girl at check did not seem to know what she was doing. Then my credit card gets charge $50 deposit for all 6 nights we stayed.. So $300 of senseless deposits. $35 per night parking I could almost live with but when items get stolen out of the back of my truck..I was not so eager to pay them $210 for parking.. Rooms are starting to look weathered for such a new hotel... Shower curtain was ridiculous... We could not get that thing to create a seal so it leaked all over the floor every time we showered.. Fraudulent charge of $40 placed on my room acct... Still have to fight that one.. Disappointing for the Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We understand you were not satisfied with the customer service you encountered and we are very sorry. This is not typical of our hotel and team, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continually work to enhance our guests' experience. Thanks again and we hope you will return soon!