Ratings based on 1,317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Close To Delmar Race Track

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly, Helpful Staff. Rooms Very Nice And Comfortable. Plenty Of Parking. Freeway On Ramps Very Close To Hotel.
Location: Delmar Race Track Within Walking Distance Of Hotel.
Very Nice Hotel. Staff Always Very Helpful And Friendly. Rooms Are Large And Very Comfortable. Parking Is Good But Cost $20 Dollars Per Day. There Is A Bar Lounge Area With Seating Inside And Outside And Has A Limited Food Menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Staff were very cordial and welcoming, room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. Unfortunately I had an issue with the WiFi and my HHonors privileges, since my booking was made by a third-party and they used Expedia. Because of that I lost a lot of my HHonors privileges, which doesn't really make sense for some of them, but that's the Hilton/HHonors policy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Crescenta

Nice hotel & staff

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Everything is perfect except wifi connection. It was so much unstable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: No
I would never stay at this hotel again. Five German shepards in a room next to us give me a break. How disgusting. I asked for another room the day I checked in and they did nothing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
A group of us stayed here for one night; we loved the facilities they provided, we have a pool with poolside service as well at beautiful firepits to enjoy at night. In addition they had a shuttle to take you wherever u needed to cost so we used that to go to dinner! Very pleased
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice, family friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The scenery was very nice. There was a lovely fire pit in the lobby.
Cons: Some of the things should be updated like the bathrooms but it was nice for the price. And located near the beach.
Location: It is located in a cute little suburb and beach. There is a bus that the hotel allows you to use for free.
It was my husband and I honeymoon. The hotel staff was very accommodating and sweet. They even sent up champagne for our first night's stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Our favorite little place

Posted Jul 13, 2016
We have stayed here on two occasions and have loved this place. They have the best pillows that are so fluffy and don't flatten up in the middle of your sleep. The hotel is very quaint and the area is very quiet. I have heard that it gets super busy during the fair time and the horseracing time which we have never been there for. If you're looking for a peaceful place to stay then this is it here. We visited the San Diego animal parks and this is where we stayed. The parks are not super close by, but for us that was better so we don't get all the touristy noise. I was assisted by Cheryl Puno and she was excellent. She wentered above and beyond to make sure we got the best out of our stay. I didn't give this place a perfect score because there were a few staff members that were not very friendly or helpful. One was a waiter from the restaurant who looked like he hated his job and didn't even offer me any water or where to sit. The other was a man at the front desk when I called to ask for Cheryl. He was not nice and asked me to call back in the morning to see if she was going to be there to help me. Other than that whenever we go back to the San Diego area, we will be staying here again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. Cheryl is absolutely the best and we are glad she took great care of you. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

get what you pay for

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Price for the room is just for the room. Parking was additional, wifi was addititional, not free like it said when I booked. Business center did have free access so they might mean that Internet is free but not in your room. Restaurant food was good and they have Starbucks coffee (lattes and such). Mixed on if I was stay there again, maybe if price was in the low 100's
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Hello Jose, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not given instructions on logging into the free standard wifi we provide for all of our guest rooms and public areas. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed coastalKITCHEN and Starbucks. We hope to see you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great hotel and great staff

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: everything is close and accessible. great staff.
Location: The location is great. near the fair, beach, shopping and downtown is close enough to walk however the hotel provides shuttle service locally.
great hotel and a great staff. we were there for a wedding at another hotel 5 minutes away. the shuttle service is a bonus and the drivers did everything they could to get us through tough traffic due to the state fair which was on going.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Hello Jack, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our very central location! We hope you had a blast at the wedding!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Jul 1, 2016
room service was late, but overall nice choice. Not enough outlets for all my devices to be convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will definitely be looking at your feedback for future room enhancements. Thanks again!