Ratings based on 1,660 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Great location in the heart of gaslamp district. Hence, it was close to convention center if here on business and close to all restaurants and bars.
Excellent condition, service, and amenities with great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Location was fantastic and we saved by not renting a car as everything was within walking distance or we grabbed an Uber. The view was amazing, and the hotel staff was more than accommodating. The only downfall, and it is a very small downfall, was the sound the air conditioner makes. It's quite loud, and for those of us from colder climates, keeping it on was necessary. Will most definitely be staying again on our next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The Location was good. Close to all attraction and it is the heart of downtown.
Cons: Parking should be cheaper
Location: Night life is good, all the restaurants are walking distance.
Was surprised to pay US$50.00 for Valet parking. The Hotel has no parking, you have to use a public parking 2 streets down and the cost is 25$ per day. Room service is very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

As a San Diego tourist, location was perfect.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Parking was a little difficult....we were too cheap to pay for valet, so we had to drive around to look for on-street metered parking in the busy area
We stayed here for 2 nights and found the location to be quite ideal for the activities we had planned. Best was how the hotel very close to the Embarcadero (beach walk?) where we could take morning runs, walk with our family & find some touristy shopping spots. It was also walking distance to many places to eat in the Gaslamp Dist. We were 10 minutes from the SD Zoo and walking distance to the USS Midway Museum. Lobby & room was nice, clean & comfortable. My kids liked the small pool, but our only wish was that there was also an outdoor hot tub. Pool patio area faces west, which is important so you can get all the afternoon & evening sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bars and restaurants

Posted Apr 1, 2017
No need to drive or catch a ride. Everything you need is within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great hotel in the heart of the action

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The Hilton Gaslamp Quarter is opposite the San Diego Convention Centre and in the heart of the nightlife of the Gaslamp Quarter - great location! The hotel is well appointed, the rooms large and clean and the staff excellent. Parking is expensive, though, at USD$49 per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Centrally located

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Centrally located and well maintained. I didn't need anything at all, everything was perfect. Staff was super friendly providing advise on nearby eats etc. Save some money and park 2 short blocks away at a public, very safe, garage and pay $15.00 overnight instead of the hotel's $49.00 valet. We would drive around exploring the beaches all day, park and end the day in the Gaslamp District. Highway and all main roads are close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paramus, NJ

Great stay

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The hotel was great and the staff was equally amazing. Just know that the hotel is literally next to the train tracks. No most of the trains are considerably quiet however there was a freight train that went through at like 3 in the morning and woke up my 5 month old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
The staff was very friendly, even recommended restaurant n places to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth Texas

Mother daughter trip

Posted Mar 15, 2017
My mother and I spent 3 days at this hotel and we absolutely loved it. The location is perfect and the staff was amazing. We will be returning to stay with out families. Great hotel!!!