Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Dirty, very dirty room

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We first got this room, that was dirty everywhere, it was like they only made the beds and put clean towels, bedskirts stained, the carpet soiled, chair covered with something like pancake syrup, etc, it was terrible, they had to change us to another room that wasn't that good at all but better than the first. Breakfast was good (milk expiring next day no good). I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Good location, but need to be renovated.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
It was a terrible night. When we arrived the hotel at 5PM, our assigned room didn't cleaned yet, so the staff gave us another room. However the shower door was broken and rusted, in addition, the tile of bathroom wall was broken also that need to be renovated. During that night, other guests opened and got in our room twice around 10PM and 11:45PM since the hotel staff gave them the keys of same room for two different guests even though we already checked in. We couldn't sleep that night and our keys didn't work anymore, so I got the new keys and double locked the door at 12:20PM. In the front desk, there were several people who got in my room. They said the hotel had a double booking and no room for them. I'm so tired to talk about this hotel and will not recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Bring a black light

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Had one sheet and 6 pillow cases changed one looked like someone shot on it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent staff!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very good overall experience, staff was friendly and helpful. I will return to this hotel next legoland trip!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Reasonable!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The free breakfast was a huge plus for me. Was able to save $$$ on that.
Cons: Please improve your WIFI. This is crucial for some people.
Location: The location was awesome for me. It was within minutes of a shopping center, which includes a Ralphs and a couple of restaurants.
We stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach. It was pleasant. They have free breakfast, which includes cereals, breads, sausage, bacon and egg beaters. The rooms were big enough for 2 kids and my husband. It was comfortable. The bathroom is pretty big. No bath tub. The staff was always nice and cordial. If I had to say ONE negative thing is that the WIFI was not good. We would have to reset the kids ipad regularly in order to stay connected. The pool area was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre Hotel, Great Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location to Legoland, cleaning staff
Cons: Better management would solve a lot of issues.
Location: 10 minutes to Legoland, 5 minutes to Carlsbad Beach
We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels and have always had great experiences. While the staff was friendly most of the time and the location was excellent, this hotel was only mediocre. The 'staff elevator' was not labeled as such, and wouldn't exit on the 2nd floor without a staff key. When I mentioned this confusion (we had to go to the third floor with our luggage and then back down to the first floor, exit the unmarked staff elevator which is right next to the guest elevator, and then go back up in the guest elevator), the manager agreed that they should put up a sign, but he said so in a very condescending way. Not surprisingly, there was no sign 4 days later when we checked out. And several other guests had the same elevator problem we had. This mediocre service was common among about half of the staff that I spoke with. In addition, there were building imperfections that showed no attention to detail--air conditioning unit was off center on a cheap particle board shelf, parts of the shower surround were detaching from the wall, window treatments didn't quite close. Nothing 'dangerous', but definitely not up to the standards other HI Express Hotels have. The bright spot was the cleaning staff who was always friendly and did a great job cleaning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springfield illinois

Very nice staff!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Good staff... Refrig broke when fixed didn't get very cold. Breakfast good.. Needs more variety plus you have to get down early or there is no seating. Rooms had enough room for 2 adults and one child.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Staff was friendly, helpful and great, clean room, great breakfast. We will go again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Condition of the hotel and the room was poor. Carpet was dirty. Restroom was dirty. Minimal service provided at the front desk. Breakfast was lacking. Quality and selection of food and drinks need improvement. Food and drinks got less as the week went by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canonsburg ,Pa

Nice hotel good location. very comfortable bed and

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Close to everything..
Location: Nice and close to where I wanted to go.
Went to a wedding just one exit down. Went to LA for a day. went to San Diego zoo had a great time.