Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The hotel located in a small mall right on the side of a main street, next to an In-N-Out Burger. Don't like the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County,Ca

Overall stay was pleasant.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location. Easy freeway access. Nearby shopping center.
Cons: Electrical plugs or charging stations.
Location: In and Out Hamburgers nearby, Coco's Restaurant, Target, Panera Bread, Gas Station
Overall the hotel, staff, breakfast and location was good. Only recommendation to hotel is to provide convenient extensions for charging phones. The electrical plugs were very much inconvenient. There are NONE by the beds. The only one was only able to charge 1 item on top of desk, otherwise you had to charge in the bathroom. The room has extension cords for the lamps, which we had to disconnect in order to charge our phones. It was very inconvenient, unplugging and moving things around the room to find an electrical outlet. Other than that. All was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Weekend

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Greeted by a friendly front desk clerk upon arrival. Left hotel for an hour and came back with no parking. A hotel staff helped us find a spot. Hotel room was clean and surprisingly quiet despite of seeing lots of people inside. Breakfast was great. Glad that there were healthy options. Overall, I was very satisfied with the hotel services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Central location close to shops walking distance to shops & food
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Dear Maria: We appreciate your feedback during your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Review of Holiday Inn Express in Escondido, CA

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I have stayed here before. I originally looked at it because Holiday Inn's are a good place to stay. Good value for your dollar.
Cons: A small quartet playing at breakfast? Seriously, nothing.
Location: Near Coco's & In and Out. Pretty much convenient to everything. Not there for vacation, but did do some wineries. Gas prices are good out there.
The room was clean and comfortable. The bed had fitted sheets, which is important to me as I don't like sleeping in a tangled mess. One of the main things I liked was the free breakfast. All the hot foods were good and the woman in charge was great. Friendly and outgoing and lot's of attention to detail. They have wine bottle openers you can borrow at the front desk - how great is that?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, United States of America

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The service was great and so was the location. Its close to the freeway and near many places to eat and shops which was convenient.
Cons: The room looked old and run down (not like the pictures) It also had a very bad smell.
Location: Lots of options for food and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Dear R: Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, On

great deal - close to zoo safari

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Cons: getting a little old
Liked this place, stayed two nights and saved a lot compared to staying in San Diego. In and Out burger beside the hotel; lots of shopping nearby - one exit to Costco; two exits to large mall. Beds a bit on the soft side; room was quiet and there was lots of free parking. Had an outdoor pool and hot tub (didnt use tho). Breakfast typical, nothing to brag about...pancakes, scrambled eggs, thin bacon and sausage, pastries, lots of apples and bananas, cereal, bagels and bread, yogurt. Half hour drive to San Diego (not at rush hour tho) and just 15 minutes to zoo safari (a must do). Staff friendly and efficient. Happy with hotel given price, overall three star for exedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Dear JA: We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Great to know that you are happy with your stay. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn hotels for your lodging needs and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountainhouse Ca

Great location

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Restaurants and stores within walking distance, San Diego wild animal park only 15 minutes away and not to far from downtown San Diego.
Cons: Nothing bad during our stay
Location: Great location!
Nice clean room, friendly staff ,ample parking right off the freeway .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Dear Hugo: Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very Welcoming

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The free breakfast is very helpful, allowing travelers to get a quick start on their day. And the selection is broad and nutritious.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Centrally located, with easy freeway access.
While this is not a luxury hotel, the rooms are clean and well-maintained. The beds are comfortable, the shower and sink in good working order, and the air conditioning very effective. The rooms also have a small fridge, so we were able to keep a few drinks and some restaurant leftovers. The staff was very friendly and outgoing. Hopefully that means the custodial workers are well treated and paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Dear Mitch: Awesome to hear about your good review of our property. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again! Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel was well prepared, quick check in, staff were friendly and it was very conveniently located for our trip to the Wild Life Park. We had a very good time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Vikki, Hotel Management
Indeed a great location with friendly staff. Glad you had a good time. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Vikki Armonio General Manager Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Escondido