Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great room for our family. Restaurant dining in the same parking lot. Close enough drive to attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

NICE HOTEL, CLOSE TO UCSD.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The breakfast made my day, everyday, plenty to choose from. They even had my favorite, biscuits and gravy. Love the shower head, I'm presently shopping for it online and I think I found it. Another reason I chose this Holiday Inn was the parking, there's no charge, but be aware they say they are not responsible for your valuables. This hotel is located in a high tech area anyway, it seems relatively quiet and safe. UCSD is very close by car, we stayed for 3 days and went to our daughter's graduation. My dislikes include the tight parking spaces and they did not run the AC in the halls all 3 days we were there. The AC in the room is fine but there is no low speed for the fan. We had free WIFI, but my cheap laptop caught a bug, my wife's IPAD and IPhone were/are okay. Make sure your anti virus is up to date. If I return to San Diego I'll make a bee line for the biscuits and gravy. Jim From California
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for your honest feedback. We are very happy to hear that in spite of the inconveniences you've experienced during your recent stay, you still promised to come back to our hotel. We will take a note of the things you've mentioned and we will make sure to inform the management about it. Again, thank you for trusting Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. Hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice room, great staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Clean - safe
Cons: better breakfast
Location: UCSD medical facilities
Room was large, clean and updated. Staff was great. Breakfast was nothing special and the coffee was not good, but it was included in the room price so it was fine. Close to UCSD medical facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by M. Espinosa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great and comfortable stay with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we are happy to have accomplished it with you. Regarding our breakfast, all are with accordance to our brand standards. Rest assured that all your concerns will be raised on the next meeting. Again, thank you and we hope to have you here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

ok

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Not to far from the Airport
Just Ok. Sheets looked dirty, just had an unclean feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm so sorry to hear that the sheets you had in your bed felt dirty. I will ensure to pass it along to the Housekeeping Manager to further investigate on your claim. Again, sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you would give us the opportunity to serve you again, this time with a much better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: location - close to the freeway and quiet surroundings.
Cons: breakfast food choices
Room was clean and bathroom was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. I was able to control the air temperature which was great! The Front Desk reception staff were very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. Although our breakfast is with accordance to our brand standards, we will ensure to notify the management regarding your comment. Again, thank you for trusting Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley San Diego, hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pearl among the corporates.

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel is located in a corporate area, yet it is close to various freeways. The hotel was very clean, adequately furnished and is situated steps from a Chilis restaraunt. I definitely plan to use this hotel again, especially when I travel to San Diego. The room was not only spotless but the staff provided me with hygiene utensils when I told them I forgot mine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley , Hotel Management
Thank you for investing time to review our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and your promise to come back to see us again. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. Again, thank you. We can't wait to have you here again soon.
4 out of 5
by Cameron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Nice stay. Roomie. Pillows are too big, we woke up with soreness. Breakfast was good with the exception that it didn't have brown sugar, raisins, nuts for oatmeal over the weekend. Weekdays only?
5 out of 5
by leila

business trip-awesome hotel for stay

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
very nice hotel, clean, staffs are great, great location and parking, breakfast was also very good
2 out of 5
by Neil

Noisy/poorly maintained hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
I arrived a little late after a long drive when I checked in. The clerk didn't seem very concerned with providing good service to a weary traveler, but everybody after that was friendly and helpful. The in room refrigerator was warm when I arrived, and it took a few hours to chill down for my food and drinks. Bummer. The bed was a little too firm for me, but some travelers might enjoy it. When I returned to the room the second day of my stay, the bed had been made up with a visibly dirty and stained comforter. There also were stains on the wall of the room. Gross. This place was extremely noisy, even before the phone (landline) started ringing by itself every two hours. I picked it up a few times.... nobody was on the other end. This started at 3:00 AM. I don't know if it was an electrical short, someone playing a prank, or just ghosts in the hotel, and I really don't care. My last afternoon there I spent a few minutes on my phone in the breakfast room behind the lobby - It was as dirty and worn as the rest of the place. I'm glad I didn't partake in their breakfast service - I wouldn't want to eat there. I've stayed in A LOT of hotels. Overall, this stay was an adventure in avoiding all of the of defects. I won't be returning.