Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from LA

Excellent staff - hotel needs upgrades

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: I would return just because the staff was so wonderful. Also, free parking & breakfast offered with hotel rate. Room was clean, which is important.
Cons: The room bathroom, hallways and lobby need upgrades.
Location: Chilies Restaurant is steps away - nice that I could grab dinner so close.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay. It is a very good hotel for any business traveler. It's also comfortable and the staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very comfortable, great location!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
This is the most comfortable hotel I've stayed at! Very convenient to all the beaches (10-15 minute drive). Great breakfast, great staff. We would definitely go back. BTW, we got a room on the end of the 4th floor and that was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great place!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We booked a room here last minute right before a holiday weekend. I was surprised at the quality of this place for the price. Very clean, modern, comfortable, beautiful room. Staff were friendly, check out was at noon (though the late check out is a seasonal promotion it was nice to have that extra time), the area is very nice, about 12-15 minutes from downtown San Diego, and the free breakfast choices are great! totally worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff! Room was okay.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was super welcoming, friendly, & helpful. The pool area was very clean.
Cons: The room could have been better, in my opinion. It smelled stale and a little funky, but the rest of the hotel didn't smell at all.
Location: Everything we were interested in doing was about 15-20 mins away, but the hotel was conveniently located in the middle for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Comfortable room, friendly staff. Close to UCSD. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel for the price

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Good Staff, Location and Cleanliness, Their breakfast is excellent
Cons: NA
Location: Excellent location, very quite & calm, close to good restaurants & shopping
Spacious room and very friendly staff, hotel & room is very clean and best value for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by C, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for investing the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled to hear that our hotel is excellent for the price. Our staff holds guest service in the highest regard and we’re glad that we we’re able to leave you with a memorable stay. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions and we’re happy that was convenient for you. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We can’t wait to see you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice and Comfortable

Posted Oct 10, 2016
This was one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed in San Diego area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by C, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We’re happy to hear that our hotel is one of the nicest Holiday Inn’s you’ve stayed at in San Diego. Your comments will be forwarded to our staff to help further motivate and inspire them. Again, thank you for your review. We can’t wait to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Experience

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The place was good and facilities were good. However, breakfast can have more options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel staff, very accommodating!!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Because of CiCi - Front Desk Staff and Sandra - Housekeeping our stay at the Holiday Inn was excellent. Thank you again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by C, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to wow our guests with our customer service and we’re pleased to know that you took notice. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We would love for you to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from OC

Excellence on a budget

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Clean, orderly, fresh, safe, excellent service, reasonably priced, and good location.
Cons: Two queens in every room. If a guest doesn't need the second bed that's better than when they do and you don't have it.
Location: The chilli's is ok I suppose. The location is a little off from main attractions like the zoo and seaworld but close enough where it's not a bother.
In the realm of middle of the road reasonably priced options, Holiday Inn Express ranks at the top. It's not "perfect". They could have had two queens available instead of a king and pull out couch. It should in fact be standard on all rooms. However, with free continental breakfast, excellent service like crib and free toothbrush and paste when you forget yours, and a couch that doubles as a pull out, it more than makes up for any nit picky little thing you can find. Excellent because cleanliness and safety are the two most important things when you're traveling with family. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by C, Hotel Management
Dear Josh, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We’re thrilled to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we’re pleased to know that we accomplished that with you. As you mentioned, we are centrally located away from the hustle and bustle of San Diego, but we’re close enough to all the popular attractions. We’re glad that it was convenient for you. Once more, thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We would love for you to stay with us again in the future.