Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to UC San Diego

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The staff was extremely nice and attentive. They made sure people were taken care of. On Sunday morning at breakfast, all the tables were full and the manager opened up a conference room for additional seating. It was very nice to see that extra effort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Elisa S., Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for sharing your experience at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES SORRENTO VALLEY. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your stay wit us . We always aim to "wow" our guests with our customer service and we are pleased to know that we accomplished that with you. Also, our proximity to local attractions is one of our biggest attributes and we are happy that you agree. Again, thank you for your very good review for HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES SORRENTO VALLEY. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Elisa S. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel. Nice, clean, and friendly

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Really nice hotel center ally located in San Diego. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and a chilis within 100ft of enterance. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, CA

Soccer Tournament Bound

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The accommodations were roomy and comfortable. The area is quiet, and the staff was very helpful and nice. Good selection of food.
Cons: Our tub had trouble draining the first night, but seemed to have fixed itself the next morning. Maybe have the breakfast stay open for 30 mins more.
Location: Location worked for us being 15 mins away from soccer fields. There is a Chili's next door. We only visited Del Mar and Solano Beach.
We were staying in town for a soccer tournament in Del Mar, and with many of the hotels filled, we chose this one. We were surprisingly pleased with the hotel. We have been to many Holiday Inn Express hotels, but not one with a suite. The accommodations were very roomy for the four of us. We had two queen beds, slightly separate living room with sofa and chairs, and a kitchenette. We were up on the 4th floor. The breakfast started at 6:30AM, which was good for us, since we had to leave for the tournament at 7AM. The food was good. Nothing to rave about, but it did satisfy us. There is a Chili's literally next door, which we did have for dinner (not the best service, but satisfied us). The staff at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. We were very happy with our overnight stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future, and would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Clean rooms, great complimentary breakfast, good service, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from LA

Excellent staff - hotel needs upgrades

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: I would return just because the staff was so wonderful. Also, free parking & breakfast offered with hotel rate. Room was clean, which is important.
Cons: The room bathroom, hallways and lobby need upgrades.
Location: Chilies Restaurant is steps away - nice that I could grab dinner so close.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay. It is a very good hotel for any business traveler. It's also comfortable and the staff is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very comfortable, great location!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
This is the most comfortable hotel I've stayed at! Very convenient to all the beaches (10-15 minute drive). Great breakfast, great staff. We would definitely go back. BTW, we got a room on the end of the 4th floor and that was very quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great place!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We booked a room here last minute right before a holiday weekend. I was surprised at the quality of this place for the price. Very clean, modern, comfortable, beautiful room. Staff were friendly, check out was at noon (though the late check out is a seasonal promotion it was nice to have that extra time), the area is very nice, about 12-15 minutes from downtown San Diego, and the free breakfast choices are great! totally worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff! Room was okay.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was super welcoming, friendly, & helpful. The pool area was very clean.
Cons: The room could have been better, in my opinion. It smelled stale and a little funky, but the rest of the hotel didn't smell at all.
Location: Everything we were interested in doing was about 15-20 mins away, but the hotel was conveniently located in the middle for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk was personable, professional and very helpful. Set the tone for the rest of my stay.