Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great atmosphere! Clean facility and friendly staff. Would stay again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We look forward to your next stay with us. Depending on how soon you visit, you should be able to utilize our lovely new pool. See you soon! Amanda Vargas-Kraemer Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Bit Disappointing

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Complimentary coffee/tea station very good.
Cons: Update drapery and AC unit.
We have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for many years. Don't know if there was a change in ownership but the room seemed to be a step down from what we had usually experienced. The drapes were in shoddy shape and the AC unit was noisy. At one point during the night, a bug (could have been a spider) scurried across my pillow. We made a mistake and accepted a room on the 1st floor. Big mistake! We could hear what seemed like kids running up and down on the floor above us. Our room was susceptible to traffic noise, too. The only good thing was the complimentary coffee bar -- excellent coffee/tea. The breakfast offered was mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your stay was not up to par. I will address these concerns with my Front Desk and Housekeeping staff to ensure we handle these types of issues differently in the future. I hope you will come back to San Diego and give us another opportunity, we would be happy to put you on a higher floor and you will be pleased to see our new drapery we have had made for the property; this should repair the sun peaking through the windows and provide a much better sleep. We hope to see you again sometime soon! Best regards, Amanda Vargas-Kraemer Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Very comfortable beds!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The beds, the shower water pressure, the room cooling system.
Cons: The parking situation definitely needs to be worked out.
Stayed for 1 night. The room was clean, quiet and I loved that I could adjust the temperature of the room easily and get it just right. I had read about the comfortable beds in another review, and they were right. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was booked at full capacity due to a closeby event, so parking was an issue. since there are 2 hotels that share a parking lot, it was impossible to find parking. The front desk suggested parking in a lot behind a nearby Denny's. I'm sure it wouldn't be an issue if it weren't at capacity, or for anyone checking in early, but if you arrive after 9PM, then be prepared to park away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Covina

Nice hotel in San Diego

Posted Oct 3, 2016
I booked this hotel a day before my stay at a reasonable price. My arrival time was late at night yet my check in was very easy and quick. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the gym or pool but there's always a next time. They offer a complementary breakfast that is very filling. Would definitely come again and recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Dear Pepper, Thanks for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We are glad that your stay went smooth and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. Hopefully you had a chance to try one of our chocolate waffles. I look forward to meeting you on your next stay with us. Sincerely, Erica Atmaca General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Our stay was short but very comfortable. The beds were Goldilocks and so were the pillows. Our room was clean and had several towels available to use. I would recommend staying here if you're in need of a place to lay your head for a night or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quiet and Comfy

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: I liked that it was clean, quiet and had comfortable beds.
Cons: I wish they had a restaurant inside, but there was a Denny's and other restaurants close-by.
Location: Right off the freeway. Plenty of shops and restaurants close to hotel. Movie theater across the freeway.
Was here for a 2-day "stay-cation". Hotel was updated. Had a room on the 4th floor, facing the highway, but it was surprisingly quiet. No traffic noise. Room was clean and the beds were very comfy. Sleeping on them was a dream. We loved the breakfast buffet in the morning. There was no pool here, but we were told we were free to use the pool at the neighboring hotel because it was the same owner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Amanda Vargas-Kraemer, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, I value your feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfy

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Wish we could have stayed longer. Great location, friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. My kids loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Positive experience. Only negative was check in tool over 30 min. and we were the only ones checking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by erica a, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience during your recent stay with us. I apologize that check-in was not more efficient and timely. I have spoke with the staff and we are working diligently to ensure this does not occur again in the future. We look forward to you next stay with us! Sincerely, Erica Atmaca General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Nice and clean hotel that is close to SD Safari Park. Only complaint I have is that they gave us the handicap room even though we are not handicap, so using the shower there was a challenge. The shower head was waist level so I had to squat to shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

A convenient location for our family to pick us up

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Location: Near to major roads to go places in San Diego (especially Safari Park), shopping areas, restaurants.
We were very happy in this hotel. It was clean, convenient to highways, pleasant staff, good breakfasts.