Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Bit Disappointing

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Complimentary coffee/tea station very good.
Cons: Update drapery and AC unit.
We have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for many years. Don't know if there was a change in ownership but the room seemed to be a step down from what we had usually experienced. The drapes were in shoddy shape and the AC unit was noisy. At one point during the night, a bug (could have been a spider) scurried across my pillow. We made a mistake and accepted a room on the 1st floor. Big mistake! We could hear what seemed like kids running up and down on the floor above us. Our room was susceptible to traffic noise, too. The only good thing was the complimentary coffee bar -- excellent coffee/tea. The breakfast offered was mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that your stay was not up to par. I will address these concerns with my Front Desk and Housekeeping staff to ensure we handle these types of issues differently in the future. I hope you will come back to San Diego and give us another opportunity, we would be happy to put you on a higher floor and you will be pleased to see our new drapery we have had made for the property; this should repair the sun peaking through the windows and provide a much better sleep. We hope to see you again sometime soon! Best regards, Amanda Vargas-Kraemer Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Worth for travel and vacation staying. Price is reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Amanda Vargas-Kraemer, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are always so pleased to hear from happy guests as we work hard to ensure that everyone has a great stay. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Diego. Best, Amanda Vargas-Kraemer Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Very comfortable beds!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The beds, the shower water pressure, the room cooling system.
Cons: The parking situation definitely needs to be worked out.
Stayed for 1 night. The room was clean, quiet and I loved that I could adjust the temperature of the room easily and get it just right. I had read about the comfortable beds in another review, and they were right. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was booked at full capacity due to a closeby event, so parking was an issue. since there are 2 hotels that share a parking lot, it was impossible to find parking. The front desk suggested parking in a lot behind a nearby Denny's. I'm sure it wouldn't be an issue if it weren't at capacity, or for anyone checking in early, but if you arrive after 9PM, then be prepared to park away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Covina

Nice hotel in San Diego

Posted Oct 3, 2016
I booked this hotel a day before my stay at a reasonable price. My arrival time was late at night yet my check in was very easy and quick. The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the gym or pool but there's always a next time. They offer a complementary breakfast that is very filling. Would definitely come again and recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Erica, Hotel Management
Dear Pepper, Thanks for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We are glad that your stay went smooth and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. Hopefully you had a chance to try one of our chocolate waffles. I look forward to meeting you on your next stay with us. Sincerely, Erica Atmaca General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff - friendly, welcoming and courteous!

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent front desk staff!! Very friendly and courteous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Wonderful!! Thank you for such a great review of our property and staff. I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide such positive feedback. I will share this information with our team. We look forward to your future visit with us. Regards, Jonathan Bradford Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The night we arrived the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We got to our room and the key wouldn't work. We were on the 3rd floor. We went back and forth a couple of times and the desk clerk came up with me the 2nd time and brought different keys to a different room. It was 2AM. The next day everything went great. Saturday came around, we go ready and left, when we came back from a day at the beach our keys didn't work again. We waiting around outside our room for over an hour without being able to get into our room. We were told that engineering had to be contacted. That person finally came up where we were at and he eventually let us into the room. We finished out that evening with no room keys. We had to make sure someone in our party stayed in the room so we could get back in. The next morning as we went out for breakfast and checked out we told that our key situation hadn't been fixed yet. We won't be booking that hotel again. We didn't let it ruin our weekend but it was very inconvenient.
4 out of 5
by thomas from Minden NV

I'd stay here again.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Next to major freeway. Be prepared for traffic noise. Had a slight glitch in incidental billing but manager communicated well and solved problem.Access to adjoining sister property and guests have access to all amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Our stay was short but very comfortable. The beds were Goldilocks and so were the pillows. Our room was clean and had several towels available to use. I would recommend staying here if you're in need of a place to lay your head for a night or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
I checked in midnight. There's few parking spot. Other than that, no problem. Nice hotel.