Ratings based on 928 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't hesitate to stay here

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful. The location was great-within walking distance of many activities. The hall rugs and walls need some updating, but that is my only complaint. Shuttle service to/from airport was welcome since we did not rent a car. The breakfast had many healthy choices. This will be my go to hotel in San Dioikego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Choluteca

Practico, bien ubicado

Posted Sep 21, 2016
El servicio del Shuttle es excelente y una de las mejores opciones del hotel. Desayuno adecuado, el personal excelente. Las únicas quejas son las almohadas se sienten gastadas y deben mejorar las ventanas para boquear mejor el ruido y la luz de la ciudad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance of everything.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Could have skipped the car rental. Walked or rode the shuttle to everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Best customer service!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised by the very friendly and approachable yet professional staff. We normally stay at a Westin or Merriott when visiting San Diego but a last minute flight booking forced us to book this property due to availability. It was excellent. The rooms were very clean, spacious and the beds/ pillows super comfortable. It was great having a mini fridge, free wifi in room and a free full buffet breakfast! The other hotels don't offer this. Great pool and location. Highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

just for one night

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: the pillows and sheet are tired
I stayed for one night in my way to mexico, the hotel is ok, kind of tired, the location is very good by downtown and the breakfast and wifi for free
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for tasking the time to provide us with your feedback about you stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Parking was an additional $16 per day. Parking structure was tight and hard to turn. Do not drive a big car here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Went to go to the zoo. Nice and close to the zoo as well as many other things such as the gas lamp quarter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to zoo and Sea World

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The hotel is great, it includes breakfast which is very complete and vast. Only two minor issues: parking on the hotel building is very tight and the room bathroom is super small but functional. Other than that great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel close to Balboa Park

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The hotel is nice, the stuff is very welcoming. It is located in a local area and it takes 17mins to walk to the Balboa Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our staff at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego takes great pride in providing excellent customer service. My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Far from downtown area, restaurants, shopping.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Lots of homeless people in street around area. Good happy hour, free drinks, air conditioning broke in room. Would not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. On behalf of the Management team, I'd like to thoroughly apologize for not exceeding your expectations.