Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The staff for check-In and breakfast were excellent. Great customer service. The breakfast was excellent. The food service had a fast turnover & there was always a staff around saying goodmorning. The room was very small & had a few flaws. The parking stalls were small. But the staff overruled that & for that it was able to allow me to have a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel close to where family lives.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The entire property appeared clean, staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. House Keeping did a fantastic job with the rooms.
Cons: none.
Location: Location was great for my wife and I we have family nearby and we visit with them. Beaches were close by. Places to eat.
Check in was a breeze. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast area was organized, fresh, clean and all breakfast items was always full and complete. The lady that manage the breakfast was so into her work making it pleasant and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Juan Alarid, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the same hotel as the picture.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: There was nothing that I liked actually.
Cons: For one, update the pictures online and if nothing can be done about the claustrophobic room then at least do some updates.
Location: The location is good for those that want to be near fast food and other convenience stores but too close to peoples homes.
Very disappointed when we arrived to the hotel and it was not the same as the picture I had from the print out of the reservation. The room was clean but very small, everything was too crammed together for two adults and two children. The curtain also didn't close all the way. The hotel itself, outside of the room, was dingy looking. Was not what I expected at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Cons: The interior parking lot was way too small. I have a compact car and there was no way I could unload all my luggage while parked in those space.
Location: Sea World was about a 10 minute drive.
The lobby, rooms, hall, weight room, and breakfast room were all very clean. The beds were soft, rooms were decent sized. Breakfast was great. There were biscuits and gravy, sausage, cinnamon rolls, bagels, fruit, cereals oatmeal, eggs., juice. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with my family so close Sea World.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by gm.hixmb@excelhotelgroup.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am delighted that we were able to earn that great review. We strive to provide to all of our guests a clean, well kept hotel with exceptional customer service. I am delighted that we were able to do that for you. We hope that you will allow us to provide you with the same level of customer service on your next visit. Hospitably, Juan Alarid, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Good value

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff members
Cons: Improve pool area
Location: Good food in the area but most things of interest will require a short drive or Uber/Lyft/taxi.
Stayed here for four days in December and it was a nice little hotel with great staff. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they were clean and neat. The cheery young lady that checked us in was very helpful in suggesting destinations and restaurants. The manager (I presume he was the manager) caught us at breakfast to make sure all was good in our room and immediately attended to the minor issues we mentioned to him. The housekeeping staff were friendly and jovial as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by gm.hixmb@excelhotelgroup.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that the staff was able to provide the "Legendary" Service for which we are known. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is located just minutes away from San Diego's most famous attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Old Town. The Gaslamp District, La Jolla and Pacific Beaches to name a few. We hope to see you again soon! Juan Alarid, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Matress was very hard and the AC was very noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments so that they can take the time to follow up and correct those issues. I hope you will give us an opportunity when you come back down to San Diego to demonstrate the level of service that we typically provide to all of our guests. Hospitably, Juan Alarid, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and quiet despite the traffic.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Mostly the staff going beyond the norm to satisfy the guests and the cleanliness of the hotel.
Cons: Given the age of the building and the location and the wonderful staff, all was good.
Location: For the reasons we visited San Diego, it was fairly central to our requirements.
In spite of the noisy traffic location, the rooms were very quiet. Though the facility was an older building, the rooms were very clean, updated and comfortable. Wonderful experience with all the staff it this location. Each staff member there bent over backwards the please us and accommodate our requests. Our first breakfast there we arrived an hour past the dining area closing time as we misunderstood the late morning closures. The staff member in charge of breakfast serving invited us to have a seat and served us with existing meal items that she had already removed from the dining room. That was the example of the staff's goal to please the guests. Also, the cleaning staff folded towels in artistic fashion to represent some animal possibly beacuase Thanks giving was near. Very appealing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but noisey

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean but way smaller then other holiday inn expresses ive stayed at. The doors had a major gap that you could see the light and ppl walking through the hallway. All the doors just slam which made it a noisey stay, i even was awaken in my sleep by the room next to us slamming the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Clean and great breakfast.
Cons: The sides of the bathtub slop in and my bottles of soap and shampoo did not fit I had to put them in the bottom of the tub.
Location: Love the location close to the freeway, beach and Sea World. The original Rubios was two doors down.
Love the location close to the beach, Sea World and the freeway to get to any other area of San Diego. The hotel room was nice and clean. I like that I didn't have to pay for parking or any other amenities and the was a good breakfast every morning not just pastries.I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by gm.hixmb@excelhotelgroup.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. We are located just minutes away from San Diego's major attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, The World Famous San Diego Zoo and many more. We hope to see you again soon! Juan Alarid, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
friendly knowledgeable staff, and nice room for a business stay. Also really close to the beach, and great restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area. I am delighted that we were able to provide "The Legendary" Service for which we are known. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach is close to most of San Diego's major attractions. We hope to see you again soon! Juan Alarid, General Manager