Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calexico,ca

GREAT HOTEL TO SPEND THE WEEKEND

Posted Aug 25, 2015
HOTEL STAFF ITS REALLY NICE, ROOMS ARE EXTREMELY CLEAN AND CONFORTABLE, BREAKFAST IS AN A+, AND DURING AFTER NOON THEY AWAYS HAVE A SNACK PREPARED FOR YOU, WILL DEFINATELY RETURN TO THIS HOTEL IN THE FUTURE.
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

First time stay

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: None
Easy to find, directly off interstate, rooms great, breakfast decent, pool very small, parking lot limited.
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear the rooms are great. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Aug 17, 2015
The room suited my needs perfectly. Easy access to the highways. Excellent hotel staff.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear we have “excellent hotel staff”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located to major highways and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Great hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Had a great stay the only con if your booking through Expedia make sure it's a regular room. Booked early and due to we checked in late after the Chargers opening game, we were checked into a Wheelchair assistance room. It's was a great room but no furniture as shown when booking room! Buyer beware! !!
Comment from EPC
Aug 20, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear T, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pleasant stay, very good hotel. And nothing to comment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear we are a “very good hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Breakfast is OK, The banana is great. Parking space is little too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles Ca.

Good price and clean

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: helpfull staff
Cons: Not much at this price point
Location: Many places to eat 5 min by car. or a few by walking near by.
The hotel was not far from most places we went, a ten minute drive. You get a clean place and save a lot compare to other places. the free breakfast saves you at least $10 per person every morning . If you come back to hotel after 10 or 11 pm it can be hard to find a good parking spot close to entrance. I would tell a friend to stay here. If your not looking to spend $250 a night this place is a great value at about half that price. If your looking for ocean front stay some where else. If you want clean room with good bed, tv, a/c and newer looking furniture and a good amount of things for breakfast. My wife loved the machine they have that makes fresh pancakes in 1 minute. I would stay here again. Drive ten minutes and you can have a great meal with all the money you save at a restaurant in Little Italy Buon Appetito 609 India St San Diego, CA 92101 great Italy food and good service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is “a clean place”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

nice cozy hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
nice hotel close to some of my eating places, close to freeway 805 and easy access to san diego shore hotels and sightseeing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Rey, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear we are a “nice cozy hotel”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SD trip

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel was nice parking was a little tight at times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear “the hotel was nice”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

What You Would Expect

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Mattresses could definitely be upgraded. Make the fire alarm a little more difficult to get to for kids.
Location: There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance and strip malls right down the street with the usual fast food/drugstore/groceries/Starbucks
It was not the Ritz Carlton but neither was it the Motel 6, it was the in between Holiday Inn Express. As such, if you have ever stayed at one you know what to expect. Staff was very pleasant even when some prankster pulled the fire alarm that went on for a couple of hours. Seemed like they had been there before but since I had not we left until the crisis was over. Rooms were clean and morning breakfast was decent. Walls were thin but the guests the three nights we stayed were well behaved. Its location in National City made it far less expensive than comparable hotels in San Diego and San Diego was just a short trolley ride or an Uber/Lyft cab away. $5 will get you a day's ride on all the trolleys. Riding around the city by trolley was much less stressful than driving in the traffic and trying to find a place to park at a high price parking garage. Green line takes you right to Petco field in about 10 minutes but the trolley station is a minimum Uber/Lyft fare away from the hotel. Lots of good eats and booze in the Gaslamp Quarter around the park. Have fun but don't drive. We did SeaWorld the next day and it did not disappoint. Buy discount tickets online and all day eats and save big. We easily saved more than $70 for two people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City. We are thrilled to hear the “rooms were clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego South National City.