Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel near beach and my son!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very fast check in, clean nice room near a great patio. The only small issue was clearly no weather strip around the entry door and 1/4 inch of daylight coming through. Didn't see any bugs thank goodness. The other was the bathroom was extremely small without an exhaust fan.......Not great. Could get the room steamy and smelly!! The pool area was awesome and very clean as was the breakfast dining room. The food was delicious, fresh and kept immaculate....And perfect temperature. Over all very happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Todd Husted , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your candid review. We are addressing the weather stripping immediately, thank you for letting us know. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and guest service, I'm happy that it enhanced your stay. We hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Exceptional staff from Lori & Lanie @ the desk who offered personal & professional repor to Junaita with Kitchen staff who provided nice display of breakfast choices with a personal touch. Rooms were very nice. Location to this community was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Todd Husted, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. Lori Ann, Lanie, and Juanita are all absolute assets to our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel 3 blocks from a very nice beach.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: see above
Location: Walk to a lovely beach to watch the surfers or play in the waves. Shops and restaurants a short drive away.
This is an economical option in an expensive town. Nice pool and hot tub and decent complimentary breakfast. Very pleasant staff and clean rooms. Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you are at all sensitive to traffic noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Todd Husted - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review! We really do relish our location in La Jolla and our proximity to all the shops and restaurants. We truly hope you come back to visit us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, United States of America

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This was a great hotel! We will definitely stay there again when in the area. The hotel has a real eclectic feel which added to the ambiance! What really made the hotel special was the staff. Everyone we met couldn't have been nicer, they treated our entire group like VIP's. Due to flight complications we arrived much later than expected and the staff were waiting for us with our rooms/keys all ready. The location worked perfect for us. It's not far from the airport and was close to the zoo, safari park and Sea World. It was also a short walk to the beach. We loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Dirty Room

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff was nice, but the room was really dirty. I found candy wrap on the floor and underneath my bed. Towels and sheets were worn out. The pillows
Location: The beach was close.
Staff was nice, but the room was really dirty. I found candy wrap on the floor and underneath my bed. Towels and sheets were worn out. The pillows were disgusting. I wont stay here again and wont recommend it to anybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very close to a terrific beach!!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
- nice, welcoming staff that took care of us at entry - complimentary breakfast - pool and hot tub (nothing fancy, but nice to take a dip after a long day) - location is superb! two blocks away from a terrific beach - sand to play in, big waves breaking and surfers - rooms were nicely done, clean and well equiped
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel but hard to find

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hard to find since no sign, but owner said that is because of renovations. Good, clean room in a family neighborhood. As long as you have a car, no problem. Residential area, so very quiet without much around it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upland ca.

holiday inn express (not this place)!!!!!!!!.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
The elevator was broken. The room was very small for the price paid. The breakfast was good. I would not recommend this hotel. It's still under construction. The registration room is in a very tight little room that can only fit a couple of people.. also it seems that this is a very old building that they are trying to update.and when you use the vending machines there is no price on any items in the machine so you don't know what the prices are. I think the management really needs to think about how they are running this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad

Nice to place to crash for 1 night.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a retirement party up the hill 2-3 miles away, nice place to stay just to crash for night, free parking, wifi and breakfast made it nice. They are almost done with a renovation, room was clean, fresh and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels