Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Stay

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The bar and restaurant are surprisingly good. Their cocktails and wine list are delightful.
The main building, with the lobby, is great. The lobby and rooms are modern and nice. The other buildings have older motel-like rooms and are not as great. During our stay, somebody in the building pulled the fire alarm and the whole building had to be evacuated at 6:00am in the morning from the building. It was a false alarm. It was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thank you so much for your review. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant and bar - I will sure to pass the information to our Chef and Restaurant Manager. I am so sorry that during your stay a prankster decided to bother and inconvenience the hotel guests, employees and the brave firefighters of San Diego. It is a shame that a person can do that and again I'm sorry it happened. I hope that you can stay with us again during a future visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnighter

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Nice, clean room. Spacious and great view. Staff was courteous
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Not for the price i pay for focused on beth tube did not work
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for your review. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and you encountered a problem. We hope that you can give us another chance when your travel brings you back to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room

Posted Jan 28, 2017
This hotel is clean and the service staff is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth

Much Better Options for Same Money

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the secure parking, but if you are pulling a trailer, I'm not sure where you would park it. Parking was very tight.
Location: Several good seafood restaurants within a few miles, but nothing within walking distance.
The hotel restaurant was not open due to low occupancy rates, but you could order food from the attached bar. I got a simple ($16) hamburger from the bar and it was so dry/overcooked I couldn't eat it. There is nothing else within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear Pat-n-TX: Thank you so much for posting your review and letting us know of your experience. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I am passing the information about the hamburger to our Chef and our Restaurant Manager so they can make the necessary corrections. I am so sorry that you were not informed of the restaurants within walking distance when there's quite a few of them on Shelter Island as well as Liberty Station. About the parking, there are actually a lot of trailers that park in our hotel due to convention or meetings and we never have any problems with it. We sincerely hope that you will give our hotel another chance and stay with us in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice staff, clean room

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Clean and appreciated the shuttle
Cons: Access to the pool and front desk from building B took quite a while. Local restraurant information in rooms would be nice. Only had info for onsite.
Location: Quick access to MCRD, USS Midway and some areas of interest. No family restraurants within walking distance.
Our stay was comfortable and clean. The shuttle for MCRD was so appreciated!!! There was no microwave in the room which would have been nice since there is no continental breakfast or discounts for the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel refinished

Posted Sep 12, 2016
A/C is loud. There was a scissors bug under the bed sheets.toilet bowl flushed super slow and had to hold for 5-6seconds per flush. Shower head was loose. Jacuzzi was oily and dirty. Pool had Lots of debris on deep end. Had end room where entrance to grassy area and was loud as other tenants open and closed gate. Wall paper was coming unglued from walls and room smelled musty
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. I am so sorry about the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I passed on the information to our Maintenance Department so they can look at all the items you mentioned in your review. I know that we cannot change what happened in the past but we sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity to showcase our property during your next visit to San Diego. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Here for my 3 year olds birthday. Took him to the zoo and seaworld. All in all it was a good experience, just tiring. It was me, my fiancé, my grandma, and 2 kids. Very nice hotel. Very nice staff. Our fridge was out and they sent someone up right away. Very quiet. Nice pool area. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear Ally: Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad that you enjoyed celebrating your 3 year olds birthday. I'm sorry to hear about the refrigerator but it's good to know that it was resolved right away. We hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Bayside again. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We love the location and the amenities.
Cons: The hotel is starting to show signs of its age.
Location: Close to the bay, Seaport Village, USS Midway, beaches, downtown San Diego, Little Italy and more.
We have stayed at this hotel more than once and always have a great experience. It's close to all that San Diego has to offer, plus it is quiet with a great pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. We were delighted to have you as our guest and we hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yuma az

car troubles!!!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Had to find a hotel close to a BMW dealership and this works for me. It is on the water and is absolutely beautiful.. Close to everything including downtown gaslamp district. But point Loma café is incredible. The food is wonderful. The bartenders were very nice for happy hour. Overall it was a very pleasant experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by rhinna, Hotel Management
Dear jet setter: Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad that we have lived up to the standards we strive to maintain. We were delighted to have been your choice for accommodations in San Diego during your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Sincerely, Rhinna B Meyer - Rooms Division Manager