Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The Grand Dame of the southwest.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: 1500 Ocean Restaurant was exceptional. Staff was friendly and helpful, Location is unbeatable.
Cons: Ask the Navy to stop flying to North Island! :-) The only problem was the noise of the Naval aircraft flying along the coast to neighboring base
Location: The town of Coronado has plenty of shops. The Pacific coast is right there and Coronado has one of the top beaches in the country.
I've lived in San Diego for most of my life but never stayed in the Del. Our stay was excellent in every way, from the greeting in the dark wood lobby to our departure at the valet parking. Having a drink on at an ocean front bar with the sound of the Pacific pounding on the shore was special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, It was a pleasure to read your review. From the glistening sands of Del Beach to the exceptional cuisine at 1500 Ocean, it sounds as though your visit to The Del was nothing short of extraordinary. With its inspiring beachfront setting, 1500 Ocean offers guests a memorable dining experience featuring some of the area’s freshest local ingredients. It was a pleasure having you at our seaside resort and we look forward to creating many more memories with you in the future. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longwood, Florida

Beautiful, historic hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Great Location, Beautiful Architecture, Great Food.
Cons: Check in could be more efficient. The common areas of the Hotel need to be updated, specifically in the guest room towers.
Location: We visited the San Diego Zoo, it was a 15 minute car ride away.
We were in town for only one night. We enjoyed the room, hotel staff, restaurants and mores on the beach. The only negative was the time spent checking in. It took nearly 15 minutes per party to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with us. We are pleased to discover that you enjoyed our convenient Coronado location and the historic charm of our Victorian building. However, we apologize for the unusual delay that you encountered during your check-in. We appreciate you mentioning this, as your comments will assist us in offering an enhanced experienced for our guests. It was a pleasure having you at The Del and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego County

Day Tripper Destination, Not for Hotel Guests

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The woodwork in the lobby is beautiful, the location is wonderful.
Cons: Until hotel management reallocates some of the resort for guests paying to use the resort, there is no point staying at the hotel.
The Hotel Del Coronado seems to cater more to daytime visitors than to hotel guests paying $400-$500 per night to stay in their hotel. Hotel staff were not rude, but indifferent and going through the motions....definitely not service oriented. Restaurants were jammed with day trippers, such that we had to leave the hotel so we could eat a meal...ridiculous! The hotel had lots of activities to sell to day trippers as well as guests, from crafts for children in the courtyard to ice skating, again, drawing scores of day trippers. Upon checking into our room, the TV was on playing one of their hotel commercials, so we tried to find the remote to turn the TV off and finally found it under the bed, with some garbage from the previous guests. Flapper on the toilet kept getting caught, causing the toilet to run and not be able to flush, so had to take the the top off the toilet to fix the flapper. Children ran up and down the wide halls yelling and screaming in the evening and the morning. Pool was packed with no lounge chairs available. Furniture in the hall outside the ballroom was badly stained and had holes in the upholstery...did not want to sit on it. Very disappointed in our stay. In the future, will stay elsewhere for 1/2 the cost and just make a day trip to look at the beautiful lobby and jostle with the other day trippers for my chance at $28 french fries at the Sun Deck Bar. Despite being a resort, our stay felt more like a test of endurance, not enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Nostalgic Charm

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The overall ambiance and the friendly staff, from the reception people to room attendants and valet parking attendants.
Cons: The room rates and Buffet costs could have been less expensive. But I guess you get what you pay for. Definitely a special occasion hotel.
Location: Lots of in Hotel shops. On the ocean with a big beautiful sand beach. Down town Coronado within walking distance with anything you would want.
We stayed in the Victorian section of the hotel with the old style woodwork and cage type elevator with the human operator. The staff was more than friendly and very accommodating for our handicapped Dachshund. The Crown Room Christmas Eve Buffet was spectacular, as was the Shearwater Restaurant Breakfast Buffet. They also had an outdoor ice skating rink set up on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It was a pleasure having you and your four-legged friend with us for a memorable Christmas Eve. The elegant accommodations in our Victorian Building blend casual sophistication with seaside charm that allows for a stay like no other. It was a pleasure having you at The Del and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Holiday at the beach

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Staff. Alex the bell hop was special Armondo in the Sheerwater restaurant was exceptional and almost a reason to come back!
Cons: no
Location: see above
Everything was just as you would want it to be. Nicely done for the holidays. An ice skating rink on the beach. Awesome Good selection of restaurants in hotel and walking distance
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Artb, We appreciate your review. Alex and Armondo will be delighted to hear of your praises. From enjoying the seasonal cuisine at Sheerwater to discovering the holiday lights and decorations, it sounds as though your experience at The Del was truly unforgettable. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to your return. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Chritmas celebrations

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: I like the charm of the old character of the hotel.
Location: Nice restaurants around.
Nice and charming environment, delicious food but pretty expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing such a kind review. With seven seaside dining options to choose from, experiencing the flavors of the coast has never been more convenient. We enjoyed having you at The Del and look forward to creating many more memories with you. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Old but great historic hotel was no surprise. The location was special and hard to compare to any where on earth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review. Our proximity to downtown San Diego allows our guests to enjoy an afternoon enjoying the stops and shops of the picturesque city. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel... for somebody else

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Historic hotel, so I expected old, quaint, nice touches. Check. But then also because it's so old the hallways have that old musty smell, and the guest rooms were even worse. Opened windows for hours but that didn't really help, so we had to just get used to it. Trims were worn and old, carpeting lifted at corners. Would've been nice just to visit though. Beautiful and grand. Just crazy expensive. so if you're into historic places and accept all that's tied to it, and have plenty of discretionary income then you'd love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Andre Zotoff, Hotel Management
Dear Derrik, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the treasured history of The Del, it is a concern that you found certain aspects of our hotel to be dated. Our accommodations have been upgraded and modernized to fit the needs of our guests. We recommend a stay in our Ocean Towers for guests that are seeking spacious and contemporary accommodations. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future visit. Sincerely, Andre Zotoff General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

We wanted to stay in this historic hotel once.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: the history and location
Cons: not sure
Location: We walked the beach and the town; never took the car out of the very expensive parking lot. Found new stores (loved the bookstore) and restaurants.
We knew staying at Hotel Del would be expensive, but several of the charges seemed over the top...especially when all the added assessments are included. Our room had only one chair so we moved the balcony furniture in so we could sit with a table and watch tv and have snacks. My wife's key card failed and when she went to the front desk to get it replaced, she was told the room wasn't registered to her and they couldn't give her a new key. With so much concern about security, then whey did they tell her the name of the registered guest? Dumb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalama, United States of America

Welcome to the Old Marriott!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room description are misleading
Location: Eat outside the Del-you will have better food. Also, check out the Emerald C Gallery.
We booked an ocean view room, not realizing it would in another building and not actually located in the Hotel del Coronado building. Our room was located in an old Marriott building near the hotel. The room was spacious, but did have a lot of dust in the bathroom, which also didn't have a fan making it VERY hot after showering. The shower curtain also had mold on it. The beds were comfortable. The dining at the hotel is very expensive and we spent $25 on a burger at the Sun Deck, which came with frozen fries and very little flavor for the burger. The food is pretty disappointing. Count on $20 at least for each entrée, and alcohol drinks at $20 a piece. There were many events going on while we were there making it a great place for people watching. All the staff were very nice, in fact, everyone on Coronado was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by A, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, We appreciate your review and apologize that your room did not meet expectations. If you are ever dissatisfied with your accommodations, please let one of our associates know so that we can solve the problem upfront. You deserve the stay you expect as a guest of ours. Thank you, and we hope to see you again soon.