Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Hotel is mediocre

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The hotel is outdated and there is no drawers for clothes. It's only two chairs where you can put your clothes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was nice

Posted Aug 21, 2016
One thing I've never experienced was the staff checked the room before we checked out. Like we weren't trusted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Nice hote it is close to the gas lamp district, la Jolla, the zoo and safari. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The towels for the pool are too small for even a child and were never stocked by the pool area. No gym or breakfast and surrounding hotels are comparable in price and offer these amenities. The design of the room was unique and fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Nice Hotel very good size beds clean and very helpful staff I will recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Aug 6, 2016
I don't understand the bad reviews. My family & I would stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Stephanie Downs , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you be our guest again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Terrible hotel, but the night staff were friendly

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Leaving to go home.
Cons: Make it VERY clear if I cannot have a 100% refund on a cancellation. I had to pay full price when trying to cancel the booking 2 months in advance.
Location: Nothing, construction prevented us from enjoying San Diego. Hotel Iris didn't even bother to tell us that we couldn't get a wheelchair in our room.
Somehow, I booked this hotel by mistake and even though I called both Expedia and Hotel Iris within an hour of the mistake I was unable to cancel the reservation. Even though Expedia's page showed that both Expedia and Hotel Iris had a 100% refund policy I was NEVER warned about any 'blackout dates' that over ruled that refund policy. I tried contacting management about this, but they never returned any of my emails or phone calls, and cancelling the reservation would still 100% the price of the reservation. Furthermore, I would be charged a late fee if I didn't check in on time, so I was forced to physically go there and stay. The rooms were horrible. There was paint peeling in the bathroom, the beds were incredibly stiff, there was no room service, the location was awful, and the television didn't work properly. Also, management couldn't even get us the handicap room so my mother was unable to shower as they did not have polls in the bath to allow her to keep herself up. Absolutely the worst and most expensive experience of my life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa AZ

Easy access from I-8 and I-5

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Recently remodeled.
Cons: Toilet not secured to floor and rocks back and forth. Check TV remote to make sure it's working properly (remote wouldn't change channels).
Location: Easy access from I-8, the 163, and I-5. Located on east end of Hotel Circle South and can also be accessed from Old Town via Taylor or Bachman St.
Room was clean and quiet. We were on the ground floor and could hear very little foot traffic above us. Did not hear any water running, talking, or TV from neighboring rooms. The king bed was firm and very comfortable. A/C kept the room at a nice even temp. We were there 3 nights - Tue Wed Thur end of July. All rooms seemed to be occupied. Parking is very limited but each car is given a ticket to display and we always found a spot to park. We don't stay in 5 star hotels so we don't expect to be pampered, coddled, and catered to. Compared to other hotels we typically stay in, this one was a nice place to stay - including the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Stephanie Downs , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Served it's purpose. We slept comfortably. Our priority was the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Stephanie Downs , Hotel Management
Thank you, we hope you have the opportunity to be our guest again in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Sea World and San Diego zoo.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Good hotel for the price. Didn't like that there wasn't designated parking. Worried about where I had to park my car. There was a mix up about my room reservation but it was taken care of promptly. The afternoon and night staff at the lobby was the friendliest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , close to seaworld

Posted Jul 13, 2016
From the get go , my experience was very pleasent , fast check in, we where upgraded to a bigeer room (wich was very, very nice!), you could Tell that they had remodel the rooms recently, beds where very comfortable , clean restroom, the carpet could have being a little bit cleaner, but it was ok.. unfortunately, they don't have access to computers and printers.. over all it was good .