Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The hotel is modest, clean & comfortable. The staff was wonderful. I was having my condo tented for termites. I posted the Hotel Iris to the community website as a good place to stay and very good prices. Thank you to the staff at the front desk and the housekeeping staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Jenna R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review and for recommending us. We do get a lot of San Diego residents who stay with us for various reasons. We look forward to you and any of the other residents in your community staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Instalaciones cómodas

Posted Nov 23, 2016
El hotel es OK El inconveniente fue que no respetaron la reservación que ya había echo en Expedía y tardaron mucho en resolver y darnos la habitación que había pedido.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel has an old motel 6 feel. The pool is very small like a backyard pool. The ice machine is at the pool as well. The best part is the tub
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have dressed up our older hotel to create a friendly, laid back, kind of "hip" environment. We hope you enjoyed the new look. The ice machine is at the pool so you can keep your drinks chilled while taking a relaxing swim. I'm glad you enjoyed the hot tub. Come back and see us again soon..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I would recommend this to any of my family members. The location was real close to the beach super friendly and minutes away from anywhere you want to go
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your "5" rating of our property. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location. There is so much to do in San Diego and we are centrally located to it all. And our mid 70 degree weather in November is another bonus!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L San Diego

Renovated to a nice look

Posted Oct 26, 2016
I love what they did 2 this former Vagabond Hotel. I wish they would serve breakfast!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to everything

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Love staying here for the price and location it is very close to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

he new & improved Hotel Iris

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: I love the new renovation & decor of Hotel Irus . The pool is very ckean
Cons: It didn't offer breakfast & didn't have a jacuzzi
Location: Golf, Fashion Valley Mall & Sea World
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very upset

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Close to the Qualcom stadium
So, I smoke, I asked if there was a smoking room and there wasn't, so when I'd smoke I'd either go around the corner or a couple feet away from my room........ Still got charged a smoking fee of $100!! Very upset, probly never go again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel but horrible experience NEVER AGAIN

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Price, location, comfort for the price. Breakfast was ok and sufficient to get us by.
Cons: Customer Service is terrible. No consideration for customer. All this needs to be improved. Also, don't CHARGE your customer false charges.
Location: Fun parks and food are close by.
We stayed at the Vagabond for a few days. Used their pool a little and hot tub. Most of the day we were out at the fun parks. The nightmare started the last day after check out. We couldn't find our 2nd cell phone and didn't know where we lost it so assumed most likely left it in the room. Well, we spent the day at the park and found a missed call from the motel so we assumed they found the phone. Kept trying to get a hold of someone but no use. By that time we were in the car waiting to travel to Los Angeles with no return. So kept calling then got a hold of someone who said he'll check and call back. Waited an hour, called again, explained we are literally just sitting in the car waiting with tired hungry children. He said he'd call back but never happened. We left after another hour. Well, the following day we found the phone in our luggage. However, didn't know why Vagabond tried calling us and were very upset at how much of our time they wasted and never called to call back. Very inconsiderate of them. After returning home and getting the credit card bill we were shocked to see an additional charge of $75 or something like that, can't remember the exact amount but the claim was a Pet fee. We didn't have a pet, never owned one, and never will. We tried calling the motel over and over but no use and no one would return our calls. Finally filed a complaint through our credit card and it was reversed. We actually had left a big tip on the bed!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It was an okay Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Hotel location is a bit problematic as you have to get on highway for everything. So is all other hotels near to it in Hotel circle.
Amenties are fine but should have option for a rollaway bed