Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel. Just have to pay extra for everything

Posted May 22, 2017
Ok. Had to pay for breakfast,wifi which usually you get that free
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

A visit to paradise, nothing negative to say.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: My favorite was the beauty all around me. Hummingbirds to hawks, palm trees to flowers. Sounds to silence. All were better than I expected.
Cons: They need a shuttle to and fro the airport. For what you pay, I think that should have been included, even if for reasonable fee.
Location: Perfect, I was within walking distance to my daughter's house. Convenience stores on the corner. Centrally located for attractions.
The best vacation of my life. The staff, location, amenities, dining, landscape, were wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Checking in was a breeze. The staff was overly welcoming! Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were updated modern and clean. We loved the big showers and plenty of space. The rooms are big and clean. We only stayed for one night but would definitely come stay again and recommend to our friends and family! Super close to the San Diego safari park. It only took us about 10 minutes to drive there from the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mother's Day surprise

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Nice hotel, But felt like I was in a bird aviary. Every morning and early evening bird chirping. Super loud seemed to be a nest close to the room. Other then that the staff was great and the cookies were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Air conditioner is old and too noisy. Insufficient closet design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
I came in to this hotel knowing nothing about it but reviews from other people. I must say, I am very impressed with everything they have. It is newly renovated & everything about this hotel is wonderful. From the outside, it looks like condominiums but when you walk in, the rooms are so big & very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Quiet

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Maintenance and housekeeping
Location: Great location for quiet relaxation but near to many shops, restaurants and a short drive to San Diego
Located in a quiet residential area about 30 minutes from downtown San Diego. Golf resort with plenty of amenities, and located close to shopping and plenty of good restaurants. Pluses: Quiet, convenient, lovely grounds, great staff. Cons: Smelly hot water (sulphur smell); cleaning of room is lacking. I had to wash the back of the entry door because it was filthy. One window that looked over the entry pathway was caked in dirt, dead bugs and dirty windows and screens, it clearly had not been cleaned in a VERY long time. Shower had rust running down the wall from the grab bar. According to staff the property had just undergone a $15million reno, and while it was evident in the common areas such as the lobby, business centre and lounge, it was clearly lacking in the guest rooms which I find is quite a frequent occurrence in hotels. Maintenance and Housekeeping need to step up there game here, while it is a large property with many rooms and separate buildings it is really off putting to have cleanliness issues when you are in a room that is not up to par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
My husband, my daughter, and myself stayed at Hotel Karlan for 6 nights. We had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful, and if some little thing was out of place, they made sure to give you more. Price was very reasonable for the area. Rooms are a good size, nice modern taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious Rooms

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The rooms are a nice size. Includes coffee machine and refrigerator. A microwave would have been nice. Most of the staff was nice and accommodating. I would patronize this hotel again. Oh and the free warm cookies are the bomb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Nice hotel accommodations

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: Only suggestion is clean grout a little better in bathrooms but it was still clean.
Location: Near nice restaurants and shopping strip malls.
The room was nice, private, and comfortable. We enjoyed eating at local small cafes and specialty stores.