Ratings based on 1,143 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nasty

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The staff at the hotel was friendly enough, but the housekeeping staff need to be fired. The room was always nasty. I was there for a long time and there were days that the room looked like my 8 year old cleaned. Not sure I would stay again for that reason alone. The room was large, and bright with a balcony. The location was perfect for visiting friends in PQ. Honestly the maid service needs training or something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Great service and spacious rooms. Accommodated for a late checkout which made a big difference in travel plans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Jesus , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back, we are Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us we look forward to seeing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My room with 2 beds didn't have a bayhtub.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Although the showering space waa super spacious, i don't get the concept. We were there for vacation and relaxing tub is a must for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Interesting maze

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Very nice pool and hot tub. Grounds were beautiful. Room was very spacious and clean; included a patio. Food menu looks delicious; expensive.
Cons: Upon check-in we should have been given a map or had an employee escorted us to our room to show us the best way to get there. Elevator?
Very nice and only about 22 minutes from the airport. We did have difficulty finding an elevator to access our room, especially with luggage. Had to use a couple of flights of stairs to get to our room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: HOUSEKEEPING AND MONITORING THEREOF.
We checked in late and there was no soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, coffee or coffee cups. Someone had laid on one of the beds and used a pillow to prop their legs up and left their cookie trash on the night stand. Their head and leg indentations were left on the pillows We suspected it was housekeeping, and we were too tired. Just used one of the queens. Gross.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel that is centrally located

Posted Jun 9, 2017
My stay at Hotel Karlan was an extremely pleasant one. It's situated in a convenient location right off of I-15 N. I found a number of destinations in SD to be about 20 minutes away from this hotel which is not too bad considering the layout of CA. The hotel itself is extremely clean and believe me; I'm extremely picky with cleanliness. The room was spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the grounds. I especially loved the extra large shower (you can literally fit 4 normal sized people in there) and the bed. The mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable. Customer service was excellent. Evelyn cleaned our room during our stay and did an excellent job. She was very detail oriented. Also, anything that I requested such as extra towels or shampoo was immediately taken care of. For anyone that is disabled, I would call the hotel first to check into the accommodations, as it appeared to be not too handicapped friendly. There are some steps that you will have to climb that could potentially become a hindrance. Other than that, the grounds are beautiful and serene. They also have a lovely restaurant that I dined at twice called the Asada Grill which is about a 5-minute walk from the main lobby. The front desk was helpful and friendly and provided the most delicious warm cookies – chocolate chip with walnuts. If I ever go back to SD in the future, I will definitely be staying at Hotel Karlan - no question.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel. Just have to pay extra for everything

Posted May 22, 2017
Ok. Had to pay for breakfast,wifi which usually you get that free
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

A visit to paradise, nothing negative to say.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: My favorite was the beauty all around me. Hummingbirds to hawks, palm trees to flowers. Sounds to silence. All were better than I expected.
Cons: They need a shuttle to and fro the airport. For what you pay, I think that should have been included, even if for reasonable fee.
Location: Perfect, I was within walking distance to my daughter's house. Convenience stores on the corner. Centrally located for attractions.
The best vacation of my life. The staff, location, amenities, dining, landscape, were wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Checking in was a breeze. The staff was overly welcoming! Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were updated modern and clean. We loved the big showers and plenty of space. The rooms are big and clean. We only stayed for one night but would definitely come stay again and recommend to our friends and family! Super close to the San Diego safari park. It only took us about 10 minutes to drive there from the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mother's Day surprise

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Nice hotel, But felt like I was in a bird aviary. Every morning and early evening bird chirping. Super loud seemed to be a nest close to the room. Other then that the staff was great and the cookies were excellent.