Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but wasn't what we thought

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We booked this room for a music festival 3 night stay. The images etc made it seem very luxurious. We didn't get the room we booked, we asked for king but got two double beds. They comped us one breakfast. There were really bad ants in our bathroom. Pillows were too soft. We had quite a hike from parking to the room when you get home late after 14 hours of standing the last thing you want to do is hike up a hill and a flight of stairs to your room, not to sound lazy but it's supposed to be a time to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitowoc, WI

Nice hotel with spacious rooms!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms.
Cons: Check-in process took a long time because housekeeping was behind. Staff was very friendly though.
Location: About 25 minutes from the city and not on the highway which was nice for noise.
I got a nice rate on Expedia for the Hotel Karlan. I was surprised how spacious the rooms were for a great price. Our room was very clean with a nice size bathroom. Staff was friendly and housekeeping did an excellent job. I would definitely go back if ever in the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Running Springs, CA

The hotel is lovely but parking so far away !

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Having to haul our luggage over steps to get to our room was awful. The baggage carts don't go up & down steps!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Very Nice

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: Cigarette smoke from people smoking on their adjacent room balconies drifting into our room. I had to shut the balcony door to keep the smoke out.
Location: Nice quiet walking. Lots of stores and restaurants in the vicinity.
Everything about the room was nice. Clean, Quiet. Fast Internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego California

ok

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: good setting good staff
Cons: daily room cleaning
Location: good nearby locations
They dont clean room unless you ask them,not cool.Rooms should be cleaned daily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Hotel next to the the freeway and shopping

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Great service
My experience was great front desk were very helpful and kind. My 2 year old son was playing in the lobby while checking in and were very respectful to him.I would stay here again when i visit san diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Lovely staff and lovely room

Posted Sep 4, 2017
My room met all my expectations. The staff was really nice abs accommodating. Love the complimentary cookies!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We loved this hotel! The room is spacious & the pool area is relaxing & beautiful!! We had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Great atmosphere great location highly recommended

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Customer service rowaa, she was a great host made our check in easy , the Location is convenient and close to major attractions and hwy , room was very specious and comfortable.highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time at this hotel and loved it!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This will be our new spot to stay at when in SD! The room was great and we loved everything about it.