Ratings based on 1,229 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good concept -- Poorly Implemented

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Design of the lobby and location.
Cons: The linens and they way they make the bed is ridiculous. You sit on it, the sheet moves and you are on the mattress itself. Pillows horrible.
Staff was wonderful but terribly disappointed with hotel! Beds uncomfortable, sheets wouldn't tuck in so sleeping in a mess all night, pillows the size of a postage stamp, very noisy rooms. Design concept could have been good but poorly executed. Good location but not worth the money. Construction scaffolds covered our balcony, staff said they couldn't move us. Would never recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Noisy, bad beds, with few of the usual perks.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
You have to pay $35 per day to park. No free parking. The beds are platform beds low to the floor, very uncomfortable. The rooms are extremely noisy. They even put ear plugs by your bed. No soundproofing at all. And there is no business center where you can print your boarding pass. No hot tub. The staff is very sweet and apologetic, but nothing they can do. Good location though. The rooms are clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short, not sweet

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This did NOT feel like a Hilton. Uncomfortable bed, very intrusive traffic noise, and dirty to boot. Pool bar not open as advertised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service, don't get what you paid for

Posted Mar 19, 2017
After a long 12 hour drive and booking a king suite at Hilton a month a head they would keep the reservation you booked but instead are put into a different room and 2 queen beds. I paid for a king and felt ripped off on top of the outrageous parking price. I'll be staying with Marriotts
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room...basement- view of a wall...

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: the wall outside was delightful, ballet parking was $35 a night!!!
I booked this hotel hoping for a view of the ocean...I was given a room on the ground floor, next to the elevator, and next to a room that was being used by staff. I had complimentary ear buds, which I thought was odd...but the room was so darn noisy- tile floor outside and constant noise. The room was an accessibility room, and as such the floor was tilled, and a hazard to get out of the shower which was huge and had no way of stopping water pouring onto the tiles. The room also had a view of the carpark wall...excellent...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, renovated hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The ambience, the staff, the food, the location.
Cons: Not sure.
Check-in was great, the staff were all super friendly, the hotel has been completely renovated and the rooms were nice. There was a see-through shower, but there's a privacy shade. There is a gas station, Subway and Starbucks by the property and a strip of shops and restaurants, etc. all within walking distance. The aquarium is about 20 minutes away (walking) which we did and never felt unsafe. Their restaurant is located on the 11th floor and has the most incredible panoramic view of the ocean and some of the best food I've ever had! I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

like the location, has potential

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Views from ocean view rooms are nice. Showers are nice.
Cons: Front desk staff was not that friendly or attentive. Small things could be improved, like quality of linens and bath products.
I like the la jolla shores location, a fairly quick walk to the beach. I had stayed here before when it was a Kimpton, and liked it better then. Parking rate is high, also charge for internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mostly just inconvenient

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The rooms were good, clean, and good for the entire stay. Got the ocean view room and that was great. Staff were friendly. House keeping was good. Cons: Room service only starts at 5 PM. The lunch menu is limited. You are only given bottled water if you specifically ask for it at the check-in counter. Two small bottles per room and just the day you check-in, so we needed to stalk up on water from the nearby mart. Not within walking distance to anything really, so best if you're okay renting a car or with taxis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Kimpton to Hilton Change-over

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The valet team is one of the best...friendly, attentive, and always ready to assist.
Cons: Food and service in restaurant needs improvement. Took nearly 1 hour to receive appetizer that should have taken 15 mins to prepare/delivery to table.
Location: Great location..close to the beach, dinning, running path, Starbucks, etc.
We booked this hotel last year for a small company trip and then again this year (2016) and despite the change from a Kimpton property to a Hilton managed property found that with only a few small exceptions the experience was comparable to prior years. No daily happy hours, morning snacks, or robes and slippers in the rooms but same great views and service.