Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room...basement- view of a wall...

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: the wall outside was delightful, ballet parking was $35 a night!!!
I booked this hotel hoping for a view of the ocean...I was given a room on the ground floor, next to the elevator, and next to a room that was being used by staff. I had complimentary ear buds, which I thought was odd...but the room was so darn noisy- tile floor outside and constant noise. The room was an accessibility room, and as such the floor was tilled, and a hazard to get out of the shower which was huge and had no way of stopping water pouring onto the tiles. The room also had a view of the carpark wall...excellent...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, renovated hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The ambience, the staff, the food, the location.
Cons: Not sure.
Check-in was great, the staff were all super friendly, the hotel has been completely renovated and the rooms were nice. There was a see-through shower, but there's a privacy shade. There is a gas station, Subway and Starbucks by the property and a strip of shops and restaurants, etc. all within walking distance. The aquarium is about 20 minutes away (walking) which we did and never felt unsafe. Their restaurant is located on the 11th floor and has the most incredible panoramic view of the ocean and some of the best food I've ever had! I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

like the location, has potential

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Location. Views from ocean view rooms are nice. Showers are nice.
Cons: Front desk staff was not that friendly or attentive. Small things could be improved, like quality of linens and bath products.
I like the la jolla shores location, a fairly quick walk to the beach. I had stayed here before when it was a Kimpton, and liked it better then. Parking rate is high, also charge for internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mostly just inconvenient

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The rooms were good, clean, and good for the entire stay. Got the ocean view room and that was great. Staff were friendly. House keeping was good. Cons: Room service only starts at 5 PM. The lunch menu is limited. You are only given bottled water if you specifically ask for it at the check-in counter. Two small bottles per room and just the day you check-in, so we needed to stalk up on water from the nearby mart. Not within walking distance to anything really, so best if you're okay renting a car or with taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Kimpton to Hilton Change-over

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The valet team is one of the best...friendly, attentive, and always ready to assist.
Cons: Food and service in restaurant needs improvement. Took nearly 1 hour to receive appetizer that should have taken 15 mins to prepare/delivery to table.
Location: Great location..close to the beach, dinning, running path, Starbucks, etc.
We booked this hotel last year for a small company trip and then again this year (2016) and despite the change from a Kimpton property to a Hilton managed property found that with only a few small exceptions the experience was comparable to prior years. No daily happy hours, morning snacks, or robes and slippers in the rooms but same great views and service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The heater did not work , when we notified the service desk they send a maintance men with a portable heater that made noise all night we could not go to sleep ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
We had a great stay. The rooms are very beautiful - modern but cozy. The staff is very friendly. They only have valet parking but you can find parking spots on the streets nearby. The valet parking staff are friendly too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel, Excellent experience!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Our entire experience, starting with the staff, was excellent and made our stay great. They were friendly and accommodating. Our room was comfortable, clean and had a very nice ocean view. The food at the restaurant was unexpectedly amazing, also with a beautiful ocean view. We ate there for dinner and then ordered room service for breakfast, and both times the food was delicious and service was great. The pool area was small but nice and even on a Sunday of a holiday weekend there were enough sun bathing chairs. The bar area by the pool was also very nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely and would go back in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great views and stylish lobby. Outside area was very inviting.
Cons: It was great, no problems! Accommodations were great.
Location: Beach, cute town to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice for the price

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The location was great, easy drive to most places.
Cons: the valet parking was required and expensive, it was $32
Location: Great shopping and eating