Ratings based on 1,076 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Near beach, filthy, were given cleaning supplies

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: We were thrilled about the location so close to the beach, but no location is worth getting a dirty room and our situation was handled poorly.
Cons: The hotel is run poorly, our situation was handled so poorly, there is simply no redeeming from it. We cut our losses by shopping other options
Location: Staying by the beach is overrated when the service and quality are compromised. A car allowed us the ability to find suitable accommodations.
We arrived around midnight, very tired to an impressive romantic entrance lit by flames and a friendly valet who took our keys and welcomed us, we were welcomed by a front clerk and the lobby had a pitcher of cool water with glasses, this far it was lovely...all changed at our room, at the end of an aisle, next to a storage room, our bedroom had cobwebs and looked like no one had stayed there in quite a while, the panels above the bed were super dusty. It was bad. So we requested another room, but were told the hotel had no vacancies. So we requested to talk with the manager on site, we were told by the front office clerk that the manager was sleeping at this time. We requested house cleaning to come and clean our room. It was not going to be possible to do anything till tomorrow. We tried to be as understanding as possible, but we were not accommodated and our situation was handled badly. It was late, in the end, we were given cleaning supplies for us to clean our own room, for the rate of $279 a night. Very comical. We cut our losses, cancelled and stayed for $179 a night at the Marriott by the Regents Center. Best decision ever!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Canada

Très belle hôtel moderne près de la plage

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Les chambres, le lobby, la vue de notre balcon du jardin avant de l'hôtel.
Cons: Le petit déjeuner laisse à désirer en particulier si je le compare avec celui du Parc 55 de la même chaine (Hilton) à San Fransisco.
Location: Torrey Pines State Park, la plage à proximité. le sentier côtier entre le centre-ville de la Jolla et l'hôtel. Les restaurants et boutique
Magnifique hôtel moderne avec de grandes chambres et salles de bain. Personnel très chaleureux et attentionné.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
A lot of hidden cost but the overall experience was good. $13 per night for wifi.... We had to pay $35 a night just to park the car in the hotel parking lot.... TV broke twice while in 4 days. Modern room and very nice shower but no robes. Check in not til 4pm but check out at 11am. They knot on our door at 9am they day of check to see what time we were leaving... The restrauant on the 11th floor was very nice, the best views. I enjoyed the stay there but there were things I didn't like about the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara, Mexico

buena zona, hotel ruidoso

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: la zona
Cons: Poner vidrios antiruido porque esta sobre una avenida importante y se oye todo, no cobrar el estacionamiento al hospedarte en el hotel
Buena zona, habitaciones con ruido de la avenida por los carros que transitan en ella No nos gusto que aparte de pagar la estancia cobren estacionamiento dentro del mismo hotel El personal del bar es muy lento y falta mas personal para atender a las personas en la terraza y alberca
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Ok

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Hotel was nice. Had to ask for towels. Room were cleaned late in day. Came back from beach and no clean towels. Wifi cost extra, parking was $35/day to hand them my keys. No complimentary breakfast. Not a 4 star experience. Stayed at a Marriott last year, much better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, Ca

A Tast of La Jolla

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Very nice hotel, friendly stall and clean hotel. The only issue I had was that the room they gave me was a handi-cap room on the first floor. The room did not have the amenities that suited my needs. I am not sure if this is how they offer Expedia the discounted rate. I would be sure to ask before you book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, FL

Good location close to beach

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: AMENITIES, update/repair rooms
Location: Close to beach and activities like kayaking (recommend La Jolla Sea Caves) and surfing (recommend Surf Divas).
Room was average with some needed repairs, toiletries were sparse and of low quality, shower leaked through ceiling and we had to change rooms. Pool bar not open on a daily basis, closed on a few days when we were told it would be open and hours not posted anywhere. Thought WiFi was included with cost of room---it was not. CUSP restaurant was excellent with a beautiful view of La Jolla Shores. Hotel staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Valet/shuttle service very prompt and convenient. Overall a nice experience but could certainly improve on amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pleasant hotel with great views

Posted May 29, 2016
Location: The location was good. It's a short drive to the village where there are lots of cute shops and great restaurants.
I really enjoyed my stay here. I felt like I got a real bargain. The view was beautiful and the service was excellent. Try having a drink at sunset in the upstairs bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lhw

Overnight stay in hotel with ocean view

Posted May 25, 2016
Good room comfortable bed Room slightly cool. Good breakfast with professional staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Don't Do It!!!! HORRIBLE HOTEL

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: SERVICE Basic amenities, food options supporting travelers not the bankers hours the staff wish to observe. Eliminate ridiculous fees. WI FI
Location: Location is loud and remote. A very bad spot unless you are homeless camping.
HORRIBLE Hotel!. FEES FEES FEES FEES.... Ridiculous fees at every turn. $35 Valet fee? $15 Internet fee? Service was atrocious. We waited quite a bit to check in and clerk was brusque. She was more than blunt when I enquired about the internet fee. The Hostess in the resturant refused to seat us at 9:40pm even though they close at 11pm on a Saturday night and the place was almost empty. The in room dining closed about the same time. The next morning we went to the resturant for breakfast and again, received horrible service. 3 employees greeted us but did not seat us (1 waitress, the manager and another girl). No server came to the table for over 10 minutes and I had to go find one after bracing a busser. The manager had a major attitude and no customer service skills. The food was bad and way over priced. No real resturant alternate options nearby, the whole area closes early and nothing but a Starbucks within walking distance. No menu for the in room dining was provided. Did I mention the delivery fee and 20% gratuity for room service? Its embarrassing to have to resort to having Domino's deliver to a supposedly four star hotel, embarrassing for Hilton- really? A $229 a night Motel 6??? Shameful. The view from the 6th floor was mediocre at best. There are nearby hotels with better views and better service. It is also very noisey, traffic and the auto door closers slamming doors from other rooms is quite loud. Bottom line is: its an old hotel with horrible service