Ratings based on 2,503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best hotel in the Gaslamp district!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Excellent staff everyone is so accommodating, Great location in downtown San Diego, I highly recommend this hotel if your catching a game at Petco park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
This is the best review, Ricky! Thank you so much. Our location is hard to beat with over 100 bars, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. Come back and see us soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Good clean hotel in great location. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great reivew, Aidan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solomar Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The staff was attentive and friendly. I also liked the location and the 4th floor rooftop and pool.
Location: Nearby attractions include Safeco Field, the Midway Battleship, San Diego Zoo. The convention center is blocks away as is the transit stations.
Very convenient location with plenty of nearby restaurants and other tourist locations including,the San Diego Zoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review. It looks like you enjoyed so all that our location and great amenities offer. Hope to see you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of the touristy Gaslamp

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, good-size room, close to Petco Park and all roads (to airport, zoo, Coronado, etc). Comp coffee in the morning and lemonade in pm.
Cons: Cheaper parking. More monitoring of guest placement (see above) and nighttime entry/exit--many drinkers in the area so should monitor more at night.
Location: Petco Park, zoo, Balboa Park, Coronado Island, convention center
It's nice enough. Primary complaint was our room close to elevators and ice room. Drunken guests (or their friends) running and shouting through the halls (including an arrest right outside our room, not hotel fault). They should not place families near the elevators or ice rooms. Have never been so disturbed by others' behavior (and lost as much sleep). Dislike having dogs allowed. Much noise from the street so would recommend staying on higher levels. Restaurant far too expensive for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed our comfy beds and location! While we can't monitor where all 235 rooms are placed we do have security on that will alleviate any issues very quickly. Sorry about the issue you had with this. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Great hotel centrally located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Solamar was always our "go to" place...

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Location: Great location.
We have always appreciated the nice environment and service. However, our most recent stay was different. The hotel was remodeled and everything was texturized! wall paper everywhere, etc.. We liked that we knew what we were getting... Things change and so we most likely will look for a new place to stay the next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. Our new style is definitely fashion-forward and we do understand it may not be for everyone. Our look may change but our service never will and we hope that is what brings people back. Hopefully, you'll come back again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Great location for those that enjoy nightlife!

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location is great for those that want to take advantage of the active nightlife..close to lots of fun bars and restaurants
Cons: As discussed with the front desk manager already, a request for a larger shower chair in the ADA room with bathtub or roll-in shower would be great!
Location: Great access to freeways that will take you anywhere, TONS of fun bars and restaurants within walking distance
Enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Solamar this past weekend. Wish we could have enjoyed the surrounding bars and restaurants this visit, so will have to come back again to do just that. This hotel caters to the 'young professional', I am in my late 40's and felt a little 'old' for the active scene at times. Loved the afternoon wine and craft beer hour hosted by the hotel, and the pillows in the rooms were especially noteworthy. Kudos goes out to the Front Desk Manager, George, who handled a hiccup at checkin with grace and to the valet staff who are the hardest working people at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, Dawn. Glad you enjoyed our location and enjoyed all that the area has to offer. I'm glad George was able to remedy the hiccup quickly. We hope to see you back again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bergen County, NJ

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Very nice place with a very friendly staff in an excellent location. Did not need to rent a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, b24ckind! We're glad you enjoyed our location and the staff was great! Come back and see us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Vacation

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This is officially our go to hotel in Gaslamp, SD. My only complaint was that the AC in the room was not working when we checked in. We had to wait(not long) for a staff member to come and fix the issue before we could start to get ready for our event. The room felt like a sauna but it was immediately fixed. We were in room 612 and it had an awesome view. Can't wait to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review! We love hearing that we are your new go to hotel in San Diego! Sorry about the AC unit but I am glad it was fixed quickly. We'll see you next time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Great stay

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great location. I liked the room style. The valet parking is veryexpensive! $47 per night, it isn't worth it at all because it takes forever waiting for them to bring your car! And their entrance is very small and always crowded especially during weekend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Hello Maher, Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed our location and our brand new look! Sorry about the wait for your car. It shouldn't be longer than a 5 minute wait on average. I'll talk to the team. We'll see you next time.