Ratings based on 880 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Wouldn't stay there w/o a car

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: The hotel isn't in a good location.
Location: Didn't do any sightseeing. We stayed there since close to airport
Area is run down and no restaurants within walking distance. Overpriced for what you got. Didn't care for the night clerk. Wasn't pleasant at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Cons: Breakfast
Booked for one night to be able to visit Sea World and Safari park. Room spacious and clean.
Comment from EPC
Aug 28, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Talal, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our rooms are “spacious and clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county ca

Nice hotel close to all places you like to see

Posted Aug 25, 2015
I spent 2 nights with my family and we are enjoying every thing staff very friendly and helpful special front desk jacky thank you all
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Tarek, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “nice hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them, during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ldkr. Augsburg

Einfaches Motel, sehr gut gefuehrt, Fluglaerm!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Sehr guter Empfang, Zimmer nicht zu klein. Das Motel ist verkehrsgünstig an einer Hauptverkehrsstrasse gelegen
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granada Hills, CA

Too expensive for what you get

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The hotel was a little run down and situated in an area where their work a lot of homeless people roaming around. The area did not feel safe and it was located in a very busy area. The room itself although clean was very outdated. I will say the bed was actually comfortable. Other than that I feel it was not worth the $150 I paid for the room.
Comment from EPC
Aug 26, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Silvia, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Your concern has been addressed with our staff, so that improvements can be made. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice hotel and convenient location.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Good location close to everything within 10 to 15 mins. Much nicer than the Howard Johnson inn at the hotel circle.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear David, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is “much nicer” than other nearby hotels. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Clean and mostly quiet, great staff

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Nice room, great location, clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Location: There are all kinds of stores and restaurants within walking distance.
This hotel was clean and quiet (other than people in room above moving around every morning at 5am). The room was spacious and well equipped and the hotel is in a convenient location that is walking distance from all kinds of shopping and restaurants.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by Arianna, EPC
Dear Kcmac, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “the hotel was clean and quiet”. We strive in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several shops, as well as restaurants and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

If you don't mind the noise.......

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: This hotel badly needs some sound insulation between rooms.
Location: It seemed that the majority of customers stayed there because of proximity to Sea World.
One of the better priced motels in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room itself was OK. Free continental breakfast was quite satisfactory. Things would have been better if the rooms were sound insulated, however. Between people walking by at night and noisy, inconsiderate people in rooms next door, we had some difficulties getting to sleep and staying asleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Rway, Thank you for providing feedback regarding the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our “staff were friendly and helpful”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Friendly personal, clean, good location near Sea World.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear DamirG, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear we are a “nice hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are so pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

SeaWorld Vacation

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Decent hotel, nothing spectacular. Good location being close to my vacation destination. I enjoyed the easy accessabily, but did NOT care for the noisy A/C. Also, the cable T.V. needs some maintx to correct the noisy picture as well as the (Extremely) limited channel selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Arianna, Hotel Management
Dear Mizzle Dizzle, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenges you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed with our staff, so that improvements can be made. We are thrilled to hear you “enjoyed the easy accessibility” of our hotel. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.