Ratings based on 1,244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Functional for a short stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great for a 1 - 2 night stay for basic accommodation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chandler, az

Near everything

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: pool area to have more chairs
Location: 15 minutes to Sea World, and beach park 20 minutes to Lego land, freeway access one block away.
room size small for people 6 ft or taller, transportation to Sea World available for a fee. Breakfast was very busy. Driver very helpful with a good place to eat Italian. Close to freeway access and reminders of people who are less fortunate and asking for food all around hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Christina B., Hotel Management
Dear Lola, Thank you for investing the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs. We always aim to leave our guest with a positive experience and we’re glad that we accomplished that with you. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions and we’re delighted to know that was convenient for you. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel room.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel was close to shopping, restaurants and sea world and beaches.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice budget friendly hotel, better than 2 star.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: There are a lot of chain restaurants and stores within walking distance or a short drive. Close to Sea World, Mission Beach and downtown SD.
Let me start by saying I choose hotels by price, free breakfast, free parking and proximity to the attractions. I took my family of 5 here for a short 2 night stay and was very pleased with the location and cleanliness of the facility. The outside of the building isn't much to write home about but it was clean and looked like it had a fresh coat of paint. The lobby has a modern and professional feel. The photos on their website is exactly what the hotel looks like. The staff seemed kind and friendly. The rooms are basic but clean. Our Business King room had a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, twin size sofa sleeper, A/C and heater, and of course a TV with a lot of channels to choose from. The parking lot is well lit at night with parking spots available right outside the room window on the bottom floor. For breakfast they have two waffle machines, fruit loops, raisin brand, hard boiled eggs, variety of muffins, pastries, toast/bread, bagels, oranges and apples, 2% milk, coffee, various flavors of tea, orange and apple juice. Breakfast is from 6-9am, the early bird gets the worm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Joeycarnuba, Thank you for investing the time to give us a glowing review on the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed your short stay. We always aim to wow our guests and we are happy that we accomplished that with you. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions in San Diego and we’re glad that was convenient for you. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego. We hope to see you again during your next visit to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to SeaWorld & Zoo

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Read the others reviews so knew it was in a rundown part of town but staff were nice, room suited our budget, close to shops & food. Yes the walls were thin so rooms noisy but I'd packed earplugs to cope with this. Woukd stay again if in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are happy to hear that our hotel suites your needs. We always aim to leave our guests with a memorable experience and we are delighted to have accomplished that with you. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near shops and restaurants and we are glad that was convenient for you. Once more, thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: I was able to make my flight.
Cons: the beds!!!!!
It was and ok stay. Had the best little restaurant next to it. The pool was not what I expected! It is small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Although we are happy to hear that your stay was “ok,” we always aim to wow our guests and we’re disappointed to have missed that with you. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near restaurants and shopping plazas, we are happy to hear that was of convenience for you. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope that you’ll give us another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun in the sun

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Good place to stay when going to the zoo and sea world the beach was grate hotel was close to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions in San Diego and we are glad that was of convenience for you. Once more, thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malvern, PA

Very Nice Place to Stay

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Very clean and safe. Staff was super friendly.
Cons: None
Location: In a safe area
This hotel is in a nice, safe location. It was clean and neat, outside and in. Staff was extremely friendly and the morning breakfast was very nice with a lot of different options, including hard boiled eggs which a lot of places like this are getting rid of in favor of waffle machines. Has waffle machines too but I prefer real food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by c, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for providing feedback on the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be a “very nice place to stay.” We always aim to wow our guests and we are happy to have achieved that with you. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and we are glad that you got the chance to enjoy it during your visit. Also, thank you for highlighting our staff who were extremely friendly. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el cento, cslifornia

Nice hotel, close to shopping, beach, sea world

Posted Jun 1, 2016
It was great. It's close to sea world, mission beach, restaurants, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are happy to hear that your stay was great. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near restaurants, shopping, and popular attractions and we are thrilled that you got the chance to enjoy them during your time with us. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Good value in a great location

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Nice room and great location. Very friendly staff.
Cons: WIFI was a bit spotty in my room but quite good in in the public areas. Some TV channels didn't seem to work e.g. HBO.
Location: Easy access to freeways and downtown. Close to Sea World, Mission Bay, Point Loma, and Liberty Square.
Met my needs very well. Room had all the necessary amenities but TV channel line up was not as good as most hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Christina, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant. We always aim to provide our guests with excellent service and we are delighted that you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near popular attractions and we are happy that you got the chance to enjoy them during your visit. Again, thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We hope to see you again in the future.