Ratings based on 1,394 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Met the need

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Close to where I was working
Cons: This is an old school, "drive up to your door" motel. Perhaps it is convenient for Sea World visitors.
This was a business trip where I needed to be close to the Navy facilities at Point Loma. All the regular places I stay at were booked. This was my only alternative.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

Close to the airport and shopping

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very old rooms. Need a renovation. It was cheep and close to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to MCRD, Airport, and Shopping

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, complimentary breakfast, closeness to everything.
Cons: New linens.
Location: Right by the airport/ MCRD. Also within walking distance to some shopping and a lot of food. Within a short driving distance to Old Town/ USS Midway.
Need new linens (sheets, comforter, towels, and bed skirt). The sheets seemed over used.The comforter had a burn hole in it. The towels are scratchy and too small (I'm a small person and they were too small). The bed skirt was torn. Otherwise the room was cleaned every day and nothing was disturbed or missing from my room. The staff was fantastic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Not Bad for the Price

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The staff is the highlight of this hotel.
Cons: New towels and bed spreads would be a huge improvement.
Location: The location is convenient to the airport and Marine Corps Recruit Depot, as well as to tourist areas such as Old Town.
It's not a five star hotel, but it doesn't have five star rates either. Our party had three rooms. The bed spreads in every room were frayed on the edges and had small stains or cigarette burns. In one of our rooms, the ceiling light outside the bathroom was missing it's cover so it was just four exposed light bulbs. I did notify the front desk, but it was not fixed during our five night stay. The towels are dual purpose; drying and exfoliating, because they are so hard. But for the price we paid, these are minor nuisances. The hotel staff was excellent. We especially appreciated the attention and information that Dobri gave us upon check-in, and Dave was very friendly at breakfast. The rooms had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable. The location was convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to attractions.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and great staff.
Location: Sea World close by, Mission Beach and board walk.
Hotel was on bus routes and were able to get to attractions with ease. Airport shuttle was a big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Hotel near to lot lot shops.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Place is quite easy to find. Have In and Out, burger king and panda express around the corner. Although hotel is quite old, room is clean. Equipped with microwave and fridge. The bathroom is only down point for the hotel. Free breakfast near the front desk. Self make Waffle is fine. With some breads and cornflakes. Dining area is limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel/ Close to Sea World

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Anytime me and my family go to Sea World we Love staying at Howard Johnson Hotel staff very friendly breakfast is always great. I definitely recommend Howard Johnson hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the other washington

Posted Feb 27, 2017
I only had a problem with the key cards opening my room door. The staff was great every time I went to get another key programed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Good price for hotel stay. Good location. Near Liberty Public Market with lots of restaurants & bars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Room was clean and that is about all I can say nic

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The room was clean and convenient to where we wanted to go. But there was no temperature control and no way to turn the HVAC on. The outside air temperature was ok so we didn't freeze or fry. The wifi did not work. That was something we really need when traveling. The room refrigerator only froze things. We are moving to a hotel down the road. There are many others in the area.