Ratings based on 1,417 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Can't complain

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location
Location: Fast food, walgreens, sea world, beaches
So we booked this hotel on a last minute trip to Sea World Easter wkend. I was trying for a 2 queen beds, but it was late in the day all ready and all that was available was one king, so whatever I booked it same day less than 10 mins from Sea World and free parking!! Plus breakfast!! Check in guy was nice and said he had 2 queen room available for a free "upgrade" so yea I needed that. Parking was easily available, great location all fast food restaurants around and also walgreens walking distance and dollar tree as well. Breakfast was waffles and juice,cereal, and danishes but for free, it keep us going all day till we left Sea World! Will be back no complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Close to wedding venue and things to do.
Cons: Get better coffee, I'm a coffee person.
Went to Mission Beach for my grandson's wedding. Enjoyed my stay at this Howard Johnson Hotel. Looks like my room had been redone, nice clean, new tv. Staff nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

IT was okay, but better then Motel 6

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Hotel had better pricing there, I was charge twice due to the fact Expedia did not show up in the system until a hour after I arrived
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Many stores within walking distance.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Many stores within walking distance. Free shuttle to MCRD and to/from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location for are quick stay.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We were headed from LAX to San Diego perfect location for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

To many homeless

Posted Mar 27, 2017
I did not have a pleasant experience the room smelled very bad the window is right next to the bed so you don't feel safe and the location is right next to a strip club so you have homeless people walking through the facility I can't let my wife and kids walk around that place we didn't even stay I cancelled right away and got out of there
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We 1st off want to apologize. There is a lot of homeless in the area and we try our hardest to maintain a safe hotel for our guest. We never want our guest to feel uncomfortable due to the surrounding areas, especially with your family. Thank you for your feedback
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got a little more than expected

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great location, lots of shopping and food and close to just about anywhere. Hotel was deceny, staff was awesome. More variety in breakfast would be awesome. And someone needs to do some serious carpet cleaning in the rooms. Other than that would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Met the need

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Close to where I was working
Cons: This is an old school, "drive up to your door" motel. Perhaps it is convenient for Sea World visitors.
This was a business trip where I needed to be close to the Navy facilities at Point Loma. All the regular places I stay at were booked. This was my only alternative.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

Close to the airport and shopping

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very old rooms. Need a renovation. It was cheep and close to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are excited about the renovation in the upcoming year. Please give our hotel another chance. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to MCRD, Airport, and Shopping

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, complimentary breakfast, closeness to everything.
Cons: New linens.
Location: Right by the airport/ MCRD. Also within walking distance to some shopping and a lot of food. Within a short driving distance to Old Town/ USS Midway.
Need new linens (sheets, comforter, towels, and bed skirt). The sheets seemed over used.The comforter had a burn hole in it. The towels are scratchy and too small (I'm a small person and they were too small). The bed skirt was torn. Otherwise the room was cleaned every day and nothing was disturbed or missing from my room. The staff was fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Glad your stay was enjoyable. Happy to hear that the staff was amazing. Thank you,