Ratings based on 4,549 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills, CA

Beautiful tropical landscaping....

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Cons: Add a little more light it was very dark in the room.
Loved the tropical landscaping surrounding a very nice pool area. Room was great with private patio area. Checked out a concert at the venue located right on the hotel grounds. Fun time and great to walk a few steps after concert right or your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The views of the marina is amazing from this hotel! It's a must stay location. There are cute little coffee shops that are walking distance. Restaurants are within walking distance. The guest were very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Family Spring Break

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We loved our time at the Humphreys. We thought the staff was fantastic, the pool was perfect for the 5 of us, and the food was great! It took a little while to get food by the pool but we enjoyed it none the less. Also, we enjoyed the music almost each night...not sure how we would feel if we didn't like the artist but felt lucky we did while we were there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mujica

Avoide it...avoid it ..|

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The room did not have air conditioning in a climate like San Diego. I requested a change of room and they said they were full. I paid $240 at night and not AC????? Ridiculously The room smell moldy and the furniture is old. The morning after I waited for breakfast -room service for 1hr after they promise 25 mints. When I called the operator said I am not sure why they said 25 mints. I tried to cancel and they did not allow me to. Facilities and room service inndequate especially if you are hosting someone who a senior and could not sleep with such a hot temperature in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Great Location, a little Tropical Getaway

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, tropical view unlike any other near by resorts, friendly staff, great location in relation to San Diego, great views of the bay, safe/
Cons: The beds. The one I slept in was terrible. The parking fee and resort fee was more of an annoyance. The restaurant was a little pricey.
Location: Great location! Plenty of restaurants nearby, All the main sites, zoo, beaches, downtown was within a 5 mile or less radius.
There are so many things to like about this resort. It was clean, staff was friendly, the pool area was awesome, the views were great, I would definitely come back for a visit. We originally requested a "tropical view" room. But for a small upgrade fee, we got to stay in a room with full view of the stage where they have concerts. This was definitely worth it. The 2 bands that played weren't huge names, but the music was good. Humphreys books very popular music artists, so we were grateful for this surprise. Overall the amenities were great. We always felt safe, and it is in a great location to the attractions in San Diego. The only downsides- the daily parking fee, the daily resort fee, and the bed. I negotiated a lower parking fee, but with the room upgrade, it came out to the same price. The resort fee is mainly for wifi, but the signal is sketchy the further away from the lobby and pool area. My biggest complaint was the uncomfortable beds. Maybe I had a bad one, but after the 3rd night, my lower back was really sore. By the 4th and 5th night, I could hardly get out of bed. I actually said something during checkout, in a respectful, non-complaining way. They gave me a discount off the final bill and made a note to check the mattress after we left. Other than that, no deal breakers. I would definitely come back to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and away from town.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This is our 3rd or 4th time we have stayed here. And we love the quietness and comfort..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beware hidden fees

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Hotel is nice and close to water, after checking in we found the bathroom sink had a small leak and the A/C unit was extremely loud (like you can't sleep loud) after speaking to the front desk they said "they will have maintenance look into it" 3 days later it was never looked at. Also beware of ridiculous fees. $16/night to park your car in their lot and $9/night fee to use their equipment like gym and bicycles which is a required fee even if you don't use the amenities. Otherwise great hotel but that should be included in price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Shelter Island San Diego Oasis

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Great pool, Great restaurant, Great food, Everything!
Cons: I would not change a thing!
Location: Located on San Diego's Shelter Island with views of the city downtown and the the bay. Short drives from just about everything that San Diego offers
We stayed here as a stay-cation for our Anniversary. Humphreys is locally owned Hotel chain part of the Bartel Hotel Group. Every property owned by Bartell is run top notch and meticulously maintained. There goal is for you to be a customer for life through customer service and the satisfaction of their guests say. This was how it was for us. Thank you for making every bit of our short stay as San Diego locals feel like we were on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Solid - comfortable and clean

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice experience overall. Room was clean with a nice view. Little interaction with the staff but what we had was positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We stayed for one night there and we loved it: clean hotel, nice pool, friendly staff and nice location
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Melissa Garibay, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!