Ratings based on 1,484 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redlands, CA

Very nice location right next to marina.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great place to stay. I would recommend an upstairs room to eliminate some of the pedestrian foot traffic noise. Great restaurant on-site and lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Diego

Humphreys

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great time. Friendly service. Overall good. Restaurant food sketchy. Spoiled, stomach issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hawaii like sights, sounds, and smells

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This hotel definitely has an island vibe. The views of the bay are beautiful. The amenities make you feel like you've really gotten away from it all, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the town surrounding it is charming. Anyone looking for a weekend escape would be really happy here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your recent visit with us and for sharing your feedback. Our staff truly appreciates it! We hope to see you on your next visit to "The Island".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff eager to help Kailey great

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Close to bus and great place to walk a very pretty location in a safe area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Very nice facility. Comfortable

Posted Feb 3, 2017
GREAT beds. Overlooking a Marina. Quiet and very comfortable. Shelter Island Drive has multiple good restaurants plus a huge selection of restaurants close by. Nice staff kept our room spotless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for choosing Humphreys on your recent visit to San Diego. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our staff works hard to make our guests happy and they also appreciate the comments. Great picture with the marina in the background. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Resort feel but close to the city

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Pool is a good size, probably 25m in length. Spa pool is a good size too. Staff friendly and helpful. Lovely restaurant with fab view.
Cons: Kitchen needs improvement, blender was dirty so didn't use at all, cutlery not clean either. The drawer with the bin wouldn't stay closed so was open
Location: Lovely marina, away from the city but not far to drive. Lots of eateries close.Rosecrans Rd has every thing you need. 15 mins to Balboa Pk & La Jolla.
As others have mentioned, it's not a quiet place to stay. There were no concerts on while we were there but we overlooked the pool and it's open till 11pm so there is noise. Worst thing was the noise from the two parrots that they keep on the property as a 'feature', nice to look at but screeched all day and it got really irritating. Staff were great, it's relaxing as the pool area is huge and the spa is great. Only 15 mins from Balboa Pk at the most, there's a good supermarket on Rosecrans. Point Loma nearby and worth a look, great views of the city. We would return but get a room further away from the pool, and parrots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles , CA

Beautiful view and close to big city

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Room had bad toxic smell and front desk changed room immediately. Great view and comfortable beds. Great tub. Second problem was toilet did not flush properly. We did not flush anything down toilet to cause this. Lastly, an unexpected $10 fee and $30 fee with a ten day hold was a bit too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay, Amazing view!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: everything
From check-in to check-out the staff was great and very prompt. Room service was quick and easy, the food was great! The view of the marina and downtown San Diego was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Highly recommended!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Nice, laid-back atmosphere. Great location
Cons: Climate-control system very loud. I just turned it off and left the windows open, but this would really annoy some people I think.
Location: Right on Shelter Island. Beautiful views of marina. Easy walk to nice cafes, restaurants and stores/services along Rosecrans and Scott.
Stayed 5 nights in January. Unusually bad weather, so I'm glad the hotel was nice! Friendly staff, chilled atmosphere, nice Polynesian look & feel. Pool looked great, but didn't try it out because weather was so bad. Really enjoyed walking to various pubs, cafes, restaurants along Scott and along Rosecrans. Very easy to Uber to airport, downtown, or Pacific Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great San Diego hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Had an early check-in on a bad weather day. Great welcome and upgrade. Beautiful room.