Ratings based on 2,492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for business or vacation.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed walking to the beaches and that our room was only about 30 feet from the marina.
Cons: They could put more than one package of regular coffee in the rooms. Maybe a few more glasses or some wine glasses in the room would be nice.
Location: Took UBER everywhere for about $10-15 per ride. La Jolla, Old Town, Balboa Park, Downtown all a short ride.
Experience was very good. Good weather most of the trip. Hotel suffered a power and gas outage on last day caused by fallen tree, but took $100. off the bill for inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last Minute Getaway

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Decided at the last minute to visit San Diego and looked around for the best deal available, found The Hyatt Regency. From check-in to check-out the staff was great. The view was amazing and so we're the 3 pools and jacuzzi. Definitely coming back to stay here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suite Disappointment

Posted Feb 6, 2016
We popped for one of the suites at this resort and were disappointed. The room was not clean--carpeting was old and soiled. Paint was peeling in corners, the window shade was broken, the balcony furniture was dirty and the bathroom amenities were poor. The power went out for three hours on our last evening and there was no warm water for showers the next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City UT

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: We chose the valet parking which was wonderful. A great location and a great hotel. We will go back in the future.
Location: Mission beach water front walk way is a fun place to ride bike. At the end is a huge pier that is open to the public.
I had a chance to see security service in action. My phone went in the pool with me this weekend. Some guy decided it would be funny to sneak up behind a total stranger and vault him in the pool from behind. My wife and I had just finished dinner at the Red Marlin restaurant and were casually walking past the pools talking about how perfect our getaway weekend was turning out. I was fully clothed when the incident occurred. Who does that sort of thing? Life has many teachers. Security was able to review the surveillance tapes of the incident and identified the person as being a resident at the hotel. Security filed a full report and even accommodated my request to press charges. The police arrived and created an incident number after hearing my story. I decided to drop the charges. The hotel sent up a complimentary cheese and meat sampler platter with a bottle of wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

WONDERFUL!!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything!
Cons: Didn't use room service because the food was too expensive once delivery, tax, and tip were included.
Location: We walked to Sea World (took us about 1/2 hour to get there). Lots of water sport opportunities available within walking distance of the hotel.
We were here for 6 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were very freindly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. One night one of the lightbulbs went out in the bathroom. We left a note for housekeeping when we went out sightseeing the next morning, and it was fixed when we came back. We stayed in the tower and had a wonderful view of the pool and sunsets. We knew parking was expensive, so we just used UBER to get around the first 4 days. Cost $9-12 one way to get to Gas Lamp district, Balboa Park and the Zoo. We decided to rent a car the last two days we were in San Diego and the conceirge arranged it for us and the car was delievered right to the hotel and was also picked up there. Extremely convenient. The conceirge also gave great advice on hiking trails and restaurants. Einstein brothers bagels was close for breakfast. Red Marlin restaurant was also very good. There is a fish and chips place within walking distance that served great food for a decent price. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!! Loved every minute!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Not the view we expected.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Disclosure of room fees and what "view" actually means.
Location: San Diego, Sea World.
Sixty dollars in extra fees at checkout. No ocean view, mountain instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

nice hotel, on the water

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: the views
Cons: bathrooms
Location: Red Marlin's a great restaurant on the premise
good stay, quiet and pleasant. Not too much to do onsite but the location is near just about everything. Short uber ride to wherever you want to head
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI,

The facility is great

Posted Jan 25, 2016
The staff was great the room was good. because I booked through Expedia they put me in a handicapped room, What sucks for a tall person try to take a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kooskia, ID

Nice hotel. Clean and very comfortable.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Very attractive setting and atmosphere.
Cons: Better assistance with internet issues. Would have loved to get a burger, not just upscale food.
Location: Very few dining options within walking distance.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Beautiful setting and close to the airport..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and resort !

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Enjoyed this beautiful resort on Mission Bay. Nice room in Tower with great views of bay.