Ratings based on 970 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lots to do locally.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the location of this hotel.
Cons: There was, however, a blood stain on one of the pillows and when asked to change it the person handling it was nonchalant and not very sympathetic.
I only stayed one night. It was a nice enough getaway and there was lots do within walking distance including visiting the coves.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Really emjoyed it!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Staff very helpful, close to everything, very nice hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location and value

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location, value , very clean
Location: Easy walk to beach and shops
We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased. Great location , block and a half to beach , easy walk to shopping and food. Very good value for coastal San Diego and especially La Jolla. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Quinta, CA

Nice hotel for families!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Walking distance to everything in downtown La Jolla. Breakfast was perfect for my children before their swim camp. Pool area is comfortable and quaint.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Perfect location, blocks from the ocean and La Jolla Cove. Quiet area, in the heart of downtown La Jolla. Parking is limited but they have underground parking available. I will come back to this hotel, very satisfied with my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

We were able to walk to everything we needed.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The breakfast.
Location: Shopping, dining, beach, ice cream shops.
We had a great stay at this hotel because we didn't have to get into the car and drive. The hotel staff was helpful and very polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenience.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Convenience.
Walking distance to beach and restaurants. Conveniently located in the heart of La Jolla & excitement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Perfect blend of peace and quiet vs location to the beach and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

Perfect location for a San Diego getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: The breakfast could be a little better - and the hot chocolate didn't work. On the third day they were putting out packets which helped.
My family loved this hotel. Clean, comfortable and in a great location. We stayed for three nights on a SoCal trip. The breakfast isn't amazing, but it worked (mostly wrapped pastries, yogurt, juices and coffee - the pancake machine only worked the first day). You are right off a great street for restaurants, shopping and people watching. Then a short walk to the ocean front walks with seals and sea lions right there along the path at many points. Our kids enjoyed the pool, and having breakfast right next to it was a treat. It was a short drive (20 to 30 min) to anywhere you wanted to go in San Diego. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pomona, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Amazing experience at the Inn by the Sea La Jolla! The staff was also an absolute pleasure!!! We'll definitely be back!