Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N San Diego County

Perfect location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A hot tub would be perfect. In room microwave. With the fridge it is nice to be able to warm your leftovers in the room if you want a snack later.
Location: You are walking distance to the all the great coastal sites...cove, caves, and Children's Pool. The Brockton House is great for breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay. It would be nice if they had a hot tub after all the walking we did during the day. It is a good location to walk to pretty much all the sites and not have to hassle with parking. The room was comfortable and quiet, mattress better then most hotels, towels were very nice, and the room was a comfortable size for 2. The only issues we had was our fridge didn't stay cold but the staff did put our leftovers from a restaurant in their personal fridge for us. Also, had an issue getting the air/heat to work but one phone call and they were able to adjust that from the front desk which was nice. They give coupons/discounts to some local restaurants and they have a coffee bar set up in the afternoon in the lobby. There is also coffee, tea, and coco available in the guest lounge at no charge which is nice. When we were there a sports team was using the lounge for their catered dinner and the coffee, coco, and tea was pretty much gone. We notified staff and the sent someone to get it set up again but by that we were over it and just retired for the night. Streetcar is next door...we just snacked on wings and mac n' cheese, both were tasty. In the morning we shared a donut...they are large and at $3 each you really can share one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La Jolla Weekend

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Pool was warm, plenty of towels, great location
Cons: Would prefer a continental breakfast included in price. Maids never left enough toilet paper
Location: Beach, shops, restaurants, movie theater
had a nice time. Room was a little noisy by stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exclellent Hotel in great location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Right near everything.
Everything was much to my liking and it appeared to me that the hotel had been recently refurbished so it felt very clean and comfortable. I recommend !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great room

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very good room it was clean comfortable. Location of the hotel is ideal. Street parking is available and free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to all La Jolla attractions

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Perfect experience. Hotel staff, particularly Joanna, was incredibly helpful. We were recommended some fantastic things to do. The hotel was pleasant and a hidden gem right in the heart of La Jolla. We can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmdale Ca

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Free bottled water Hilton made you pay, less money to park here
The room was comparable too the Hilton I stayed at but I liked this room better because there is a balcony. a better pool and fitness center the tv has a guide to tell what is on each channel. They gave me merchant discount to a few places close by. The room was cheaper than the Hilton. It was a little less isolated from the outside noise but still nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial, Ca

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I make frequent trips to La Jolla and this has become my favorite hotel. It is located within walking distance from excellent restaurants, great shopping and La Jolla Cove. It is also just a short drive from La Jolla Shores. The hotel is very clean, has a friendly staff, and is reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver

A pretty good deal, not as good as it used to be

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, bed, TV, friendliness of staff, price.
Cons: Bring back the complimentary breakfast. It is a big deal to some of us.
We've stayed there about a dozen times over the past years. Great bed, great location, reasonable prices, good TV, wireless, etc. Very disappointed that they no longer serve complimentary breakfast, as that increases the trip price considerably. Moreover, with a larger group, getting everyone together for breakfast outside the hotel is a challenge. Had I realized that they've discontinued breakfast, we probably would have done a VRBO house instead for about the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la junta colorado

great location , locally owned.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: You can workout at the La Jolla Athletic club across the street. It is a private first rate facility. I even went twice one day.
Cons: They charge for parking but finding parking in La Jolla is a challenge.
Location: Workout across the street. Shopping and restaurants everywhere. All walking distance. It is also a very quiet but centrally located spot.
have never stayed at the old royal inn. Had a funeral and we all stayed at the Inn by the Sea. I was pleasantly surpised. The owners are local and know the hotel business. They have a lot of nice touched you would find at a much more expensive property. Lots of parking and a great downtown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to everything

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Close to coast shops and restaurants - , ready to walk to every thing