Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exclellent Hotel in great location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Right near everything.
Everything was much to my liking and it appeared to me that the hotel had been recently refurbished so it felt very clean and comfortable. I recommend !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great room

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very good room it was clean comfortable. Location of the hotel is ideal. Street parking is available and free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to all La Jolla attractions

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Perfect experience. Hotel staff, particularly Joanna, was incredibly helpful. We were recommended some fantastic things to do. The hotel was pleasant and a hidden gem right in the heart of La Jolla. We can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmdale Ca

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Free bottled water Hilton made you pay, less money to park here
The room was comparable too the Hilton I stayed at but I liked this room better because there is a balcony. a better pool and fitness center the tv has a guide to tell what is on each channel. They gave me merchant discount to a few places close by. The room was cheaper than the Hilton. It was a little less isolated from the outside noise but still nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial, Ca

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I make frequent trips to La Jolla and this has become my favorite hotel. It is located within walking distance from excellent restaurants, great shopping and La Jolla Cove. It is also just a short drive from La Jolla Shores. The hotel is very clean, has a friendly staff, and is reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver

A pretty good deal, not as good as it used to be

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, bed, TV, friendliness of staff, price.
Cons: Bring back the complimentary breakfast. It is a big deal to some of us.
We've stayed there about a dozen times over the past years. Great bed, great location, reasonable prices, good TV, wireless, etc. Very disappointed that they no longer serve complimentary breakfast, as that increases the trip price considerably. Moreover, with a larger group, getting everyone together for breakfast outside the hotel is a challenge. Had I realized that they've discontinued breakfast, we probably would have done a VRBO house instead for about the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la junta colorado

great location , locally owned.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: You can workout at the La Jolla Athletic club across the street. It is a private first rate facility. I even went twice one day.
Cons: They charge for parking but finding parking in La Jolla is a challenge.
Location: Workout across the street. Shopping and restaurants everywhere. All walking distance. It is also a very quiet but centrally located spot.
have never stayed at the old royal inn. Had a funeral and we all stayed at the Inn by the Sea. I was pleasantly surpised. The owners are local and know the hotel business. They have a lot of nice touched you would find at a much more expensive property. Lots of parking and a great downtown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to everything

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Close to coast shops and restaurants - , ready to walk to every thing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wigan

great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Location: near to downtown near to shops and beach
lovely hotel right near the shops close enough to downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great value and location

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Loved that we could walk to the Sea Wall (to see the seals) and Cove within minutes. Also loved the proximity to the great La Jolla shopping and dining. The staff was super friendly and provided excellent customer service. The printer in the business center was out of order so the let me use the office printer behind the registration counter. I didn't Also, had nice amenities such as coffee in the lobby and specials at nearby restaurants. Definitely would stay here again!