Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Create a Memory and Stay at The Keating

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: We loved the red tones in the hotel. The quirky, cool, thoughtful and classy furniture was a winner. And the large windows looking on to the street!
Cons: Some of the furniture could use a steam clean, but nothing major. It added to the character!
Location: We wandered around at night in the Gaslamp district and popped over to Little Italy. The Keating is in a perfect spot to take in everything.
The Keating is an exemplary establishment with empathetic and attentive staff. From the moment that we walked into the foyer, to when we collected our vehicle every element was perfect. Location - central and cool in the Gaslamp district Decor - we took as many photos of the hotel as we did of San Diego! Staff - knew what we wanted before we did. When we asked for brunch recommendations, they were spot on with what we were looking for! If you go to San Diego and don't stay at The Keating, it's like going to Paris and not seeing the Eiffel Tower!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach, CA

Great location! In the heart of Gaslamp!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Location, ambiance, cleanliness, and Champagne at check-in!!
Loved the Keating Hotel... I'm not a boutique hotel kind of gal, but this hotel was great! The rooms are clean and open and airy. The windows were hard to figure out, but once I did, it was open to open them to the view of Gaslamp. My only complaint is I left a couple of items in the room and didn't notice them missing for a couple of days after I checked out. I would expect a phone call from the hotel if something is left in the room, and, for the items to be marked with my name. When I finally called, they said they would check Lost and Found and get back to me. They called me the next day to let me know they found them, and asked me to charge my credit card for the shipping fee (shipping back to me - 2 small items).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfort in the GasLamp

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: I was initially concerned about the noise coming from an Irish Pub 2 blocks away but the rooms are well insolated for noise.
Cons: I will have to contact the hotel to get a copy of my receipt. There was a problem emailing me my final copy
Location: Get a copy of the "The Reader", a local newspaper that will let you know about entertainment and locations. Available on-line also
I was looking for a unique experience, desired to stay in the GasLamp but was concerned about the noise late at night. the hotel was decorated in Ferrari colors; bright red (a little alarming, yet alluring at first), black and stainless steel. Sort of a cross between a W hotel and a cat house. The $20,000 2 person soaking tub dominates the large front room inviting at hours beyond bed time. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the full size shower complete with the rain spiket and personal or stationary wall mount. Matt at the front desk was extremely service oriented whether to assist with unfamiliar room settings or running tubs of ice up to the room. He also made great recommendations on where to eat and look for music. Lastly Antoinella, the coffee barista just outside is a beautiful Italian recently imported from her homeland makes a fabulous espresso and is a delight to greet you first thing in the morning. If you enjoy your first cup sitting on a sidewalk taking in the morning, this is a nice combination. Walking distance to must eats including SearSucker, Café 21, Osteria Pavevino and many more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: It was close to the Half marathon start which is why we chose to stay here.
Cons: shower doors change the bathroom/toilet doors to fully clothes. when a guest calls for towels or ice, bring them to them
I had much higher hopes for my stay at the hotel. The room was decent but the shower sprayed/spashed all over the floor thus soaking the sink area after every shower. the toilet room door did not close fully. we did not get the room cleaned the day and when we called for more towels they never bought them to us. the hotel was loud with poor sound proofing. The elevator is painfully slow. we asked for some ice the one night and that also never arived. the staff was very friendly but when I asked about a my card being charged for a hold they told me that it would not be charged till checkout and then charged the hold a few moments later on the first night of my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cabo san Lucas Mexico

It was our honeymoon and it was awesome

Posted Dec 6, 2015
My wife and I took our honeymoon trip to the Keating hotel the staff was incredible they bumped us up to the penthouse they took care of our car and were wonderful we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Experience

Posted Nov 28, 2015
This was a great choice for us! The location was perfect, we were just off from 5th Ave which had all the bars, shops & wonderful restaurants and also a quick walk to the Convention center & water. The hotel was clean, staff was super friendly and helpful. We would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great little place in the center of the gaslamp district. Boutique hotel with an industrial loft feel to the rooms (concrete floor, metal pull-out closet, see-thru shower in one corner of the room, sinks in the room, toilet room enclosed in a corner, very modern). Walk to many restaurants and bars in Gaslamp District. Valet parking only, since this is in the heart of the city. Worked fine for an overnight or short stay. Beds seem to be either king or two twins. Comfortable and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay in San Diego

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Beautiful and classy, the Keating offered excellent accommodation during my recent stay in San Diego. From the moment we arrived we were treated well. The room, a suite, was exceptional. I look forward to returning very soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jeneth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels