Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel close to the Balboa Theatre.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location and coffee machine in room.
Cons: It wall all good.
Location: Gaslamp District!!
Very cool room! Clean with all the amenities. Hotel staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the hear of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything that's happening

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Clean boutique hotel with friendly staff right in the middle of the great Gaslamp area! I recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to white your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Wonderful stay-- the little details made the difference. Where else are you welcomed with champagne at the entrance every day, and have petite fours waiting for you in the room?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice room but expect lots of noise

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Gaslamp, Petco Park, Convention Center, Children's Discovery Museum, Seaport Village
I stayed at the Keating during the Adobe Max Conference. My biggest concern was all of the mixed reviews. The decor of the hotel was interesting. Black hallways with red carpet made it look sleek but also made me wonder what was the black paint covering up. The rooms had concrete floors and I loved the compactness of the furniture. The bathroom was interesting. The toilet had it's own little space with a door but the shower was freestanding on one side of the room and had two openings. It would have been nice if the water didn't splash our of booth sides or if they gave us two towels for the floor. The sink also was made for giants and I had to tippy-toe to get to the faucet. It splashed a lot also on the sides and we had to dedicate a towel just to wipe up the water. The grossest furniture was the white couch (for lounging) that was near the shower - it was very stained....note to hotel staff - if you have white, you have to maintain! The red couch and chair was also stained and kind of dirty. At least our bed was clean from what we could tell and the sheets looked clean (no stains - I checked after reading other reviews). I do wish we were warned that the club next door would affect our sleep. I get it, Gaslamp quarter, expect drunk people and some noise. However, I didn't expect our room to vibrate from 9pm-2am as the bar below rocked out. Thank goodness I'm used to some noise. Staff were super friendly. No ice machine - have to always ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel!!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great hotel! It was small but really nice. Staff was amazing!! It is a great location if you want to be in downtown. You can walk to a ton of places. The room was big and really clean. Loved the view!!
Cons: The elevator moved a little slow, but there are only 5 floors so the stairs weren't bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed emotions about this place.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The historic building was artfully and beautifully redone, the only thing they missed was sound barriers in the rooms. If sleep is your thing, this is not the hotel to stay in. From the night clubs and partying all around the hotel to the beautiful Boes sound system my neighbor played all night, I could hear it all. It was a waste of a gorgeous bed. The other detail that filled me with wonder was the transparent, door-less shower as part of the main room. If you seek privacy while you shower, don't stay here, if you don't care or are on your own, no worries. The rain shower head was gorgeous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable Hotel - No Privacy!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The lady at the front desk (I forgot her name but she had an awesome accent) was great! However, the hotel itself was terrible. I went with 3 guys, and we slept in one bed (?). Additionally, the curtains do not close all the way so we couldn't shower. I didn't want my friends to look at my naked. And lastly, the bathroom door does not close all the way!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great, just a small mistake I had requested twin beds and I got a room with a king size bed.. I can't say I had a bad experience I would stay here again.