Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at, by far.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I booked it as it's listed as a 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The location is good and the staff is friendly. But the accommodations... I paid close to $300 for one night and got a super small room with the shower separated from the bedroom by a curtain. I only got lukewarm water too. The room was super dirty, the soap, etc. were all used. There are no blinds on the windows, so everyone from the opposite building can see you in the bathroom and in the bedroom. The 'twin' beds are approximately 2.5 feet wide, I was afraid I'd fall out all night. The TV has one channel, playing classical music and it's impossible to control it. And the worst part is the noise isolation. I had people staying above me and couldn't sleep all night. The stomping and the thumping, etc. were just a nightmare. I don't know what that place is made of, but Motel 6 is a 10-star hotel compared to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Jeff Owens, Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Karolina: Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback on your most recent visit. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and our staff exceeded your expectations on being friendly. I am disappointed to hear that we fell short on your expectations with room cleanliness. Please be assured that I will be working closely with our management team to prevent such mishaps in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel close to the Balboa Theatre.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location and coffee machine in room.
Cons: It wall all good.
Location: Gaslamp District!!
Very cool room! Clean with all the amenities. Hotel staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the hear of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything that's happening

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Clean boutique hotel with friendly staff right in the middle of the great Gaslamp area! I recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to white your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service from the front desk staff, they were very helpful over the phone and during check-in. Overall it is a nice hotel and the location of it in the heart of the Gas Lamp Quarter is what makes it really desirable. My only complaints are that it is really noisy not only from the other rooms but also noise from the street. All in all would recommend for people who plan on being out really late and probably a little intoxicated. If you're looking for a relaxing and quiet hotel, probably not the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Want To Stay in a SEXY hotel?

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The Keating is SEXY! It's one of the most amazing boutique hotels in the country! Right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. This was our second stay and for the first hour we were there I was just wandering around saying "I just love this hotel!" Seriously though, for the same price in a chain hotel you get a room that two people are tripping over their own luggage - at the Keating all of the rooms are huge with great storage space; at a chain hotel you get a piddly little coffee maker - at the Keating you get an espresso machine in every room; at a chain hotel you stand in a bathtub and hope that enough water comes out of the shower to get you wet - at the Keating you get a huge walk-in rainfall shower. Need I say more? The Keating rocks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We take pride in our ideal location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and are glad that you enjoyed the 'sexiness' of the Keating. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4 star hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was nice, bed was comfortable. Shower has this awesome over head waterfall shower head. Checking in and out was fast. The staff was great. They also greet you with champagne when you check in. Over night parking is very expensive $40 a night! Other then that it's a nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed it! We hope you will stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Wonderful stay-- the little details made the difference. Where else are you welcomed with champagne at the entrance every day, and have petite fours waiting for you in the room?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Area of Town But Staff was Nice and Courteos

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located next to very noisy bars. The hotel could use some updating. The TV in the room did not work properly. Not much provided in return for "resort" fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the "urban chatter' from the Gaslamp; is is part of being located in the heart of a very active area. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to San Diego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels