Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel close to the Balboa Theatre.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location and coffee machine in room.
Cons: It wall all good.
Location: Gaslamp District!!
Very cool room! Clean with all the amenities. Hotel staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the hear of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything that's happening

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Clean boutique hotel with friendly staff right in the middle of the great Gaslamp area! I recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Adam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to white your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, as well as the special amenities we offer our guests. Our dedicated team appreciates your kind words as well! We hope you will visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Wonderful stay-- the little details made the difference. Where else are you welcomed with champagne at the entrance every day, and have petite fours waiting for you in the room?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice room but expect lots of noise

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Gaslamp, Petco Park, Convention Center, Children's Discovery Museum, Seaport Village
I stayed at the Keating during the Adobe Max Conference. My biggest concern was all of the mixed reviews. The decor of the hotel was interesting. Black hallways with red carpet made it look sleek but also made me wonder what was the black paint covering up. The rooms had concrete floors and I loved the compactness of the furniture. The bathroom was interesting. The toilet had it's own little space with a door but the shower was freestanding on one side of the room and had two openings. It would have been nice if the water didn't splash our of booth sides or if they gave us two towels for the floor. The sink also was made for giants and I had to tippy-toe to get to the faucet. It splashed a lot also on the sides and we had to dedicate a towel just to wipe up the water. The grossest furniture was the white couch (for lounging) that was near the shower - it was very stained....note to hotel staff - if you have white, you have to maintain! The red couch and chair was also stained and kind of dirty. At least our bed was clean from what we could tell and the sheets looked clean (no stains - I checked after reading other reviews). I do wish we were warned that the club next door would affect our sleep. I get it, Gaslamp quarter, expect drunk people and some noise. However, I didn't expect our room to vibrate from 9pm-2am as the bar below rocked out. Thank goodness I'm used to some noise. Staff were super friendly. No ice machine - have to always ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel!!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great hotel! It was small but really nice. Staff was amazing!! It is a great location if you want to be in downtown. You can walk to a ton of places. The room was big and really clean. Loved the view!!
Cons: The elevator moved a little slow, but there are only 5 floors so the stairs weren't bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and amazing staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Bars, restaurants, public transportation, pretty much everything.
We stayed here on a Halloween weekend, the location is perfect for it being close to everything! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room itself is nice, we liked the contemporary look of it. Only issue we had was the alarm on the phone!!! I'm guessing the previous guest set multiple early alarms which of course we didn't know (and had a hard time resetting or turning off the alarm being half asleep and unfamiliar with the phone alarm) so we were woken up consecutive times. This should have been handled and reset before each guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Work Trip with Bar Noise

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Plenty of restaurants, museums, pubs within walking distance. Great location.
Great hotel, great style, great location. Make sure you do not get a room over the bar!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good stay, interesting space, great locatio

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Restaurants, bars, Horton Plaza mall all at your doorstep. Starbucks and Ralphs grocery store a couple blocks away.
The room feels very sterile and not cozy, but it's modern. Concrete floors but no area rug which would be nice. The shower is inside the room a few feet from the bed so if you want privacy while you shower you don't really have it (there is a huge curtain that can separate the bed from the shower but still, not private. I do like the separate toilet room where there is a window. Bed is very comfortable. Big windows that open for fresh air. It just needs some routine maintenance..the blinds are torn and the shower knob fell off in our hand. But you can't beat the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Great location
Location: Very vibrant
Good room, but old building. Internet was not always working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: They don't have a pool, but they let you know that you can use the pool at the Andaz and the Palomar when using their terraces.
O my gosh, the front desk guys are great. The night before my stay, I brought some flowers for my room, and my guest I was expecting. When I checked into my room the following day, I saw flowers, and immediately thought - those gorgeous flowers must have been brought to my room by mistake. Nope - I found the cute note explaining my flowers perished an untimely death and they wanted my first impression of the Keating to be a good one. It definitely was!