Ratings based on 2,682 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christiansburg, VA

Taking that extra step.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great hotel with modern touches. You can even text them questions and they will answer them promptly. Staff is very nice and wants to help. Location is great for Padres games and lots of places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I stayed for a week for a conference. It was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was great and all the extra amenities were fantastic. My only complaint was that the rooms didn't have much accoustical sound buffering. When combined with poor neighbors, Padres game & weekend noise from the Gaslamp district it really made falling asleep not the easiest on certain nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome, pet friendly, beautiful hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: clean, modern, chic, dog and kid friendly, but also adult enough .
Cons: pricing of daily valet cost, if I had to complain about anything.
Location: Petco park, balboa park zoos, museums and uh.. the beach!
The staff was awesome, super friendly in person and over the phone. Hotel is at the edge of Gaslamp, by the baseball stadium, walking distance to the convention center, and very short drive to balboa park and the zoos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel had a free happy hour every night from 5-6 pm, a great rooftop pool with a bar, and was walking distance to so many restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, unique

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Features, staff.
Cons: Shower, noise.
Location: The hotel is smack in the Gaslight District and is only a few blocks from the convention center and the harbor. Food and entertainment options abound.
Lobby obliterated my expectations and the staff were uncompromising in their attention. 4th floor pool and party area was similarly gorgeous and fun. Room was remodeled, and it showed, with interesting aesthetics, a grand mirror and lighting, and a large TV. The shower needed additional remodeling, however, and the water pressure wasn't as satisfying as I would have liked. The room could have been quieter, too, as my last day I was startled awake by the kids in the adjacent room at 6am. Wifi was included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot in downtown San Diego

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: location, comfort, rooftop bar
Cons: parking $$
Location: Gaslamp District, near the airport, nice walk to Seaport Village
This cute hotel offers great location in this beautiful city. Our rooms (2) were quite comfortable. The rooftop bar was a huge hit with the adults and the pool and exercise room were great entertainment for the younger ones. While we were not available for the happy hour either of the nights we stayed, the host behind the desk offered us free wine vouchers at the bar for one of the nights. (nice touch) The only disappointment during our stay was the snippy girl at the desk who was very curt when my husband asked about the coffee service downstairs. And the valet parking is quite expensive. (cheaper parking can be found nearby using Spot Hero) We would definitely return to the Solamar on our next visit to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very conveniently located hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Conveniently located. Dog friendly.
Cons: The only problem that we ran into was that our room key kept failing. It had to be reactivated several times during our stay.
Location: Convention Center is within a couple of blocks. Trolleys are right there too, giving access the other parts of the city. Very tourist friendly area.
Extremely helpful and informative staff. Always available to answer questions and provide solutions to any problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Love this hotel! Great all around.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Had an awesome time! Great hotel, clean room, comfortable bed, great pool. A little on the pricey side. But overall great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spicer,Mn

Great hotel staff. Nice room. Good location.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Clean hotel close to harbor drive/ water front and petco park. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Pool area on 4th floor is clean with nice bar area and ample area to sit and enjoy the weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Good bar. Good service especially if there is a problem.