Ratings based on 2,518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Location was good but $50 for overnight valet is a bit ridiculous - especially if you're only staying one night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Perfect location central access to everything

Posted Aug 20, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Solamar. Kind, attentive staff, excellent happy hour and great location. The kids enjoyed the pool area - our only wish was for a hot tub and a better view of the city action.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Hi Tracey! Thanks for the great review. Glad you and the kids enjoyed the pool and the staff was great. Check out our King Spa Corner rooms next time you visit. Nice big in-room spa and they have really nice views of PetCo park and the city. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

do not stay at this hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
I stayed at this hotel for a week. I had previously stayed at the Kipton in Santa Barbara which was fantastic. I was incredibly disappointed. The hotel was grimy and impersonal. The main door was rarely held open and I was rarely greeted. The swimming pool was filled with heavily tattooed people who were all over each other. Two competing speakers played music at top volume and glasses of alcohol and cigarettes butts littered the pool area. It was totally unusable. The gym was tiny and filled with low quality equipment- completely insufficient for such a big hotel. I should have booked a holiday inn and saved some money as it would have been much better. I specifically booked this hotel because of my experience in Santa Barbara. I cannot see how in a million years this hotel can be called a boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem in San Diego

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The experience was great from the pool to being close to the gas lamp district. I recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: The bed was horrible
This hotel was amazing and in the perfect location the only issue was with the bed it felt like we were sleeping on rocks and needs to be updated asap
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht preiswert mit Zusatzkosten

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Zimmer teuer, Frühstück im Hotelrestaurant ging extra, noch teurer, Parken 47 $, 100 $ Kaution, knapp 17 $ Tax on top usw. Hotel soweit i.O. mit typischen Schrulligkeiten. 500 m um den Pool kein Glas aber die Valetparker kiffen auf dem Parkdeck in Sperrmüllsofas ...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best hotel in the Gaslamp district!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Excellent staff everyone is so accommodating, Great location in downtown San Diego, I highly recommend this hotel if your catching a game at Petco park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
This is the best review, Ricky! Thank you so much. Our location is hard to beat with over 100 bars, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. Come back and see us soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Good clean hotel in great location. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great reivew, Aidan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solomar Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The staff was attentive and friendly. I also liked the location and the 4th floor rooftop and pool.
Location: Nearby attractions include Safeco Field, the Midway Battleship, San Diego Zoo. The convention center is blocks away as is the transit stations.
Very convenient location with plenty of nearby restaurants and other tourist locations including,the San Diego Zoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review. It looks like you enjoyed so all that our location and great amenities offer. Hope to see you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the center of the touristy Gaslamp

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, good-size room, close to Petco Park and all roads (to airport, zoo, Coronado, etc). Comp coffee in the morning and lemonade in pm.
Cons: Cheaper parking. More monitoring of guest placement (see above) and nighttime entry/exit--many drinkers in the area so should monitor more at night.
Location: Petco Park, zoo, Balboa Park, Coronado Island, convention center
It's nice enough. Primary complaint was our room close to elevators and ice room. Drunken guests (or their friends) running and shouting through the halls (including an arrest right outside our room, not hotel fault). They should not place families near the elevators or ice rooms. Have never been so disturbed by others' behavior (and lost as much sleep). Dislike having dogs allowed. Much noise from the street so would recommend staying on higher levels. Restaurant far too expensive for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Justin- AGM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed our comfy beds and location! While we can't monitor where all 235 rooms are placed we do have security on that will alleviate any issues very quickly. Sorry about the issue you had with this. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.