Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach

Coronado Island fun.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Small hotel, pleasant staff, pleasant room, comfortable bed.
Attended a conference at Hotel del Coronado, but instead of spending $400-$500/night at HdC, spent $179/night at La Avenida and had plenty of money left over for fun stuff. Nice clean room, white shutters, quiet, and walking distance to many stores and beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Basic but good location/ fair price for the area.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This is a clean, well maintained, well manicured but basic old fashioned 2 story motel with outdoor pool in a nice location across from pricier and more luxurious beachfront properties. Free good quality wifi and a free single parking specs are big pluses. Not advertised are the free coffee/tea and muffins in front office for early risers. Resort pricing in the area requires careful meal planning for those of reasonable means. Downside is no hairdryer or microwave or refrigerator in rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gemütliches Hotel im Herzen des Ortes

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Super Lage! Sauberkeit und Preis Leistungsverhältnis
Cons: Gläser statt Kunststoffbecher im Hotel , Haartrockner war auf Anfrage zu bekommen, aber nicht Standard
Location: Zentrale Lage in der Orange Avenue gegenüber vom Hotel Coronado, 5 min. Bis zum Strand. Um die Ecke das mexikanische Restaurant Migels.
Das Hotel überzeugt durch sehr freundliches Personal, Sauberkeit, geräumige Zimmer. Das Frühstück ist begrenzt auf Gebäckstücke, Kaffee und Obst. War jeden Tag frisch und der Kaffee sehr gut. Zusätzlich gab es Tee. Der Pool ist der Mittelpunkt der Aussenanlage und sehr gepflegt. Alles konnte zu Fuss erreicht werden. In der Orange Avenue befanden sich Lokale, Bars und Gesschäfte. Abends kann man bummeln und die Atmosphäre ist sehr relaxt. 5 min. Fussweg über die Straße kann mann super auf dem Strandweg spazieren gehen und das Treiben der Urlauber und Einheimischen beobachten. Das Hotel Coronado bietet eine tolle Kulisse dazu. Wir hatten unseren Aufenthalt gebucht um Familienangehörige zu besuchen, so dass wir wenig Ausflüge allein unternommen haben. Wir denken aber, dass die Stadt San Diego auch reinen Touristen viel zu bieten hat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for a relaxing holiday!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights on our babymoon. Place was very clean, well maintained, close to the beach and shops and the staff were great! My only small complaints are the lack of coffee maker in the room, and I prefer more water pressure in the shower. Walls are also pretty thin, but that is common with properties of this age. Besides that, we would not hesitate to stay again. The inn was great value! Thanks Avenida!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The hotel was clean. The hotel staff was nice. But, the furniture which very, very, very outdated. Our bathroom floor was cracked near the shower. There was a pool and that is all. It is not worth the price. It is a nice hotel but not worth the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean hotel with great location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The hotel was a great experience for my husband and I. The location of the hotel was easily the best part. It was a block from the Hotel Del Coronado, beautiful beaches, and in the heart of downtown Coronado. You can basically walk everywhere. The staff was very friendly and professional through our entire stay. The room was very clean and quiet, though the bathroom did need a few small repairs, but nothing that bothered us. The pool and the ground are neat as well. Overall it was a wonderful experience. If you're looking for an affordable, clean hotel in the heart of Coronado, look no further!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A Definite Place to Revisit!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, despite being on the main strip in Coronado (Naval aircraft not withstanding, but no one was immune). It's central location made most everything a convenient walk away. This is a place I will definitively plan on calling upon again for my next San Diego/Coronado trip!
Cons: The parking lot is tight. If you have a long-bed pickup or longer luxury car, you need to ask about special parking; because their lot is tight. For small & midsize cars, even SUVs and normal size pickups its ok.
Location: Excellent location! Many fine restaurants and shops within 2-3 blocks and the beach is only a bit further.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location but very noisy.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Hotel provided chair and beach towels for public beach just across the street. Can walk to everything on the Main Street and beach.
Free parking and could walk to everything. Great location but street noise was loud & could not black out the outside lights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

close to teh beach

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: staff and close to beach
Cons: update the rooms and bathrooms; expand the morning snack choice
Location: close to the beach; shopping and restaurants
staff was fabulous! first room needed to be updated but other than that everything was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Gutes Strandhotel in der Nähe einer schönen Stadt!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Die Nähe zum schönen Strand!
Bade- und Entspannungsaufenthalt im Anschluss an eine USA Westküstenrundreise - dafür sind San Diego und das Hotel bestens geeignet.