Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Ideal location with a wonderful staff. Very comfortable room with excellent maid service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Location! Location! Location! Great restaurants on either side!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spokane washington

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great rooms Staff willing to help with anything Great price for the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near beach. Great location.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Very friendly staff. Location and price very fair. Super helpful when I missed my flight due to weather and had to change the night of my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach

Coronado Island fun.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Small hotel, pleasant staff, pleasant room, comfortable bed.
Attended a conference at Hotel del Coronado, but instead of spending $400-$500/night at HdC, spent $179/night at La Avenida and had plenty of money left over for fun stuff. Nice clean room, white shutters, quiet, and walking distance to many stores and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Basic but good location/ fair price for the area.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This is a clean, well maintained, well manicured but basic old fashioned 2 story motel with outdoor pool in a nice location across from pricier and more luxurious beachfront properties. Free good quality wifi and a free single parking specs are big pluses. Not advertised are the free coffee/tea and muffins in front office for early risers. Resort pricing in the area requires careful meal planning for those of reasonable means. Downside is no hairdryer or microwave or refrigerator in rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a relaxing holiday!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights on our babymoon. Place was very clean, well maintained, close to the beach and shops and the staff were great! My only small complaints are the lack of coffee maker in the room, and I prefer more water pressure in the shower. Walls are also pretty thin, but that is common with properties of this age. Besides that, we would not hesitate to stay again. The inn was great value! Thanks Avenida!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the price

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The hotel was clean. The hotel staff was nice. But, the furniture which very, very, very outdated. Our bathroom floor was cracked near the shower. There was a pool and that is all. It is not worth the price. It is a nice hotel but not worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean hotel with great location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The hotel was a great experience for my husband and I. The location of the hotel was easily the best part. It was a block from the Hotel Del Coronado, beautiful beaches, and in the heart of downtown Coronado. You can basically walk everywhere. The staff was very friendly and professional through our entire stay. The room was very clean and quiet, though the bathroom did need a few small repairs, but nothing that bothered us. The pool and the ground are neat as well. Overall it was a wonderful experience. If you're looking for an affordable, clean hotel in the heart of Coronado, look no further!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A Definite Place to Revisit!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, despite being on the main strip in Coronado (Naval aircraft not withstanding, but no one was immune). It's central location made most everything a convenient walk away. This is a place I will definitively plan on calling upon again for my next San Diego/Coronado trip!
Cons: The parking lot is tight. If you have a long-bed pickup or longer luxury car, you need to ask about special parking; because their lot is tight. For small & midsize cars, even SUVs and normal size pickups its ok.
Location: Excellent location! Many fine restaurants and shops within 2-3 blocks and the beach is only a bit further.